We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westgate myrtle beach Owner DISAPPOINTED” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Westgate myrtle beach Owner DISAPPOINTED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Wow..we have been owners at westgate mb since 2005. Even upgraded last year. We come back every year but after this year not so sure. Beyond disappointed. They have done NOTHING in a year except some new pool furniture. Parking is worse then ever. The elevator situation in the tower is the worst. You wait forever for them (only 2) and they barely stay open to get people off yet alone let people on. Idiots working the front desk. Couldnt help with the crappy wireless problems. Couldnt itemize bill to see if we got owner discounts ( going to say no). One person working desk during checkout time. Anyone can access the resort and use it..no security. You have to carry and set up your own umbrella and chairs ( one poor woman got hit with an umbrella not secured) and apparently if they know that you are not going to upgrade because you just did..you are ignored!!! AC barely worked in tower. No stores opened in tower like they promised. No vending machines in tower. Teenagers screaming off balcony to passerbys until 3am. Apparently westgate mb is the ugly stepchild since all the stuff they promised is STILL not there. And they told us we would get an extra week to use in 2014. Yeah no..it expires next week. So glad we didnt bring friends!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, as they give us an opportunity to improve. Please accept our apologies if you were dissatisfied with your stay. We hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    227
    146
    122
    136
See reviews for
388
291
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirtz, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Westgate Resort.
Our 2br 2 ba suite was very spacious and Clean!
we have a full kitchen and washer and dryer
the jazucci tub in the master suite is amazing.
I loved how you can just walk right into all of the pools.
My 20 month old daughter had an amazing time also.

Room Tip: 2 br 2 ba suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we're thrilled to read that you had a great stay. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a very nice resort with good pools and activities. Located right beside Family Kingdom and Splashes Water Park, so there is plenty to do with kids that's close. They are still doing construction on the property, but it did not hinder our time at the resort. Would recommend!

Room Tip: Condo units are large with full kitchens and washer/dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We appreciate and value your feedback. Our resort offers many activities and amenities for the entire family to enjoy. We are also conveniently located close to shopping and dining areas, making it a great spot when visiting. We are delighted that you would recommend us to your family and friends. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I can only speak from the viewpoint of an owner. We have been owners for 5 yrs. & come the same time every year. The staff is very helpful & pleasant. A few things need to be better, like the exercise equipment which is old & poorly maintained & the cookware which is not non-stick. Who cooks with pans that are not non-stick these days? I do not go on vacation to scrub pots & pans. We always get a room in the towers because that is where we own & it is usually oceanfront. All of the units are great except for the standard 1BR. This is just a room with very few amenities. Great location. We like quiet & are not bothered by the attractions noise. They usually shut down at a decent time in the evening. Great activities especially for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We always appreciate hearing back from our valued owners. Thank you for saying that our staff is very helpful and pleasant. We apologize for any issues you may have encountered during your stay. We always strive to provide excellent customer service. We are delighted that you and your family were able to enjoy the resort amenities. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Summary: Friendly staff. Corporate is a major headache if things go wrong and no such thing as "the customer is always right" they will fight for their money!, location- decent, beach-nice, rooms in condo side- very nice!

Also, booking tips at end

GOOD: (and no im not a disgruntle employee or anything) The Villas are very nice oceanview is perfect for a couple retreat and we also stayed 2 nights in their 2 bedroom oceanfront with Jacuzzi villa (Both in the timeshare tower). Also, front desk is very polite..there was always a line at the desk though. Lots of beach property right across the street to a carnival type area which was nice to walk around at night. It is next to the rental place for banana boat, jet skis, and parasail. Must pay for chair and umbrella ($40 all day)

BAD: Now.. I reseved our room on March 2nd through the westgate hotel site.. They booked me for March 27th-30th instead of May 27th-30th. Front desk tried charging me the new rate instead of the advanced purchase rate that I was promised and paid in full online. After at least a hour on the phone with reservations they listened to the phone call and realized they made the mistake. They wanted to charge me the new rate also, after phone tag they realized I was right but wanted me to repay and they would refund me later...?? dumb. They upgraded us to the best hotel room and it was VERY nice. I HAVE 3 FULL PAGES of conversations with front desk, reservations, and the accounting department. Everything I should of been provided..customer service.. had to be demanded. A major chain would of compensated rooms or upgrades...they did nothing.

