We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Trevor at the front desk is awesome. Our villa in the north tower was amazing and very clean. The view is awesome. Loved our stay and will stay again. The best hotel in Myrtle Beach. Can't wait to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are glad that you loved your stay with us. We are happy to note that your front desk experience was a pleasant one and that your room, not just meet but exceeded your expectations. We also can’t wait for you to visit again it will be our pleasure to provide you with outstanding service one more time.
Sincerely,
Lucía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    214
    118
    101
    114
See reviews for
348
253
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The resort was very clean and staff was courteous as well as helpful. The location is great, right on the beach and close to attractions. The Front desk attendant, Trevor Jones, made check in very simple and pleasant, he had a great attitude and really made us feel welcome. Thanks Trevor, i will definately be back and spread the word about the resort.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! It is great to hear that our staff was courteous and helpful. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. As you mentioned, we are perfectly located right on the beach and close to attractions. We feel delighted that you will be returning and we hope we can provide you with memorable vacations many years to come!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Brought in the New Year at this resort and just loved my ocean front room! Rooms were very nice and clean with mattress's that slept good! Resort staff at front desk check in and guest services were very nice and helpful. Ordered from the onsite pizza place and the food was good. Did not try the onsite resturant but the food looked good in passing. Went in the heated pool and hot tub for a short time and enjoyed it. Will be booking again in the spring and fall.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great. You can see all the way up the beach on both sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean rooms! Our staff works hard to assist all of our guests and we are glad they were “nice and helpful”. We are delighted that you will be returning and we look forward to having you back soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We recently spent our vacation from Christmas to New Year at West Gate Resort Myrtle Beach and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The one bedroom deluxe unit we occupied as owners was on the ocean side. The unit is large and very well laid out with nice amenities. It was nice to have perks like free wifi and towel art by the house keeping staff. The unit was very clean, well equipped and handy to activities and restaurants in Myrtle Beach and surrounding area. This was the first time we spent Christmas at MB West Gate and thought it would be nice to have a traditional Turkey and Ham dinner with all the trimmings, well it happened and was very good.
Several observations over the last five years we stayed at our home time share, is that something needs to be done with the ugly parking garage, either build or remove it. Access to the tower is removed from the lobby area and cannot be accessed without crossing the parking lot very unhandy. We decided to not set through another presentation and happy to say they left us alone as promised. The staff at the desk on our arrival were not very friendly and it seemed like it was too much of an effort to be involved, after driving 12 hours not what we wanted.

We did have a medical emergency and had to leave 3 days early. Jackie, Front Office Supervisor handled the situation very professional although we are still awaiting the refund of our 1 day deposit.

Overall another great experience in Myrtle Beach

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side and the corner units are very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We want to take the time to let you know how honored we are that you and your family chose to stay with us during your Christmas and New Year’s vacation. We are grateful to have helped make this a memorable vacation for you and your family. As we continue to grow, we continue to make improvements; and apologize if this interfered in your stay in anyway. We are really sorry that a family emergency pull you away from your vacation and sincerely hope that you and yours are now doing fine. We are glad that our front desk staff was able to assist you with your early departure. If you have any questions about that, please do not hesitate to contact our front desk.
Sincerely,
Lucía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We planned a family vacation/reunion at the Westgate. Our entire family had a wonderful time. The rooms were all neat, clean and comfortable. We had a total of 14 rooms. Our experience during our entire stay was exceptional. All the staff members we had contact with were very pleasant and helpful. We utilized the catering services and had an excellent buffet dinner prepared by the hotel catering staff. The food was excellent and the banquet hall was nicely decorated. Highly recommend The Westgate, whether you are staying one night or longer your sure to be pampered.

Room Tip: The best room is the one that offer both, ocean view and street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experienced. We are thrilled you choose our resort for your family reunion vacation! It is great to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time. We strive to provide an ultimate vacation for our guests and we are glad we were able to accommodate you. On behalf of the entire Westgate staff, thank you for your response and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Traded into the last week of 2013. First time at a Westgate property. Have stayed in many Marriotts, including the Dunes location in MB, so that is where by bias comes from. Had limited contact with staff so no comments about them. Will break down my review starting out with the good and ending with the bad (and/or needs improvement).

The goods:
Location - Right on beach. Next to a small theme park (which was closed for the winter). Walking distance to a few restaurants and a CVS. Not far from airport. Easy to get to main roads to take you to more restaurants, shopping, and attractions. Ample sized parking lot (seems like they will be adding a ramp as only the ground level was available for covered parking).
Room - 1 bedroom suite was very spacious. Had separate 2 person jacuzzi tub in the bedroom (kinda akward). Separate and very spacious shower with 2 heads (both cannot operate at same time at full pressure though). Good working kitchen with pots, pans, bakingware, and dinnerware. Didn't use the sleeper but it was there. Had two wall mounted flat screens with dvd players. Balcony had patio furniture. Had stacking W/D.
Pools - they were heated and the hot tub was always hot.

The Bads:
Pools - No indoor pools. Everything is outside.
WiFi - NO free wifi. They charge $39.99 for the week and that is for 1 device at a time only! You will get an error message telling you about 1 device only, if you try to log onto a different device. Its quirky as well. Even after logging off and completely powering off the 1st device connected to wifi, you still have to wait like 30 minutes to an hour for the system to reset itself and be able to use it on another device. Super annoying and inconvenient!!!
Kitchenware - No tongs so if you plan to cook, you should pick up one on your grocery run.
Laundry - May not apply to you but if you are picky with laundry detergent, then bring your own or go buy it because all they provide are generic powder packs. The washing machine takes forever to finish so plan accordingly. The cycles run 70-90 minutes. Dryer is loud. I'm still happy that these
Business Center - There's 2 computers in the main lobby for use by guests. However, they require payment for printing ($.80/page). The room card swipe did not work and therefore no printing was available. The front desk said they do not provide or are responsible for those computers so you're better off finding a public library or FedEx Kinkos for any printing needs.
Parking - It rained several days. The covered parking (in the unfinished ramp) has no grading at all. It was puddle filled, so be prepared to have wet shoes/feet if you parked there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed the room and location! We are always looking for ways in which to improve and we really appreciate your comments. We have taken note of the issues you experience with the appliances, WiFi service and parking and will be sure to address them with the appropriate departments. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope that you will return and find that the experience not just meets but exceeds your expectations.
Sincerely,
Lucía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

everything about this hotel is what you want from a holiday; the staff really value you, and the facilities make your stay that extra bit special. just wonderful.
i was travelling around america and westgate was the highlight of my trip accommodation wise.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade! they gave me one for free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so very much for your response. We appreciate kind words such as yours about our facilities and team of staff. We hope you were able to explore our resort amenities during your stay. Please come back to see us soon!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#71 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#71 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing vacation getaway on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the award-winning Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the beautiful coastal resort of Myrtle Beach and across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort provides convenient access to area attractions, amusement parks, water parks, entertainment complexes such as Broadway at the Beach, shopping outlet malls, family-friendly restaurants, live entertainment venues and trendy nightlife. Guests of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort enjoy one of the most outstanding stretches of beach on the Grand Strand, as well as an abundance of onsite recreational amenities such as a large heated outdoor pool, lazy river, children’s water play area, lap pool, hot tub spa, recreation center, exercise facility and game room, as well as an onsite golf director who will be pleased to assist you with a golf vacation that meets your needs. The resort’s onsite restaurant, Seaside Café, serves breakfast and dinner daily. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and or grab a quick lunch with spectacular oceanfront views at Coconut Willy’s pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.