We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place dont come expecting the Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Sands South

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Sands South
Save Saved
You added Holiday Sands South to your Saves list
2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place dont come expecting the Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stay here almost everytime we come down. The place is clean. The pools and spa area are nice. Always a refrigerator in the room. Its just a clean older hotel. Bottom line if your expecting a 4 star resort look elsewhere. If you want a nice clean room on the ocean with a pool you will be happy. Its always a great value to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    136
    63
    29
    38
See reviews for
189
89
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

we were scheduled to stay 3 nights left after the first night. we went to Ocean Park and booked 2 night stay. the staff at holiday sands south very pleasant. we stayed on the ninth floor very beautiful view. the room was very outdated. mattress is horrible carpet filthy. the hotel really needs a good overall cleaning. do not waste your money on holiday sands south.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Read mixed reviews before staying here...very skeptical about it initially. It decent. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with ocean view. Huge balcony, 2 bathrooms, washer/dryer, kitchen with dishes, flay screen TV in living room area. The beds were not comfortable. The lazy river, hot tub, and kid super shallow pool and pool located on the ground floor are really nice and convenient. The beach in this area is pretty crowded but people were friendly. Overall, I enjoyed my trip. We ended up booking an extra night and paying for one night separately made me realize what a bargain we got for an entire week.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbiana, Kentucky, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Have always stayed at Holiday Sands when vacationing in Myrtle Beach good prices and lots to do clean very handy close to every thing love staying there.
Have stayed there for years. Have taken a lot of friends to this Motel they all have very satisfied with the service they have recieved while visiting there. Thanks Holiday Sands for making my vacaton very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Any ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and furniture are old and falling apart. Rooms with side view (what side view except of next building) are so small! Staff treated us like they were doing us a favor to take their time to check us in instead of treating us like welcomed guests. Beware - you really do get what you pay for if you stay here. This will definitely be the first and last time we stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife was looking for a 2 bedroom condo with some indoor water areas for our children and told me about Holiday Sands South. I looked up the place and the reviews were mixed but we booked it anyway. Wow!!! Our 2 bedroom ocean view condo was great. Very up to date and was clean. The beds were not the greatest but nothing is ever as good as your bed at home. We will definitely be back again. What a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I went for a bike week event May 25- May 27 2012. It was a great location. Budget friendly. Very nice staff. The room was average but it was clean. One of my roomates said she seen a roach run across the stove but i didnt see it. The only other thing was the elevator smelled (of throw-up) on the 2nd day but was cleaned by the 3rd day.<i guess someone had a accident>. Other than that it was nice. Multiple pools and Heated pool (Jacuzzi) was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Address: 2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Sands South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.