We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick Condo Over Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Sands South

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Sands South
2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Milledgeville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pick Condo Over Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Condos are SO much better than the hotel section. We were not pleased with out 2 bed hotel room. Needed updating & repairs. We transferred to a 2 bedroom condo & loved it!!
Great view of the ocean. Quiet. Clean. Price was reasonable, but we were there in October 2011.
This property doesn't have the greatest parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    134
    60
    28
    38
See reviews for
180
86
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Although we had been pleased with our stays in the past we were very unsatisfied with this stay. Problems such as housekeeping not cleaning the room, remodeling that we weren't aware of until we checked in (and we had called 2 times before our arrival), some kind of sewage issue that left an awful lingering odor the entire day as well as stopped up the toilet which took 5 hours to get a plunger for! Beds were EXTREMELY uncomfortable - pools weren't clean until the last day we were there and the hot tubs weren't working in either building the last day and night we were there and when they were the temperature in the hot tub was probably less than 95 degrees which made it pretty chilly with the cool breeze that was blowing. The morning of our check out we were brought to the door at 8:45 am by the maid wanting to clean our room! When She was told that we were trying to get packed up to check out she sat in the floor by her cart outside our door until we left! Very unprofessional especially when check-out is at 11 am!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhorn, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with other family who had ocean view two bedroom condos. We had a king oceanfront that was clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Worth the extra money to get oceanfront for your morning coffee and evening drink. Full kitchen with dishwasher and laundry facilities. Great value for the cost. We will be back next year!

Room Tip: A higher floor gets a better view oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I'm currently staying at the Holiday Sands South Hotel for the 2nd time in two years.
The location is perfect--right on the strip which is very close to Highway 17 that leads to the malls/theatre/attractions. You can also head right out the front door and straight up Ocean Blvd to get to the boardwalk, Skyride, Ripley's and all the tourist stores downtown.
If peace and quiet is what you are after--get an ocean front room and you will never hear the activity/noise from the street. All you will hear is the waves of the ocean which is MY books is the best lullaby there is!
We have a room with two bedrooms and three queen beds, one bathroom, kitchen with fridge, stove, sink, microwave. Basic utensils are supplied, dishes (plates, bowls), drinking glasses and some pots for cooking (no frying pan so if grilled cheese is a staple for you bring a frying pan).
In this room we have 2 full sized dressers, two night tables, two full sized closets, one small dining table and another dinner table that would seat six. Each room has their private balcony with two lawn chairs and a small table. The lawn chairs are VERY old so you might want to consider bringing your own.
The hotel has a cafe right on site for breakfast and light lunches and you are very close to a ton of restaurants for any kind of dinner you desire.
Before you book a lot of attractions on-line wait until you get here. The hotel lobby is FULL of coupons/discounts for every restaurant, attraction, show you could want to go to!
I have found the staff to be courteous and professional--no issues.
Cleaning is adequate--we had to ask for more toilet paper, tissues and towels as none were left after cleaning...perhaps just an oversight.
There are two outdoor pools, two indoor, two hot tubs, one lazy river and two small wading pools for kids. Very family oriented (pool towels are supplied so you don't have to bring them). As well in both pool areas there are lounge desk chairs for sunning and then out on the grass before you get to the beach you will find more lounge chairs. (No chairs on the beach so if you need/want a chair bring a lounger from home).

All in all I think this is an excellent vacation spot. There's lots of free parking, kitchens in the units where you can do your own cooking...so if you're looking to stay on a budget so you can spend your money on memories and adventure this is the place.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stay here almost everytime we come down. The place is clean. The pools and spa area are nice. Always a refrigerator in the room. Its just a clean older hotel. Bottom line if your expecting a 4 star resort look elsewhere. If you want a nice clean room on the ocean with a pool you will be happy. Its always a great value to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

we were scheduled to stay 3 nights left after the first night. we went to Ocean Park and booked 2 night stay. the staff at holiday sands south very pleasant. we stayed on the ninth floor very beautiful view. the room was very outdated. mattress is horrible carpet filthy. the hotel really needs a good overall cleaning. do not waste your money on holiday sands south.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Read mixed reviews before staying here...very skeptical about it initially. It decent. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with ocean view. Huge balcony, 2 bathrooms, washer/dryer, kitchen with dishes, flay screen TV in living room area. The beds were not comfortable. The lazy river, hot tub, and kid super shallow pool and pool located on the ground floor are really nice and convenient. The beach in this area is pretty crowded but people were friendly. Overall, I enjoyed my trip. We ended up booking an extra night and paying for one night separately made me realize what a bargain we got for an entire week.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
Free Parking, B...
Show More
6.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#78 of 214 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Gazebo Inn
Gazebo Inn
#37 of 214 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#33 of 214 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#11 of 214 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#80 of 214 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Address: 2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Sands South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Sands South to your Saves list