We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN AND AFFORDABLE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hurl Rock Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hurl Rock Motel to your Saves list
Hurl Rock Motel
2010 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Norwood, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“CLEAN AND AFFORDABLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hurl Rock. Everything was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The rooms have been totally renovated. The pool was cleaned daily. Great access to the beach directly across the street. We usually stay in a 3-4 star resort on the oceanfront but we will definetely return to the Hurl Rock. Thanks for making our last minute vacation a great one!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
We are glad that you found our motel EXACTLY what we advertise "CLEAN AND AFFORDABLE" We are also appreciative YOUR REAL PICTURES of the motel and NOT "SET UP" ones that have been shown at this site such as the back of stoves or "fake" stuff. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    63
    14
    14
    26
See reviews for
94
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

we were scheduled to stay in august as of today we canceled our reservation, mind you its 3 weeks in advance and they charged us 20 dollars out of our account calling it a forfeiting fee!!!! we were make our trip for a later date it will DEFINITELY NOT BE AT THIS HOTEL we were courteous and canceled in a fair amount of time and yet you still find a need to charge 20 well i hope you spend the 20 dollars well because your loss on the 300 dollars you would have had when we rescheduled!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
We, as ALL motels that I am aware of have an administrive fee when a guest cancells a reservation. Our policy is if you give us a 14 day notice before arrival, you will receive a refund of your deposit less $20. administrative fee. This is the cost for us sending the cx to our accountant and they write you a refund check. WE ARE NOT GETTING RICH. We asked you if you wanted to make another reservation in the future with us and you said no. IF you had
changed your reservation to another date and stayed with us , there would had not been a $20. fee. When you told us to cancell your reservation that you were not sure of your future vacation plans, we did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enosburg Falls, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here July 10-15, because when looking at trip advisor reviews we could not find a single bad review, and the price was RIGHT, and we thought by looking around at maps and reading up, it was close to everything. Well what a dissapointment!!! This motel is sooo old and dirty and gross, and we had to walk 4 miles to get to the boardwalk (where all the attractions are), In 115 degree weather. The ocean is right across the road though which was nice, but the only nice thing. EVERYTHING was rusted out, or dirty, Nothing matched, and the toilet took 5-8 times to flush the littlest amount of toilet paper. The sink leaked brown water underneath, the towel rack fell off the wall when I rechaed for a towl, and the shower was dirty and had no water pressure, the ceiling in the bathroom looked like it was about to fall in at me. RUN FAR AWAY FROM THIS MOTEL< dont be swayed by their CASH SPECIAL, whihc is what we got, there are hotels/motels up on the boardwalk or near it and across from the ocean for the SAME price, that are sooo much nicer.

Room Tip: Tip, Dont Come Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Myrtle Beach is 50 miles long and 1 mile wide with attractions spread out everywhere so NO motel is CLOSE to EVERYTHING. You said you read the maps so you knew what was around us. We cannot control the 98 not 115 temp and the boardwalk is 1.2 miles north of us. There was a problem with your toilet, a pin hole leak in your sink drain, and there was SOME rust on your refrig rack. The first 2 problems WERE REPORTED by the guest checking in after you. They said the refrig was minor and they thought I was kidding when they were asked about the falling down ceiling. YOU NEVER REPORTED ANY PROBLEMS and with you requesting NO MAID service, your room was not serviced: therefore you CHOSE to leave the "brown" stuff on your floor. We knew nothing about it since we respected your wishes of no maid service. ALL of the 3 problems, including a NEW refrig. were fixed in 5 minutes. The ceiling tile was SLIGHTLY turned up on 2 ends which has nothing to do with the wire that hold the tile up. It took you longer to take pictures and write your review than to REPORT the problems and have them fixed. Why did you not check out and go to these SAME price motels. I believe there were no motels with those prices. The "string" in 1 picture is piece of a mop string (yes we do mop), another picture was BEHIND the stove that you had to move to take the picture, We clean behind the stoves in the spring and fall but not after every checkout unless there was a spill , which there was none. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannelton,WV
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

