We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisit at Westgate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Sumter, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Revisit at Westgate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In 2010 I wrote a very harsh but true review of Westgate, Myrtle Beach. Last month I stayed there in the same type room (hotel unit not the tower) and was very pleased. The room was clean, everything worked, the service was good and I had a very nice visit. I am glad that this propertry is now up to the Westgate standards I am use to seeing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    196
    109
    91
    106
See reviews for
323
236
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoddard, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We bought tickets for the NASCAR race in Darlington and the wife wanted to stay on the beach so we picked Westgate. Good choice. Great room in the tower with an ocean view. Good value and service. Would do it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was attending an education class at the ocean dunes and the room rate there was $179 so I looked online & Westgate came up at $50 a night. It has been very nice, the hot tub awesome, employees very helpful & I would certainly do it again! homeKimmie

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattekill, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my wife had a free week stay at this hotel and after the first night we checked out and paid for a different hotel. Hotel is filthy, service is horrible, food was disgusting!! The only thing this hotel it has going for it is it's beach location. Would never stay at a Westgate property again!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I spent three nights, and not only is there not complimentary breakfast for the price you pay but once we checked in the front desk gave us a room that was already occupied! Luckily when we opened the room no one was in there! The location is wonderful and the beach is beautiful, however all I smelt was pot! What a great vaca get away! We will most definitely return to myrtle beach, however just not to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night, although we had booked and pre-paid for two nights.
I really am not sure where to begin with my complaints.
We did book and pre-pay for two nights, March 21, and March 22, 2014. We stayed only one night, March 21, 2014. My husband is Army Special Forces and had been away from home for several months. He was suddenly allowed to come home early, so we wanted to check out a day early and asked the management if we could be credited for the one night that was pre-paid but not used. They said we could cancel but would forfeit the money. So, clearly the management has no regard for military families. I for one, will NEVER pre-pay anywhere again! Next, when we got to the room I had my mother and my two kids ages, 4 and 6 with me. The room had a funny smell so we opened the door to air it out. The bathroom was not clean, with what was apparently mold around the tub and at the base of the toilet. The most critical item however was the broken electrical outlet under the desk. When my mother tried to plug in her laptop computer it sparked and shocked her. Luckily it was not a serious shock. You can see by the attached photo that the outlet itself is broken and exposed.
Then upon checkout I once again asked the desk clerk if we could possibly be credited the money paid for the second night because my husband was being allowed by the Army to come home early. She checked with management and the answer was no.
Then I got out to my car and noticed that she had charged me for three nights, instead of two. So, I had to go back in, stand in line again to get credited the overcharge. Really ridiculous!
So, this property failed on all counts: Safety, Cleanliness, and Customer Service.
I am attaching photos of the safety and cleanliness problems for you to see. I will gladly pay a little more at any other location before I stay at Westgate again, and rather than pre-pay. We then went on to Orlando, FL. We saw the Westgate that is there and we have told everyone we know not to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first got in our room I wasn't thrilled, but we had a great view of the ocean. We will be here for four nights. The first morning when we got up we had several problems with our room. I went to the front desk where I met Ms Jackie D'Alessio. Ms Jackie listened to our problems and took charge of the situation. She immediately offered us an upgrade and showed us a new room, which was wonderful. She showed excellent customer service along with the rest of the staff. We would stay with Westgateresorts again in the future.
L Smith

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach
Address: 415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#68 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#74 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing vacation getaway on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the award-winning Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the beautiful coastal resort of Myrtle Beach and across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort provides convenient access to area attractions, amusement parks, water parks, entertainment complexes such as Broadway at the Beach, shopping outlet malls, family-friendly restaurants, live entertainment venues and trendy nightlife. Guests of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort enjoy one of the most outstanding stretches of beach on the Grand Strand, as well as an abundance of onsite recreational amenities such as a large heated outdoor pool, lazy river, children’s water play area, lap pool, hot tub spa, recreation center, exercise facility and game room, as well as an onsite golf director who will be pleased to assist you with a golf vacation that meets your needs. The resort’s onsite restaurant, Seaside Café, serves breakfast and dinner daily. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and or grab a quick lunch with spectacular oceanfront views at Coconut Willy’s pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list