We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like every hotel, it has it's ups and downs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Weirton, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Like every hotel, it has it's ups and downs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Let's start off by saying that we did not make reservations; we own a timeshare with WestGate. I'm not sure if that gets us better rooms, services, etc. Let's start out with the good!
Pro's:
-Very Clean!
-Friendly Employees All Around.
-Perfect Sized Rooms
-Full Kitchen (fridge, microwave, blender, toaster, etc.)
-Comfy Beds!
-Perfect Sized Couch and Dinner Table (for family of 4/5)
-Lots of Room
-Decent Privacy
-Big Showers

Now sadly, the cons:
-Long wait at front desk.
-Not many super close amenities (such as a food store, Walmart, etc.)
-If you don't have one already, they will try to make you buy a timeshare.

Thats really it people. Hope it helped! Until next time, happy travels!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for describing Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort staff as “Friendly Employees All Around". We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and the "Perfect Sized Rooms" and "Comfy Beds" as well as all the other in room amenities made you feel at home. We all thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home so that we may exceed your expectations once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    244
    151
    124
    140
See reviews for
403
302
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good Things :
- Rooms were clean and Housekeeping staff was nice.
- Check-in attendant (male) was very nice and helpful
Bad Things:
- Parking was not adequate, even heard other guests make that statement
- Two of three treadmills and one of three elliptical machines in gym were not working correctly
- Had a one bedroom unit with ajoining door, heard all conversations in the unit beside us on first night until 2:00AM, heard argument on Thursday from same room but different tenants
- Had reservations from Saturday to Saturday, but checked out on Friday
- Ceck-out attnedant (female) was not very nice, did not ask why we were leaving early or how our stay was

Room Tip: View from north side of new tower was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly take your concerns seriously and apologize for the inconveniences that we may have caused.

We have brought the your issues to the attention of management so that they may better serve you in the future. The fitness equipment is checked daily to ensure proper maintenance. A service request was placed and the equipment was repaired as quickly as possible. We apologize for this inconvenience. We appreciate your bringing this and the service at check out to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose this hotel as it is close to the beach and downtown area. The pictures online are not what the hotel looks like. The rooms are dirty, the beds are unbelievably uncomfortable. They offer direct TV, which only had 13 channels that work sometimes. After we arrived my daughter got ill, when we decided she needed to be seen by a Dr and would have to leave, they refused to give me a refund for the night. There are cable cords running through the walls to the adjoining room. I guess they started upgrading the rooms but forgot to finish, as there is a flat screen tv on the wall, but they decided to leave the old tv and the falling apart armoire that they have it in, in the room. Not only that, but we needed adjoining rooms and the armoire was blocking the door to get to the other room. The heat has two settings ON and OFF. Nothing in the middle, so you are either so hot you can't stand it or freezing. Please do not stay here. Not even worth the great rates that they offer.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations by changing or refunding your non-refundable reservation. If you feel this was in error we would be more than happy to discuss the matter with you and encourage you to give us a call. While non-refundable reservations may apply for deep discounts or when third party reservations are paid in advance to internet booking agents, we are more than willing to be flexible whenever possible. Depending on the circumstances we normally can work something out unless a deadline from the third party has expired and we are not able to recoup cost from the booking agent.
Please by all means give us a call as we will take this under consideration.
Again, we are sorry that we inconvenienced you in any way as it is our desire to provide you with a quality vacation experience and to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Westgate! The front desk clerk, Camille, was very friendly and helpful! We loved our 1 bedroom accommodations! It was a beautiful suite. Great jacuzzi and walk in shower. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the decor and roomy space. We will definitely come back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you "will definitely come back!!!!" Our staff works very hard to make sure that our guests are enjoying their stay so we appreciate your kind words in describing them as “very friendly and helpful!” and that Camille, made such a positive impression. We are excited that you will be back soon and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenansville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband made reservations here for an overnight stay. I read the reviews on the way there and was about to tell him I didn't want to stay there. I'm thinking former employees must have written reviews because they were angry. If I had known we'd be upgraded to a suite, I'd have asked him to reserve a weekend. We stayed in the Tower. We had a balcony with an ocean view and the room(s) were wonderful. We had two bedrooms, the master had a king bed with a jacuzzi and an awesome bathroom/glass shower. The suite also had a combo dining room/living room with a big screen TV, a complete kitchen with washer and dryer. The bed was so comfortable. I could have stayed much longer! I don't plan to purchase into their time share option but I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower. It's my understanding they are newer and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are happy that you chose our property for your overnight stay. What a way to make a lasting memory in one of our two bedroom villas, with upgraded amenities. Thank you once again for your review and we are looking forward to exceeding your expectations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Loved this place! We stayed here for the weekend with another couple. We originally booked a standard double room, but we were upgraded to a one bedroom villa that had a sofa bed. This was great but the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. So, We asked the front desk for an egg crate for the sofa mattress, but they gave us the adjoining room which was a standard room with a queen bed at no charge. Upgrades aside this is a very nice hotel. We were very pleased with the layout of the rooms and the overall cleanliness of it. They were very helpful when we asked for recommendations of restaurants and even called a cab for us. Thanks to Robert and Trevor at the front desk for the excellent service!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments. We greatly appreciate your recognition of Robert and Trevor for their "excellent service". Guest satisfaction is our top priority and Trevor and Robert work hard to this end everyday. They take pride in providing our owners and guests with everything they need to create memorable vacation experiences. Thank you for choosing the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront location to create those memories. We would like to say, " The pleasure was ours!" See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENVILLE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful, clean oceanfront 2 bedroom! Shower was amazing with 2 showerheads, 1 being overhead waterfall! King bed, jacuzzi with special light effects. Need i say more?? Huge balcony on the 11th floor, perfect view of the ocean. Heated lap pool and outdoor jacuzzi. We were in the new building, pet-friendly ( which is a must for us and our chihuahua). Went with 2 teenage boys and were able to send them to their own double bedroom and full private bathroom. Full kitchen and living room with everything needed. Thank you Westgate for providing an excellent beach experience, even in February!!!

Room Tip: Room 21111. 11th floor and pet friendly. Simply beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Thank you for letting us know how much you appreciate all the amenities and our pet friendly policy. It's rewarding to know you were able to spend time with your family and that we played a part in helping you create those memorable vacation experiences. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing vacation getaway on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the award-winning Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the beautiful coastal resort of Myrtle Beach and across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort provides convenient access to area attractions, amusement parks, water parks, entertainment complexes such as Broadway at the Beach, shopping outlet malls, family-friendly restaurants, live entertainment venues and trendy nightlife. Guests of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort enjoy one of the most outstanding stretches of beach on the Grand Strand, as well as an abundance of onsite recreational amenities such as a large heated outdoor pool, lazy river, children’s water play area, lap pool, hot tub spa, recreation center, exercise facility and game room, as well as an onsite golf director who will be pleased to assist you with a golf vacation that meets your needs. The resort’s onsite restaurant, Seaside Café, serves breakfast and dinner daily. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and or grab a quick lunch with spectacular oceanfront views at Coconut Willy’s pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.