We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hurl Rock Motel

Save Saved
You added Hurl Rock Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hurl Rock Motel
2010 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

the hurl rock is a great place to stay very nice staff very clean rooms...its not a big resort so if your looking for that this is not it....it is a mom and pops hotel and a great one made friends sitting outside in the evening everybody staying there was friendly like one big family and had never met any of them before thats whats nice about this place people where drinking but just friendly drinking not a bunch of drunks we had our 2 grandsons with us felt safe never worried about anything...try it you wont be sorry... this is a gret place to stay with great rates...one evening the lady that works the front desk sat outside with a bunch of us guest and talked i thought that was so cool of her it was like sitting and talking with people ive known for years...i will always stay at the hurl rock ....thanks to them for providing a safe fun place for me to take my family

Room Tip: room 312 is a great room..i stayed in 102 this time nice clean room in front of the pool...room 312...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We thank you for your review. We do try to have a "big happy family" feeling around the motel and with guests like you this makes it easy. Room 312 does have a nice view of the ocean BUT DO NOT TELL ANYONE. It is our secret. Thanks and we look forward to your return visit soon. Arlene and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    59
    14
    13
    18
See reviews for
94
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My second visit to Hurl Rock was even better than the first! This time I brought my daughter (10) and we stayed for 8 nights. The facility has everything we need. Its not fancy; its practical. Its clean inside and out. Its older but well maintained. I feel safe there. Its full of families. There is no tolerance for misbehavior. The location is great. Its right across the street from the beach. The high rise Reef resort beachside has a good restaurant and outdoor bar open to anyone. Scooby's, across the street, has great ice cream and food. The pool at Hurl Rock is clean and well maintained. Up from HR away from the beach is a fun mini golf, Cancun Lagoon, and an awesome restaurant, Angelo's. The staff at HR was the same as last time. It was great to see familiar faces. I so appreciate the way they keep HR so affordable. It allows me to have a great vacation. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We thank you for your second review and your second visit and are glad that you are THRILLED AGAIN. We are thrilled too. lol. We try to provide a safe envirnoment for our guests and glad that you find our rates affordable which is a great sense of pride for us. Arlene and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Me and my husband stayed July 18-22 for our anniversary. We enjoyed our stay very much. This motel has such easy access to the beach and the room was very clean. They made it possible for us to go to Myrtle Beach with their reasonable rates. I checked many other motels and the prices were outrageous. We will definitely stay at the Hurl Rock on our next trip! Thank you for such reasonable prices and great service!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. Even though we are across the street from the beach, we do have easy access to the beach (2 minute walk). Thank you for appreciating our great rates and great service. We look forward to your return visit. David and Arlene Perkins, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week, rooms very clean, housekeeping was great. Only complaints were beds were beyond hard as a rock & lack of parking spaces. Everything else was good! The cash special was a great value, it saved money to spend on other things. View from balconies of the breach was spectacular. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We thank you for your review. Our CASH SPECIALS are the greatest thing going. Even though we are across the street from the ocean, some of our rooms offer great views from their balconies. We look forward to your return visit soon. Arlene and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you are staying at Hurl Rock because of the price, which was why we stayed there because we had such a large crowd, it not a horrible place. HOWEVER, the place was dirty. The floors were so dirty that we could take a shower, walk to the bed, and look at our feet and they would be black with dirt. The staff seemed pretty nice and the pool was well taken care of, but the hotel rooms were just not clean at all. The utensils in the kitchen area had dried food caked on them. It was pretty nasty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We thank you for your review. IF you had a problem with your room not being clean, you should had contacted the front desk and we would had taken care of it. However, the maids or staff do not wash dishes unless the guests leave them dirty and the the guests are then charged $20 fee. It is hard for me to believe that you do not wash the dishes before you use them in a public hotel room.. Ma perkins did and taught her children to always "be safe" and wash them. Does this make the motel unclean because a previous guest left a fork dirty? David and Arlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Mountains
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just visited the Hurl Rock for a short weekend getaway July 27-30 and it was better than expected, The rooms were very clean, freindly staff. This hotel does not put up with any loud behavior after 11 pm and they strictly enforce it! I am so glad we chose to stay here! Great rates and the front desk staff was really nice and helpful. We will be back real soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We thank you for your review. We do have "quiet hours" after 11 pm. We are glad you found our rooms clean. We look forward to your return visit soon. David and Arlene Perkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Hurl Rock with my boyfriend last month and it was absolutely perfect for us. We had a great, spacious, clean room in such a convenient location for beach access. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for an affordable place to stay in Myrtle Beach. Room was perfect for us and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. Will definitely come back next time I'm in Myrtle!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our rates very affordable and the room very clean. We do have friendly staff exxcept for the old, dumpy, fat guy. lol
David- aka old dumpy fat guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hurl Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurl Rock Motel

Address: 2010 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#98 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#98 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located across from the street from the ocean which is approx 50 yards away. There is a FREE public access to the beach located right in front of the motel. We offer CLEAN and the MOST AFFORDABLE RATES in Myrtle Beach. We offer 12 different types of rooms (that very in size and price). So whatever you are looking for we have it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hurl Rock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurl Rock Hotel Myrtle Beach
Coastal Breeze Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurl Rock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.