We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hurl Rock Motel

Save Saved
You added Hurl Rock Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hurl Rock Motel
2010 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The motel itself was just fine. We enjoyed our stay and it was the perfect choice for a spontaneous drive to the beach. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Our room had a sink, fridge, coffee maker, toaster, and microwave which was VERY convenient. The pool was clean and convenient and it is literally across the street from the beach so you can go back and forth to the room as needed for snacks or lunch or a nap. Myrtle beach is Myrtle Beach, and the quality of people hanging out in front of their rooms smoking (constantly) and drinking until 3am was annoying so I didn't get much sleep. Also, I'm sure there was a "who has the loudest Mustang convention" on the strip that night. Of course, this is not the motel's fault but again, even though my bed was comfy, be prepared to be in a part of the city that does not sleep in the summer time.

Room Tip: I wouldn't want one on the bottom floor at all. Wouldn't feel safe. Too much activity goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review especially the clean rooms and friendly staff. All of our rooms are NON SMOKING so if a few guests want to smoke, they do it outside. Myrtle Beach is always busy in the summer. We do control the noise level on our property but sometimes Ocean Blvd does get a little busy if you are outside your room. But inside your room you can always enjoy the quietness. We look forward to your next visit. David and Arlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    63
    14
    13
    24
See reviews for
94
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

If your looking for a hotel that has all the bells and whilstles, this is not the place for you. BUT if your looking for a place that is clean and they have the BEST Staff I have seen in a long time. ALL of them say good morning they take pride in there work then I say this is the place for you !
We had 2 rooms, one of them was a one bedroom with a kitchen and the other one room with a freg and microwave. yes the 1st thing we did was check the beds for bugs ( we do this at all the hotels we stay in) i did see some if the beds had small rips in them, but the maine thing is IT'S CLEAN !! no bugs !! And with all the money we saved we can go back in September. I would like to see 2 things to change, one I think they should play "beach Music" around the pool and they need 2 washers and dryers.not one. I say thanks Perkins Family for making us feel like we are part of your family !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review about our clean rooms and great staff. We look forward to your next visit with us. Arlene and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We only stayed at Hurl Rock for one night before our beach house was ready. Thank goodness we only had to stay one night. The website for the hotel was really nice and painted a picture that was not at all accurate. Maybe some rooms have been remodeled and some haven't. We had a small one queen bed room that hadn't been touched in years. The carpet was very dirty and honestly looked like it had been removed from another hotel when it was remodeled and installed in that room. There were two chairs in the room one of which had what appeared to be a baseball sized blood stain on it. At least the small refrigerator in the room did keep beverages really cold. I always check every hotel I stay in for bed bugs before moving any luggage in. They do not have bed bugs at this point. They do at least have that going for them. When I checked for bed bugs I found the mattress to have several large holes in the side of the mattress and it was very stained. We brought in our own linens and used them. I would have complained but there was no use given that our house would be ready early the next morning. Take my warning. Spend 20 bucks extra and stay someplace nicer.

Room Tip: We had a room with one queen bed. It had not been updated in a long time. From looking at website pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
The room pictures on our webb site were taken by past guests. We do not provide room pictures so the pictures are accurate. You were offered a smaller room with one bed and a larger room with 2 beds. You looked at both rooms and choose the smaller (cheaper) one for $10. a night less. Arlene and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My daughter and I spent 3 nights..We have stayed here a few times and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is affordable, clean ,has nice staff and a well maintained pool. They have easy access to the beach, restaurants and food markets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We thank you for your review and glad that you have stayed with us several times. We do try to offer affordable, clean rooms. We look forward to your next visit. David and Arlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you are looking for a five star hotel, this is not it. But, if you are looking for a updated, clean motle with a very friendly staff, this is the right place to go. This is our second time staying with the Perkins family at the Hurl Rock. They make you feel welcome from the time you walk in the door. The rooms have been remodeled and are kept very clean. Although the motel is across the street, there is a view of the ocean between buildings. The public walk is right across the street so you do not have to walk far. The swimming pool is large enough for the amount of people staying at the motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. You have over 30 reviews and we think that saids a lot about your reviews in that you have no "agenda's" other than trying to be helpful for the people who want a honest opinion of the places you review. We truely appreciate that. Arlene and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

the hurl rock is a great place to stay very nice staff very clean rooms...its not a big resort so if your looking for that this is not it....it is a mom and pops hotel and a great one made friends sitting outside in the evening everybody staying there was friendly like one big family and had never met any of them before thats whats nice about this place people where drinking but just friendly drinking not a bunch of drunks we had our 2 grandsons with us felt safe never worried about anything...try it you wont be sorry... this is a gret place to stay with great rates...one evening the lady that works the front desk sat outside with a bunch of us guest and talked i thought that was so cool of her it was like sitting and talking with people ive known for years...i will always stay at the hurl rock ....thanks to them for providing a safe fun place for me to take my family

Room Tip: room 312 is a great room..i stayed in 102 this time nice clean room in front of the pool...room 312...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We thank you for your review. We do try to have a "big happy family" feeling around the motel and with guests like you this makes it easy. Room 312 does have a nice view of the ocean BUT DO NOT TELL ANYONE. It is our secret. Thanks and we look forward to your return visit soon. Arlene and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My second visit to Hurl Rock was even better than the first! This time I brought my daughter (10) and we stayed for 8 nights. The facility has everything we need. Its not fancy; its practical. Its clean inside and out. Its older but well maintained. I feel safe there. Its full of families. There is no tolerance for misbehavior. The location is great. Its right across the street from the beach. The high rise Reef resort beachside has a good restaurant and outdoor bar open to anyone. Scooby's, across the street, has great ice cream and food. The pool at Hurl Rock is clean and well maintained. Up from HR away from the beach is a fun mini golf, Cancun Lagoon, and an awesome restaurant, Angelo's. The staff at HR was the same as last time. It was great to see familiar faces. I so appreciate the way they keep HR so affordable. It allows me to have a great vacation. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We thank you for your second review and your second visit and are glad that you are THRILLED AGAIN. We are thrilled too. lol. We try to provide a safe envirnoment for our guests and glad that you find our rates affordable which is a great sense of pride for us. Arlene and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hurl Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurl Rock Motel

Address: 2010 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located across from the street from the ocean which is approx 50 yards away. There is a FREE public access to the beach located right in front of the motel. We offer CLEAN and the MOST AFFORDABLE RATES in Myrtle Beach. We offer 12 different types of rooms (that very in size and price). So whatever you are looking for we have it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hurl Rock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurl Rock Hotel Myrtle Beach
Coastal Breeze Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurl Rock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.