To begin with I just want to say the lady in the office couldnt have been more friendly to us when we checked in for the week of the 4th of July. The Pros:Very clean pool,friendly front office lady,was brought clean towels every morning.Now the Cons:when taking a shower you get scolded because there is no cold water just warm and HOT. When someone is using water in a room next to you,your water gets VERY HOT!!!!!When taking this shower I look up and theres holes in the ceiling tile.There was no use to complain,I mean they can't fix their plumbing within a day, and Im sure they wouldnt have changed the ceiling tile either. I used the motel laundry facilities,no one put a sign on the washer that said it was out of order(and the front office knew it was broke)so after waiting almost an hour for the clothes to wash another visitor tells me it was broke so I had to ring out all the clothes,find a laundry mat to finish them. I was not happy about this. Our room was swept once the whole week,WE had to change the sheets on the bed,take out the trash..I think the most annoying problem I had,which I know this isnt their fault,but the MB fire station is at the end of the street so when they get called out all you hear is very loud sirens all day and all night,passing by the motel.The parking I feel is very unsafe.On 3 occasions I had to park behind the motel in their overflow lot,and in this lot there is an apartment,which the parking is behind also and it is very DARK!!!!the elevator does get stuck so be careful!!I dont think it was appropriate that while waiting to get on the elevator,the houskeeping was by it smoking and cussing,I feel that was so unprofessional!!!But thats my opinion and the experience we had,try it you might like it but we diddn't!!!Oh and the free wi-fi they don't tell you that you have to sit outside your room to get a good connection.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
You stayed over July 4th weekend. To many people requesting water results in too little water pressure. We have NO CONTROLL OVER CITY WATER PRESSURE. Many of the high rise hotels during this weekend have no water, especially early morning and from 4 to 6 pm. The motel provides heat to the water that the city provides. If there is not enough "cold" water provided by the city, then the mixture will be hot. You are right WE CAN NOT FIX THE CITY WATER PRESSURE. But I have FOUR maint. men WAITING for a guest to REPORT A PROBLEM. The ceiling tile could had been fixed in muintues. We put THREE out of order signs on the washer and someone kept taking them off and of course people like you continued to using the washer not knowing it was out of order. I apologize for that. If you do not receive DAILY maid service,you need to TELL US. We can not correct the problem AFTER you are back home. The parking lot behind the motel is well lighted. We have used it for 35 yrs. Plus this spring we ADDED one additional light and upped the wattage of the other 2 lights. We had it install "blackout" shades in the apartment that you talked about because guests complained that the lights were too bright. The WIFI did not always work in the hallway rooms and in the back bedrooms of the 2 bedroom units. Were you in one of these? We have installed a boster to solve this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

Our family stayed from july 10th until the 15th 2011. Our stay was awsome the pool was great it went all the way to 8ft it was very clean. The stay was very inexpensive, our room had plenty of room and was very clean. I was very impressed to find that we also had wifi access, it has a nice patio with grills on it for cooking out. One of my favorite things was the 5th floor rooftop patio its a nice view of the ocean and the street. Overall this place is everything you want in a motel for a great price i definitly reccomend the hurl rock motel to anyone. I will definitly be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Good: Clean comfortable rooms in an old building. Decent fridge,stove dining table, furniture etc. Beds left something to be desired. Bathroom was clean and functional, Housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient. Fifth floor is definitely the best with a decent ocean view. The first floor rooms are exposed to lots of guest traffic albeit directly adjacent to the pool which was very nice. The second floor patio w/ gas grills was very helpful. The fifth floor patio with a street view was fun. Easy walk to the beach.
The Bad: Parking is a little tight and right up to the side walk but for the most part very convenient. Lots of street noise, lots of sirens from emergency vehicles. The Hurl Rock management did not exude an attitude of friendliness or enthusiasm, but rather one of suspicion and patronizing intolerance with the exception of Brenda who was wonderful, helpful, and friendly! Thanks Brenda you made up for the others poor customer skills.
The Ugly: BEWARE OF THE ICE NAZI - Jane - Take more than one scoop of ice for a small cooler ( I took two, ignoring the NO COOLERS sign ) and be prepared to be confronted with negative criticism, sarcasm, and meanness. I was then asked when I would be checking out. I was completely unprepared for such rude, unacceptable behavior. It was completely unnecessary and offensive. In today's economy and with the number of vacant rooms throughout Myrtle Beach and the Hurl Rock Perkins family trying to improve their business, such behavior should be intolerable. Sorry folks i tell it like it is.

Room Tip: Top floor, 511 or 512
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
We have over 300 guests in our motel each day. We provide free ice to all and try to made sure there is enough for all. If the ICE NAZI was not watching out for you the day before, you would not had been able to take extra ice, because there may not had been any. MOST of our guests respect the sign that request you to be considerate of other guests and only take one LARGE scoop of ice at ONE time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I had a great time. The room and property both were clean. There was no problems with noise or loitering. The air conditioning worked great. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffeepot. HBO and cable TV along with free Wi-Fi, I can't think of anything that I missed or would have changed. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The location is awesome . . .just right across from the beach. A mini mart was right across the street too. I always felt safe! Makos Bar and Grill at the Reef (again right across the street) made quick meals, snacks, and drinks easy to handle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathywinchesterNH, Owner at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for writing a honest review of our motel. We are working very hard and we are glad that you appreciate and see our efforts. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hurl Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurl Rock Motel

Address: 2010 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located across from the street from the ocean which is approx 50 yards away. There is a FREE public access to the beach located right in front of the motel. We offer CLEAN and the MOST AFFORDABLE RATES in Myrtle Beach. We offer 12 different types of rooms (that very in size and price). So whatever you are looking for we have it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hurl Rock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurl Rock Hotel Myrtle Beach
Coastal Breeze Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurl Rock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.