The day of checkout I called front desk and asked for a late checkout and they told me there is no late checkout (so we had to go to the pool with our bags) we met a couple at the pool and they said they were granted a late checkout (why we weren't? no idea!) Later that day I seen a charge for 68.70 on my credit card bill and they said part of it was the resort fee and part was a balance due. I paid in full and after a WEEK of talking to different managers they finally realized that I did not owe a balance. They were still trying to charge me the new price.

Location: its just ok, its near the carnival thing, good for kids but if ur 18+ 21+ staying down by the pier would be wayyyy better..So, stay closer to the pier with the big Ferris wheel (2nd ave pier?) IF NOT there is a BUS that runs every 20 minutes,runs up and down the strip for like 1.50 per person. Hotel did not tell us about this and said they could call us a cab. Its free to go to from the 2nd ave pier to the mall or boardway at the boardwalk (which is really fun, a ton of stuff to do there!!! Bars, clubs, resturants, attractions, shops, its about a ten min bus ride)

If you book on their site greater than 21 days in advance you can get up to 25% off, but there ARE NO REFUNDS or TRANSFERS. they made this clear when they thought I made the booking error and they refused to apply it to my new stay. I got an oceanview villa for like 80/ night and reg room for like 55 during the week.

YOUNG: Go down to Broadway at the Boardwalk, I really wish me and my gf knew about this, we found out our last night!!!! take the bus (only runs until 1130pm or something), but way cheaper then taxi.

W/ KIDS: good hotel, little waterpark with fountains, across from carnival, next to a waterpark with slides and stuff.

OLD: met a timeshare lady and she was P****** how much they pay for the timeshare compared to how much they could just rent a condo for

Myrtle Beach is verrrry fun, I would definitely come back, not to sure if I would stay in this hotel again

ATTENTIONL MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND fri-mon is BLACK BIKE WEEK. It is ran by the NAACP and we were told not to go that weekend if we were not black. Seriously. The taxi cab driver (awesome guy) said they same

Room Tip: CONDO rooms oceanfront/ oceanview villas are VERY NICE
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is out top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. The issues you experienced are very rare and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Tj and J-Ann were amazing .. Need a day off and a raise most friendliest people I've ever met at a hotel I will be back ! I would recommend any one stay.. Could use some improvement but that's any hotel .. Had an amazing time and very peaceful! House keeping was amazing also!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are trilled you found Westgate Myrtle Beach to be amazing and peaceful! Thank you for letting us know that TJ and J-Ann; as well as house keeping, provided you with superior customer service. We are pleased to hear you would recommend others to stay with our resort. We look forward to having you as a guest on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

So far after staying here I have been extremely disappointed. We had no ocean view, the front desk service was absolutely awful, one of your workers needs to be fired immediately (she took 20 minutes to check us in and our cards didn't work). Your internet access is inconsistent, your ping pong tables are way to low to even play on, and it is crowded with people trying to sell you a time share. I do NOT recommend you ever staying here, and I know I will never. Last time I stayed at cheaper competitors they were much nicer, cleaner, and better. Your elevators are also so old, and need to be checked by inspectors, and your stairs are closed. Once again: DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Guest satisfaction is our greatest priority. We expect all of our staff to provide you with the best customer service possible. Since we are a time share resort we do offer every owner and guest the opportunity to participate in one of our presentations. Participation is voluntary; and it is not the sales team intention to make you feel pressured, but to inform you about our rooms and products. We apologize we disappointed your expectations and we hope you will give us the opportunity to go above and beyond your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing vacation getaway on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the award-winning Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the beautiful coastal resort of Myrtle Beach and across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort provides convenient access to area attractions, amusement parks, water parks, entertainment complexes such as Broadway at the Beach, shopping outlet malls, family-friendly restaurants, live entertainment venues and trendy nightlife. Guests of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort enjoy one of the most outstanding stretches of beach on the Grand Strand, as well as an abundance of onsite recreational amenities such as a large heated outdoor pool, lazy river, children’s water play area, lap pool, hot tub spa, recreation center, exercise facility and game room, as well as an onsite golf director who will be pleased to assist you with a golf vacation that meets your needs. The resort’s onsite restaurant, Seaside Café, serves breakfast and dinner daily. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and or grab a quick lunch with spectacular oceanfront views at Coconut Willy’s pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.