We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly Maintained” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Sands South

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Sands South
Save Saved
You added Holiday Sands South to your Saves list
2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poorly Maintained”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

After staying at the condo for 3 years, this last experience may be our last stay. We love the location and have previously had positive experiences, but it appears that some things in the condo are not updated well year-to-year. The mattresses in the room in which we stayed were very worn. You could actually see the indentions in the mattresses. It did not bother us until after the second night. Mine and my husband's back hurt so badly that we used the pull-down bed for the following 3 nights of our stay. We also had an issue with the lock sticking to the balcony door to the point that we could not open the door. We notified the front desk and they sent someone up to "fix" it, but it only ended up sticking several times after that. The wireless internet also stopped working after the 3rd night. Again, we notified the front desk and someone came up to "fix" it. It worked fine for about 15 minutes and then did not work again. Out of frustration and not wanting to be bothered with another repair, we just let that issue go. Other than these issues, I do feel that this is a nice place to stay for the price. But, I will plan to actually look at my room in person before booking an entire week again. We just can't endure the poor maintenance, especially since one of the issues was the mattress.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    142
    63
    29
    38
See reviews for
192
91
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The newer condo part of the building is nice. The pool/lazy river area is great for the kids and a lot more than what you normally see at hotels in this price range. There's also a small onsite restaurant that has decent food at good prices. Nothing special but definitely good for a quick breakfast or lunch.

You really can't beat this hotel for the price. There's not a lot in this price range on the ocean front, and you'll be pleasantly surprised with the quality of Holiday Sands South.

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously better for the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My race team recently had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Sands South Hotel. The rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable, and the staff was EXTREMELY nice. Jeff, one of the front desk clerks, was very helpful, very polite and went out of his way to help in any way necessary. I would definitely recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: Ocean view room on the fifth floor was great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in the new condo part of the hotel and it is the nicest and cleanest room we have ever stayed in. Look forward to visiting them again. The room is very up to date with flat screen Tv's and wifi internet. It's more like an apartment than a hotel room. Nice balcony over looking the ocean. The staff was very friendly and always ask if there was anything we needed. We were there for the Fall bike rally. They even supplied towels to dry the bikes off after a rain shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our first time to stay at Holiday Sands south, but will not be the last time to stay here.
We were pleased with the hotel and the staff. No complaints at all. Every thing was clean, well maintained, very roomy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was ocean front which had a great view of the ocean , enjoyed the balcony, which was a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is a dump!!! We have stayed there in the past and never thought it would have been like this!!! We haven't been on vacation in awhile so we went this past weekend. Was looking forward to having a much needed relaxing weekend with my kids. Got there late at night got in the room and settled. Had to get them to bring sheets for the pull out couch that looked bad anyway but had to have somewhere for all of us to sleep. Got the sheets which looked stained an old. Didn't even bring us pillows but just as well. We had brought some from home. All of us went to sleep and got woke up before 8am with my son yelling there is bugs in my bed. OMG!! There were bed bugs all in the bed!!! I was furious it was so awful!!! It mad me so sick to think they had been in the bed with us. We had to call the front desk an they sent someone up to check the room. He said we had to leave the room and they would give us another room. We ended up getting our money back and leaving was not staying there no more!!! We had to go to the laundry mat and wash all our clothes. Had to waste most of the day with that and finding somewhere else to stay. So this was not the vacation we had hoped for!!! Would not ever stay here again!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the condo building for 5 days in sept-oct 2012. Our expectations were consistently exceeded by this little oceanfront jewel. It is clean, well maintained, spacious, and comfortable. The staff was the best part to me. Everyone is friendly and dedicated to customer service. There is an onsite restaurant which offers breakfast and lunch options. The food is decent and the prices are very fair. I recommend the omelet and the gravy biscuit. Its nice to be able to get something to eat without getting in the car and fighting traffic. Or you can cook in your condo which is also nice. The heated pools, hot tubs, and lazy river were all nice and refreshing. And the oceanfront location is perfect. We observed dolphins and many schools of fish from our balcony. The toilet in the master bath leaked and was repaired within 30 minutes after the front desk was notified. Again, fantastic customer service. We highly recommend this condo hotel and will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The handicap accessible are on the lower floors of the condo building. Views are better from the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Address: 2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Sands South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.