We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific vacation spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
noth carolina
1 review
“terrific vacation spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

my husband and I had a wonderful experience. got room upgraded upon early arrival. had a terrific ocean view, rooms very clean, staff great. we purchased a timeshare and was not pressured to do so. we must admit the owner side is much better than the hotel side, but as they said it will soon be torn down and rebuilt. can hardly wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    227
    146
    122
    136
See reviews for
388
290
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Do not ever stay at this resort. My husband and I booked this place weeks in advance. 4 days before our vacation we get a phone call stating they cannot honor our ocean front reservations! Now keep in mind we even have an email confirmation of what we booked. My husband has cancer and will be going into the hospital at Vanderbilt and this was his last vacation before his surgery and possibly his last one all together. We paid for everything up front and on a tight budget at that with his medical condition. We were then told that we would get our money back in 5-7 business days! We are leaving in 4 days! Needless to say our vacation has been ruined. We dont have enough money to pay for another hotel while waiting on these idiots to refund our money! The lady was very rude and didnt care that they had ruined this for my family! Do not EVER book with this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed in the new tall building which is right next to the water park....the address on the building says 415 and my room number was 1605 and 1606. We had both the large room and the accompanying smaller apartment attached. My second day using the shower in 06 the water pressure turned into a trickle about 3 minutes into my shower. I called Maintenance....a thin gentleman with a mustache came and told me there was pretty much nothing they could do about it and that all the 06's and 08's in the building had the same problem. He said that Westgate has had people there trying to fix the pumps that control the water but so far, based on my stay, it's not fixed.

If you stay in the new building (ask first which building), make sure you DO NOT get an 06 or 08....

Seems like they rushed the construction.
Also, something about the furniture in the new building, while nice, seem to be too large for the rooms...seriously...the tables in the living room....and the strange nook/dining area in the rooms...just seem a bit out of place. You can tell the building is still a work in progress as the front lobby areas are not yet completed. AT least not in Aug. 09.
Outside of that they're supposed to be tearing down the older buildings and making one's similiar to the new one. Let's hope they work on the water situation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort mill, sc 29708
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

This hotel is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. I was very pleased with my stay the two times I have been. The first time my stay was very enjoyable and this time was even better. The rooms are great and are VERY well kept. The guest service was also very well done. If we ever needed something it was given to us with out any questions. I can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoover, AL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Good hotel/resort for a decent price. We stayed at a 2 bedroom condo, which was quite spacious. Pools were nice. If you stay at the towers the rooms are nice, otherwise the rest of the hotel is an old Holiday Inn. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

This was our first trip to Westgate Resort as a time share owner. We arrived early hoping we could check in sooner but very disappointed because we could not. Most of the staff were very friendly and accomodating but one in pacticular we were not impressed with.Thank goodness we only had to deal with him when we arrived and no more.He was sooooo fake. Our one bedroom suite was very nice and up to date.We were in the new building on the 16th floor Would have preferred to be on a lower level. Suppose to have had a ocean front accomodation but was ocean view. Parking was an issue. Difficult to find a place after going out and coming back. Enjoyed the lazy river and pool areas. Realize there is still lost of construction and rennovations going on. Will give them the benefit of the doubt and will be going back again at some point.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barberton ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

pools nice ,no indoor pool on those extreme hot days. way to much bussiness going on in the hall ways ,making guest enjoyment sour,and difficult to to elevators and pools. house cleaning only comes twice a week. rooms where nice if you had a two room condo ,single family room is way to small for my likeing. in the next 10 years is going to be alot of construction in inproving the facility, i am sure there will be alot of inconveinces over that time period.save your money and come back when construction is complete,it will be worth it then . getting in and out of the facitiy is difficult,with public beach access along same driveway

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing vacation getaway on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the award-winning Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the beautiful coastal resort of Myrtle Beach and across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort provides convenient access to area attractions, amusement parks, water parks, entertainment complexes such as Broadway at the Beach, shopping outlet malls, family-friendly restaurants, live entertainment venues and trendy nightlife. Guests of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort enjoy one of the most outstanding stretches of beach on the Grand Strand, as well as an abundance of onsite recreational amenities such as a large heated outdoor pool, lazy river, children’s water play area, lap pool, hot tub spa, recreation center, exercise facility and game room, as well as an onsite golf director who will be pleased to assist you with a golf vacation that meets your needs. The resort’s onsite restaurant, Seaside Café, serves breakfast and dinner daily. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and or grab a quick lunch with spectacular oceanfront views at Coconut Willy’s pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.