We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaican Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jamaican Motor Inn
Save
You added Jamaican Motor Inn to your Saves list
3006 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived for our check in next door at the Caribbean. They were busy but friendly and quick. We got to our ocean front room and found it to be very stylish and pretty. Everything has been updated, very clean and nothing in the corners. We had a coffee pot, microwave and small refrigerator. The grounds were very clean and they had a security person walking around which we liked. Our housekeeper Jane was also very pleasant. Since it is part of the Caribbean Resort we had access to all their different pools and things. We had a great breakfast buffet and later a evening meal at the Sea Captain next door. My guess is you have a problem with Jamaican Inn you are probably not going to be happy with any place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    0
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Jamaican Motor Inn many times over the past 20+ years. This is a small modest hotel in the style of the 50's or 60's right on the beach. It is sandwiched between the Sea Captain's Restaurant and private beach homes. There are only basically 4 floors of rooms that are on the small side. We have stayed in both the ocean view and ocean front rooms. Too bad the reservation folks didn't have enough info to tell us beforehand that we did indeed have a small kitchen efficiency room this time. The rooms have been updated. There is a small pool (and baby pool) that are clean and nice. We love being on the beach and not having to deal with large crowds. Since it's owned by the Caribbean, you do have access to all of their amenities: pools, lazy river... which is just on the other side of the restaurant.

The kitchen had a very small refrigerator, stove/oven, coffee maker (no coffee) and a microwave. There were pots, pans, dishes and silverware, but for some reason only 1 fork (?). One spot of the outdoor carpet could have used repair (4th floor by the elevator), but in general it was kept fairly clean. There were a few tables by the pool with umbrellas (which are a plus on very hot days) and lots of deck chairs. While it's not large or fancy, the Jamaican Motor Inn has been a lot of fun for us.

Room Tip: Book ahead and try for one of the two upper floors. Even the upper ocean view are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

After getting started off on the wrong foot our reservations were mixed up and discovered it the day before we were to leave, but Crystal or may start with a K Krystal helped us and accomodated us the best she could over the 4th of July Holiday which worked out fine when we saw the room once we arrived. The rooms have all been redone from January until March of this year 2012 and our room was beautiful with 2 double beds, a kitchen a nice bathroom and a perfect ocean view on a great balcony. There were only houses beside of us which gave us a view of that whole side of the beach all the way up to the north side we could see everything all the fireworks going on at their hotels too. This is a very quiet area of the beach and the rooms are very well insulated and our room was next to the elevator and never did hear a thing from the outside. Now what could I say about the pool (s) our hotel pool was great the water was warmer than the carribeans for some reason so we swam in it a lot, the carribeans which was next door is fantastic it is geared for families and there were loads of them there this being a big holiday weekend but still it was not crowded because there was so many pools and so much to do there. The kids love their water parks and let me tell you to see the smiles on your kids faces is worth it. The hot tubs were out of this world, this was the best hotel and total over all experience I believe we have ever had. The Sea Captain Restaurant next door has a Breakfast Buffet that is out of this world we ate there several mornings because you do not have to get out and drive and go right back and get in the water as soon as you are through eating. Their food tastes great they had their omelet maker on duty and he was fabulous it was very reasonably priced and my 4 year old grand daughter loved and ate off the bar which is very unusual but she loved the fresh fruit... As did we all. This place has fabulous beaches better than any we have visited they were cleaner, they were family friendlier, and you could walk forever out into the ocean before it got even up to your hips. Or at our hotel front anyway. Maid service was great they would leave you alone until you wanted your room cleaned one day we were late and she never said a thing, she was very very sweet, we will always stay at this hotel from now on when we visit Myrtle Beach because of location 1st, not only on the Beach but also to all of Myrtle Beach and Area Atractions, 2nd things to do at Hotel, 3rd, the Sea Captains Restaurant, 4th we never had anything not one thing bad happen or go wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms on North Side have a good Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We started going to this hotel after our regular one was booked due to conflict of schedule with Bike week and Duke Graduation. We go the weekend right before the peak of bike week. The value is good and the rooms are ok. This is a nice place to stay for the value. I am here to sleep, shower and change clothes.My vacation is not in the room. If you want a Spa experience then you will have to pay the big bucks and go elsewhere. But if you want a clean place to unwind and save your money for the vacation things, then this is your hotel. Friendly helpful people, great to deal with. Give them a try and if it does not work out, then find a new place. We have stayed 3 times and will continue until they give a real reason not to.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We decided on a spur of the moment to take a trip to Myrtle Beach. We found this place on a hotel deal website on our smartphone, but instead of booking it through there, we showed the front desk the deal. Not only was it $80 cheaper, but they went ahead and beat the deal by another $10 without us even asking. The room we stayed in was ground floor. The carpets in and out looked new, as did the beds and bedding and all seating inside and out. Although the bathrooms and kitchenette looked dated, both were very clean. At night my husband and I sat on our porch for a few hours. We constantly kept seeing security guards making their rounds. I even commented on how happy I was to see that. The only downside is that the have maybe 6 spaces outside the motel, otherwise you have to park across the street. That lot shares with the restaurant next door, so it was VERY tough finding a spot at about 6 on a Saturday night. After reading previous reviews, i'm assuming they've made a lot of updates to their rooms and staff. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

First time for my husband and me to go to Myrtle Beach. We tried getting a room at the Caribbean but they were full so they offered us the Jamaican. They said they owned that building too so it would be ok. BEWARE: Every room is privately owned. We found that out after we got there. When we checked in, the room had no soap, lotion and very little toilet paper. They left a little bit of dish detergent. Called the office and they said they would bring some right up. After a walk on the beach and supper, we returned to the room and nothing had been brought. We loaded up and went to the Piggly Wiggly to purchase soap, lotion, etc.

Day two: soap was finally delivered after noon sometime but no plastic cups to drink out of. Thank goodness we picked those up at the store too.

Day three: maid knocks on the door at 8:40. I told her we were not ready. She asked if she could come in to our room to use the phone. Of course I said no. HOW WEIRD IS THAT?

Day four: checking out I told them how dissapointed I was. I wasn't asking for a refund, I just wanted them to know about the maid and no soap. They gave me a refund of $30 which I really appreciated but did not expect nor ask for. My concern was mainly the maid asking to use our phone? If she was cleaning rooms anyway, why not go to an empty room and use that phone?????

Parking is limited at the hotel but they have parking across the street. Good luck with that. When it's the busy season, you won't be parking in either one. We went off season and had a few problems finding a place to park.

If you want something that is cheap, no frills, really don't care how the carpet looks, or if it's been painted in the last 20 years, then this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I am ONLY recommending this if you are looking for a no frills, convenient place to stay. This would have been suitable if they charged half the price they charged us. The employees were not very helpful and essentially lie to you - so if you have issues, don't expect good results.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaican Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaican Motor Inn

Address: 3006 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Jamaican Motor Hotel Myrtle Beach
Jamaican Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaican Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.