We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected but.......great February rates” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not what we expected but.......great February rates”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

extra small room. two tvs, one flat screen on wall,one tube type located in a cabinet. Refrig. small and would only freeze drinks/foods. Internet not working in room. We personally had to contact offsite IT.They did not fix the the connection,merely told us that they had a bad router and it needed to be replaced. Mattress' very soft, non-supportive. Lobby staff less than cordial. However, Cleaning services were excellent and very nice.

Room Tip: get ocean front./view. The view to the street very boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We have discussed your comments with our staff and management to ensure that they do not occur again. If you would like to discuss your stay, you are more than welcome to call the resort and speak to a member of management. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope that you give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    256
    157
    128
    140
See reviews for
418
313
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in a Vila. It was a time, in a beautiful place! The staff were friendly and helpful from the time we walked in until we left!I The front desk staff were extremely helpful. We would stay again and recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: see if they would upgrade to a vila! On the North side you could watch the sunrise, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you feel the resort is a "beautiful place!" Our staff works very hard to make sure that our guests are enjoying their stay so we appreciate your kind words in describing them as “friendly and helpful from the time we walked in until we left!” We are excited that you "would stay again and recommend it to anyone!" We look forward to exceeding your expectations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife an I just stayed here fit out anniversary last week. From the time I walked in to check in until we checked out it was a wonderful stay. The staff was very friendly an helpful it was a wonderful stay we will be back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for spending your anniversary with us at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort and for letting us know you had a “wonderful stay”. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you "will be back". We all thank you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Let's start off by saying that we did not make reservations; we own a timeshare with WestGate. I'm not sure if that gets us better rooms, services, etc. Let's start out with the good!
Pro's:
-Very Clean!
-Friendly Employees All Around.
-Perfect Sized Rooms
-Full Kitchen (fridge, microwave, blender, toaster, etc.)
-Comfy Beds!
-Perfect Sized Couch and Dinner Table (for family of 4/5)
-Lots of Room
-Decent Privacy
-Big Showers

Now sadly, the cons:
-Long wait at front desk.
-Not many super close amenities (such as a food store, Walmart, etc.)
-If you don't have one already, they will try to make you buy a timeshare.

Thats really it people. Hope it helped! Until next time, happy travels!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for describing Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort staff as “Friendly Employees All Around". We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and the "Perfect Sized Rooms" and "Comfy Beds" as well as all the other in room amenities made you feel at home. We all thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home so that we may exceed your expectations once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good Things :
- Rooms were clean and Housekeeping staff was nice.
- Check-in attendant (male) was very nice and helpful
Bad Things:
- Parking was not adequate, even heard other guests make that statement
- Two of three treadmills and one of three elliptical machines in gym were not working correctly
- Had a one bedroom unit with ajoining door, heard all conversations in the unit beside us on first night until 2:00AM, heard argument on Thursday from same room but different tenants
- Had reservations from Saturday to Saturday, but checked out on Friday
- Ceck-out attnedant (female) was not very nice, did not ask why we were leaving early or how our stay was

Room Tip: View from north side of new tower was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly take your concerns seriously and apologize for the inconveniences that we may have caused.

We have brought the your issues to the attention of management so that they may better serve you in the future. The fitness equipment is checked daily to ensure proper maintenance. A service request was placed and the equipment was repaired as quickly as possible. We apologize for this inconvenience. We appreciate your bringing this and the service at check out to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose this hotel as it is close to the beach and downtown area. The pictures online are not what the hotel looks like. The rooms are dirty, the beds are unbelievably uncomfortable. They offer direct TV, which only had 13 channels that work sometimes. After we arrived my daughter got ill, when we decided she needed to be seen by a Dr and would have to leave, they refused to give me a refund for the night. There are cable cords running through the walls to the adjoining room. I guess they started upgrading the rooms but forgot to finish, as there is a flat screen tv on the wall, but they decided to leave the old tv and the falling apart armoire that they have it in, in the room. Not only that, but we needed adjoining rooms and the armoire was blocking the door to get to the other room. The heat has two settings ON and OFF. Nothing in the middle, so you are either so hot you can't stand it or freezing. Please do not stay here. Not even worth the great rates that they offer.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations by changing or refunding your non-refundable reservation. If you feel this was in error we would be more than happy to discuss the matter with you and encourage you to give us a call. While non-refundable reservations may apply for deep discounts or when third party reservations are paid in advance to internet booking agents, we are more than willing to be flexible whenever possible. Depending on the circumstances we normally can work something out unless a deadline from the third party has expired and we are not able to recoup cost from the booking agent.
Please by all means give us a call as we will take this under consideration.
Again, we are sorry that we inconvenienced you in any way as it is our desire to provide you with a quality vacation experience and to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Westgate! The front desk clerk, Camille, was very friendly and helpful! We loved our 1 bedroom accommodations! It was a beautiful suite. Great jacuzzi and walk in shower. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the decor and roomy space. We will definitely come back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you "will definitely come back!!!!" Our staff works very hard to make sure that our guests are enjoying their stay so we appreciate your kind words in describing them as “very friendly and helpful!” and that Camille, made such a positive impression. We are excited that you will be back soon and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing vacation getaway on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the award-winning Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the beautiful coastal resort of Myrtle Beach and across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort provides convenient access to area attractions, amusement parks, water parks, entertainment complexes such as Broadway at the Beach, shopping outlet malls, family-friendly restaurants, live entertainment venues and trendy nightlife. Guests of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort enjoy one of the most outstanding stretches of beach on the Grand Strand, as well as an abundance of onsite recreational amenities such as a large heated outdoor pool, lazy river, children’s water play area, lap pool, hot tub spa, recreation center, exercise facility and game room, as well as an onsite golf director who will be pleased to assist you with a golf vacation that meets your needs. The resort’s onsite restaurant, Seaside Café, serves breakfast and dinner daily. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and or grab a quick lunch with spectacular oceanfront views at Coconut Willy’s pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.