We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent trip to MB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Sands South

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Sands South
Save Saved
You added Holiday Sands South to your Saves list
2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Statesville, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recent trip to MB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My race team recently had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Sands South Hotel. The rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable, and the staff was EXTREMELY nice. Jeff, one of the front desk clerks, was very helpful, very polite and went out of his way to help in any way necessary. I would definitely recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: Ocean view room on the fifth floor was great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    136
    62
    29
    38
See reviews for
187
87
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in the new condo part of the hotel and it is the nicest and cleanest room we have ever stayed in. Look forward to visiting them again. The room is very up to date with flat screen Tv's and wifi internet. It's more like an apartment than a hotel room. Nice balcony over looking the ocean. The staff was very friendly and always ask if there was anything we needed. We were there for the Fall bike rally. They even supplied towels to dry the bikes off after a rain shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our first time to stay at Holiday Sands south, but will not be the last time to stay here.
We were pleased with the hotel and the staff. No complaints at all. Every thing was clean, well maintained, very roomy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was ocean front which had a great view of the ocean , enjoyed the balcony, which was a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is a dump!!! We have stayed there in the past and never thought it would have been like this!!! We haven't been on vacation in awhile so we went this past weekend. Was looking forward to having a much needed relaxing weekend with my kids. Got there late at night got in the room and settled. Had to get them to bring sheets for the pull out couch that looked bad anyway but had to have somewhere for all of us to sleep. Got the sheets which looked stained an old. Didn't even bring us pillows but just as well. We had brought some from home. All of us went to sleep and got woke up before 8am with my son yelling there is bugs in my bed. OMG!! There were bed bugs all in the bed!!! I was furious it was so awful!!! It mad me so sick to think they had been in the bed with us. We had to call the front desk an they sent someone up to check the room. He said we had to leave the room and they would give us another room. We ended up getting our money back and leaving was not staying there no more!!! We had to go to the laundry mat and wash all our clothes. Had to waste most of the day with that and finding somewhere else to stay. So this was not the vacation we had hoped for!!! Would not ever stay here again!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the condo building for 5 days in sept-oct 2012. Our expectations were consistently exceeded by this little oceanfront jewel. It is clean, well maintained, spacious, and comfortable. The staff was the best part to me. Everyone is friendly and dedicated to customer service. There is an onsite restaurant which offers breakfast and lunch options. The food is decent and the prices are very fair. I recommend the omelet and the gravy biscuit. Its nice to be able to get something to eat without getting in the car and fighting traffic. Or you can cook in your condo which is also nice. The heated pools, hot tubs, and lazy river were all nice and refreshing. And the oceanfront location is perfect. We observed dolphins and many schools of fish from our balcony. The toilet in the master bath leaked and was repaired within 30 minutes after the front desk was notified. Again, fantastic customer service. We highly recommend this condo hotel and will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The handicap accessible are on the lower floors of the condo building. Views are better from the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just got home last pm, after a weeks stay there. Great location, great prices and great amenities! The only criticism I have is the quality of the mattresses. Our backs hurt all week, and there were several other guests who complained of the very same thing. Holiday Sands South Owners, invest in some pillow top mattress and start systemactically changing them. We would have paid a bit more for a better mattress. The Cafe was great and the prices so cheap. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Sands South Hotel 9/8 - 9/13. The hotel is a great and affordable vacation getaway.

The room we stayed in was on the 8th floor, oceanfront. As most have said the outside furniture is a little out dated. The inside furniture however was newer. I will say that the beds were a little hard, but didn't keep us from that much sleep.

The rooms were very clean. The room did have the usual hotel stale smell, but nothing that a small air fresher couldn't handle.

The folks there were very nice and was always greeting us or telling us to have a safe trip out. The cleaning staff was very nice and was prompt with getting us a few extra towels. We had one incident where the cleaners forgot to give us tissue paper, but the front desk was very prompt and apologetic.

The lazy river at the condo was fun. They have a couple of small kiddie pools, a bigger pool outside and a nice jacuzzi. The pool on the hotel side was clean. We didn't swim in the outside pool, but we did take a dip in the indoor pool. The hotel side has and indoor pool, an outdoor pool, a kiddie pool and a jacuzzi.

Over all the hotel was very good. A nice place to stay without a lot of money spent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Please disregard the negative posts, as this really is a great place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: If you come to enjoy the view as well as the hotel, then I would suggest an upper floor room. Staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Address: 2411 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Sands South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.