We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Sands South

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Sands South
Save
You added Holiday Sands South to your Saves list
2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
High Point NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“August Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found this place almost by chance, and found it to be a good value. Restuarant is very good, not expensive, and the wait staff were great. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat if you want a great place to stay for not a lot of dough....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    148
    62
    30
    38
See reviews for
195
95
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we spent 3 nights at Holidays Sands 2 bedrooms and 2 baths condo with both ocean front and ocean view. though the condo is not fancy, yet it is very cozy. since it is at the corner part of the building, at 10th floor. ( #1001, through Condolux), the view is spectacular! also it is very quiet---enjoyed reading while at the same time overlooking the ocean and shoreline. the indoor facility has almost everything: lazy river, swimming pool, kiddy pool and hot tub. the whole building is so close to the ocean front, so it seems only a few steps to the water. the sand there is real fine---much better than the sands in North part of the Myrtle beach. definitely will be back and it is even better for off seasons since the indoor facility is right under the condo enclosed. the parking is right there too---very convenient! big elevator with fast speed---very important for check out!

Room Tip: rooms are on the corner, north side, like the one we picked #1001 with better view since that side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

we stayed here august 8-11 2013, and i must say i was impressed i found a special online for 99 a night for a one bedroom condo from condolux of myrtle beach..with fees itt came out to 375 for 3 nights..the resort was very clean..the elevators were fast..parking garage only went to the (6th) floor..we were on the (10th).. but ive seen it at different condos before so it wasnt an issue..unlinke most condos this one actually had daily maid service..we had two queens in the bedroom and murphy bed in the living room a small kitchen..but was very happy..the holiday sands south hotel is next door and you can use their pools as well..there ere 3 or 4 pools a few hot tubs..and some kiddie areas..also the small cafe' in the hotel wasnt that bad the owner was very nice and even gave away free ice cream to the kids playing in the pool..this is a place that i highly recommend..

Room Tip: the side view rooms have a good view for a fraction of the cost of an oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

So I was so excited to go on vacation and this so called HOTEL was horrible....the worse by far. The housekeeping is the worst...they only cleaned our room 1 time in a 6 day stay!!! The pics that are on the site are like from the 80's! The shower leaks the lighting is horrible, the division from the 2 bedroom isnt even a door! I will NEVER spend my money here! OMG let me not even start with the beds!!! The so called good beds are horrible my back hurt the whole week! My husband got bite by a spider as well!! in the fitness room like 3/4 of the things do not work!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-Sands-South, Manager at Holiday Sands South, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We urge you to call 800-448-4439 and speak with our management team. We really want to make you and your family happy. However, we are not mind readers. If there is any kind of problem during your stay, please address this while you are here so we can fix the situation. Our housekeeping provides daily services to each room. If you decline services, you actually have to sign so that we can document this.

Also, our pics on our website are accurate and not outdated. We are in the process of updating our website and we have just completed all new photos. There isn't much of a difference in the photos. We maintain our units and property throughout the year. We are constantly updating, painting, and making improvements to make sure we continue to stay in high standing in the Myrtle Beach Area. We want to be your home away from home and be the place you can create unforgettable memories with your family. We are always open to suggestions, as there is always room for improvement.

We would like to know what room you were in so that we can verify any type of leak. We have called our exercise equipment company to re-inspect any possible issues with our equipment. We are sorry if something wasn't working properly for you.

All in all, thank you very much your time and review. Again, we would like to personally speak with you if you can find the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

we stayed in the two bedroom condo at holiday sands, now under condolux. our condo was fabulous, very clean. i have to shout out to the cleaning staff who cleaned room 1001. they did a terrific job, and every time we left a tip, we had a written thank you and a happy face on a note. these people have a hard job and i would just like condolux to know they have a great staff and should be proud of their work ethics. we will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

After 4 years of staying at the Holiday sands south has deteriorated so much in the last year.
we were so disappointed with the service. The service people would show up at different times daily from 9 am to one day at 3pm. When I asked them to change my sheets, they handed me the linens and asked me to do it myself! WOW, great service.... makes you feel like home.
To top it off, they don't close the car gate at night, and sure enough our car got broken into.
It's been a week I have been trying to speak with a manager of #Condo Lux and they haven't had the courtesy to call me back.
Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-Sands-South, Manager at Holiday Sands South, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty here at Holiday Sands South. However, the unit you recently stayed in was managed by Condolux of Myrtle Beach. We are very sorry that you were unhappy with the services you received, but we hope you had a wonderful time with your family. You may reach Condolux at 843-417-1880.

Also, the parking garage only opens if you have an active room key. There are cameras on the entrance and exit areas for added security. We also require staff to patrol ALL parking lots (including the parking garage) at various times each night. Unfortunately in the society we live in, there are dishonest people. We recommend that you make sure to lock your doors and please do not have any valuables in plain view. This is true no matter where you park.

Please know that Holiday Sands South is still managing condo units, and we hope that you will stay at Holiday Sands South on your next vacation. Thank you for your time, and we appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Don't let the negative reviews scare you. It seems the condos are the problem. Not the hotel. The only issues I had were that there were no clocks in our room and none of the normal amenities provided by hotels (i.e. coffee, shampoo, conditioner). There is a coffee maker and full kitchen setup. The view was amazing from our private balcony. The suite we had was perfect for our family of four allowing our teenage daughter her own room so she could have some privacy. Parking is not ideal as we had to park across the street almost every night but it's not a long walk at all and the weather was great so we didn't really mind. The staff was friendly and the housekeepers were wonderful. The on-site restaurant had great prices for breakfast and a friendly staff as well. The pool at the hotel was great. The one at the condo property smelled. We would definitely stay here again but only at the hotel. Perfect for family vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean front and the higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-Sands-South, Manager at Holiday Sands South, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write about your experience at HSS. We really appreciate and respect all of our guests and love to hear feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a positive experience staying in the hotel side. In the future, you may request shampoo from the housekeeping department. We are sorry about any issues the the pools at the condos you may have experienced. I've mentioned your comment to our pool maintenance technicians and we will look into this. Please know that all of our pools are cleaned and maintained several times a day.

On another note, we also manage some of the condos with the same great service in mind. We really look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Address: 2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Sands South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.