We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Timeshare only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“For Timeshare only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Tower which is newer than the rest of this timeshare resort. The Tower rooms are modern with a huge jacuzzi tub. Get rid of the tub. Book a room from the 4th floor and up otherwise you have a 1 ft view of the beach. No joke. Front desk told me it's a Oceanview room. What a scam in my opinion. Plenty of better Oceanview resorts or hotels to pick. Seems they are starting a major renovation and selling timeshare to get their project started. Bottom line: if interested in a timeshare then go otherwise find another place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. As you mentioned, we do have our timeshare resort side and our hotel side. The resort side is more of like a condo or apartment whereas the hotel side is a hotel room and not like a condo. Depending on what you chose online, you can stay on either side. If available, you can always ask the Front Desk is moving is an option. We do apologize if a member of our staff was not courteous. That is definitely not how we train our staff to treats our guests. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as we will be passing this information along to our resort management team. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    264
    160
    131
    145
See reviews for
425
327
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Over priced for what you get. The room was dirty and had roaches. They were crawling up the wall and in the bed!!! Called to have rooms switched & was put on hold. No one ever got back to is about it. Finally got ahold of management and they were rude and unhelpful. There was no parking and no where to sit to eat. Unless you are a member guest have have very little offered to them.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We strive in providing every single guest with a unique family vacation experience. We do not tolerate that our staff does not follow our company standards. We will certainly pass this information on to prevent this from happening in the future. It would be our wish to provide you with a relaxing future vacation! M.B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Pros:The condos are gorgeous here. It's the perfect room with granite counters and rain shower faucets. There's even a hot tub in the master bedroom. Customer service is fantastic thanks to Trevor Jonas.

Cons: The website is deceiving. If you want amusement park view, it is a street view of a parking lot and 1 ride. Not a pleasant view at all. We talked to Mr. Jonas who was able to switch our room without paying more out of pocket. ALWAYS ask for ocean view if you want a good room.

I will definitely come here again!

Room Tip: ask for condo 20611 for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review on the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. It makes us trully happy when our owners and guests have a valuable family vacation time with us. It is awesome that our staff went above and beyond and were able to assist you with an upgrade for no extra charges. We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family again! Micky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were there for my son't baseball team. We stayed in the tower which was very nice. The rest of the team stayed in the older part which was in need of some renovations. Lobby bathroom was falling apart and not very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The on;y issue we had were getting clean towels on a daily basis. Housekeeping said they send them out to be cleaned and was having trouble getting them. Other than that, it was pretty nice

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your input. It is wonderful to know you chose our property in Myrtle beach to come and stay, while your son and team came down to play. The process of rennovations take a while, specially when you still want to offer units to guests without having to close an entire building; for that we trully appreciate your understanding. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon! M.B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have stayed at Westgate twice. The room I had in the new tower was very nice. The beds were comfortable, and everything was clean and worked properly. It was like a home away from home, and my boyfriend and I were very pleased with the room and the service. This was in May 2013.

Fast forward to October 2013. We decided to stay there again, as we had a great experience the first time. I'm not sure what happened in those few months, the but second time was not good. We were ignored at the front desk by two receptionists who were carrying on a conversation. The person who does parking validation tried to convince us to see a timeshare presentation, and was very upset that we said we weren't interested. It was really uncomfortable. Our room was in the main tower and was not nearly as nice and comfortable as our room in the newer tower. It wasn't terrible; it was just a big downgrade from when we stayed the first time. However, the bad service and pushy timeshare people have convinced us to not stay there again.

Room Tip: Request the new tower! You get a better room and better parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you had a great time and really enjoyed your first stay with us. As you mentioned, we do have our timeshare resort side and our hotel side. The resort side is more of like a condo or apartment whereas the hotel side is a hotel room and not like a condo. Depending on what you chose online, you can stay on either side. If available, you can always ask the Front Desk is moving is an option. We do apologize if a member of our staff was not courteous. That is definitely not how we train our staff to treats our guests. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as we will be passing this information along to our resort management team. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougemont,NC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

So we used some points on our credit card to stay here for 2 nights. Saw all the reviews and was very nervous. The parking is across the street, but it wasnt too bad. Check in was fairly smooth and we headed up to our room. Apparently the AC was leaking because the carpeting was soaked... so back we went to the desk downstairs. They were quick to give us another room, and back up we went. So, this is an old Holiday Inn and you really can tell. They have made some upgrades.. including flat screen t.v. and granite counter tops in the bath.... but there was still peeling paint... and I think the toilets and faucets were the same from the Holiday Inn. The pools were good for our son, but there was never any pool towels. Overall for a two night stay the place was okay... but if I were going to stay any longer I think some where else would be a better option for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We were sorry to hear about your experience with a leaking air conditioning unit, but relieved the front desk was able to resolve the problem for you in a timely manner.

We thank you for noticing the upgrades which have been made and rest assured there are more changes to come.

Please note that while you stayed at the hotel, the other buildings on-site are part of our timeshare resort. The units in these buildings are much newer and larger. Should you choose to visit the Myrtle Beach area again, please consider scheduling for one of these units as they may better suit your needs.

Sincerely,
Anja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was just on here to say that this resort is even though busy, a very well run machine. My room was not cleaned on time and one of the front desk employees, Alex, went out of his way to accommodate my family and I. We had arrived in Myrtle Beach at 10:30 AM and went straight to the hotel just to check in. We were aware the room would not be ready for us to go to since it was so early, but they told us to come back by 1:30 PM and we could get in. We returned 3 more time from 2PM on and by 5PM, I was exhausted and the room not ready. That was when Alex took charge. He saw we were ready to sleep on our feet, and upgraded us to a suite and got us right in. All during our stay, if I had a question he was right there to assist. I can't thank him enough for making our stay great. As a note.. the rooms are very clean, the property is well maintained and the employees are friendly. If we ever come back to Myrtle Beach, I WILL stay again.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view... thats why you come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re sorry to hear that your room was not available for check-in upon arrival. As a timeshare resort we do run a little differently, but that does not make up for the amount of time you had to wait to get into your room. We’re glad to hear our Front Desk agent Alex was very friendly and willing to assist you as soon as a problem arose. It lets us know we made an awesome choice in choosing our employees. We hope to see you again soon.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing vacation getaway on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the award-winning Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the beautiful coastal resort of Myrtle Beach and across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort provides convenient access to area attractions, amusement parks, water parks, entertainment complexes such as Broadway at the Beach, shopping outlet malls, family-friendly restaurants, live entertainment venues and trendy nightlife. Guests of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort enjoy one of the most outstanding stretches of beach on the Grand Strand, as well as an abundance of onsite recreational amenities such as a large heated outdoor pool, lazy river, children’s water play area, lap pool, hot tub spa, recreation center, exercise facility and game room, as well as an onsite golf director who will be pleased to assist you with a golf vacation that meets your needs. The resort’s onsite restaurant, Seaside Café, serves breakfast and dinner daily. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and or grab a quick lunch with spectacular oceanfront views at Coconut Willy’s pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.