We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place On The Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Spartanburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Place On The Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was a truly enjoyable experience. The hotel is brand new (if you stay in the "Tower"). It was clean and very well decorated. The view is AMAZING! The price is great (in December). The bed is super comfortable. Everything is available to enjoy the stay. I am a picky traveler and I was quite pleased. Five stars!!!

Room Tip: Best, most comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that your stay was a "truly enjoyable experience". We are happy you found your room clean, very well decorated and your bed to be "super comfortable". We do have a great location in downtown Myrtle Beach. Once again, thank you for your review of our property and we can not wait to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    213
    123
    106
    120
See reviews for
356
258
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

When you build it, they will come. Oceanfront room is the best of the beach vacation. Even though we were in the old building, we still enjoyed our stay because it's oceanfront. Amenities and activities for adults were very limited, but the location is central to everything. There were plenty of things to do even in a November weather. I also liked the whirpool in our room. It's big and powerful - one of the best appliances I used before. More importantly is that we were able to bring our beloved dog with us on this vacation. I appreciate and appalud Westgate for welcoming dogs as part of the family. It is important to us and this is the reason we even loved our vacation at Westgate because we stayed together as a family. We will be back and when you build the new buildings - it will be even more excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront. While the building you stayed in was built in the late 80's, we completely brought it up to today's standards with luxury furnishings. Guest satisfaction is our top priority so we are pleased to read your kind words. We take pride in providing our owners and guests with everything they need to create memorable vacation experiences. We are looking forward to exceeding your expectations again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENNESAW
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

we are owners and come in every may. great resort on the grand strand close to everything and the new tower is fantastic. Only place that I like to stay at when I go to MB. The view is the best there is, love my sunrises and sunsets.

Room Tip: always ask for the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for describing Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort as the “great resort on the grand strand”. We are pleased that we continue to exceed your expectations after several visits! We love that you feel "the view is the best there is". We all thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We are owners from a different Westgate so we are used to getting the best in trades where ever we go. I was surprised when I was told that to trade into this Westgate location a unit in the new building (ocean front) was $500 extra per night for the trade – Later they lowered that to a straight $500 extra for the trade. I opted for the “ocean view” because I didn’t feel the extra fee was necessary. I even called ahead and was promised a great ocean view. Checking in we got a pre-assigned room and the concierge helped us with our luggage and showed us to our room. She was surprised that they placed us on that side of the building as she said that they usually only put the RCI transfers there. I got in the room and immediately went to look at my “Ocean View” – IT WAS THE PARKING LOT!! I told the concierge that this room was unacceptable. She stated that there wasn’t a manager there to authorize a move and she would see about moving us in the morning after our annual inventory (sales pitch) meeting. After the high pressure upgrade meeting, the concierge asked her manager about the room change and she handed us back to the site manager, Trevor (who happened to be the one who checked us in). He then informed us that we could move to the other side of the building with a better view but . . . there would be a $60 cleaning fee because we had stayed in the unit overnight.
Let’s recap – when we first saw the unit I said it was unacceptable then was told no one was there that could authorize the move – then the next day the same manager said we could move if we paid to clean the unit I said I didn’t want to begin with. Beware of broken promises and unnecessary fees.

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues you experienced and for any inconvenience they may have caused. Your review will be shared with management including the Front Desk and Reservations departments to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

When I first stepped in to the lobby Ms Gwendolyn Jenkins was there to greet me with a smile and a hello, she was so knowledgeable in the reservation process and had me on my way in a couple of minutes, she made sure we had directions and pointers about anything I could think of, I want to thank Ms Gwen for everything. The room was great, clean new fixtures and a view to the ocean. Overall I would have to give the staff and my room 5 out of 5 stars!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy that one of our Team Members made such an impact during your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in the resort for 2 nights in December. It was a spur of the moment trip. We booked the hotel over Hotwire the same day and were not disappointed. The room in the new tower was very nice. Had a separate living space and a bedroom.The staff was very friendly and all of our requests were addressed in a very timely manner. A pack’n’play for our year old son and extra towels were delivered promptly. We also had a bit of a problem with the loud neighbors at 10pm (the walls are not very thick!) and my husband called front desk. Everything was addressed in less then 15 minutes.
The location is great. It was close to the Boardwalk and we could enjoy the night lights and a new skywheel as well as the ocean.
It was a first trip to Myrtle Beach with our son and we enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for describing Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort staff as “very friendly and all of our requests were addressed in a very timely manner". We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and the "location is great"! We all thank you and look forward to welcoming you back so that we may exceed your expectations once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went the first week of December. It was great. We had a oven =front room and enjoyed the view,. The traffic was none existent. If you don't have children, this is a great time to go there. We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very pleased that this was a “great time” for you to be here. We work very hard to make sure that all of our guests are enjoying their stay, so we appreciate your kind words. We do have a variety of units ranging from traditional hotel rooms to four bedroom oceanfront condos with a variety of views. Thank you for choosing Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing vacation getaway on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the award-winning Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the beautiful coastal resort of Myrtle Beach and across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort provides convenient access to area attractions, amusement parks, water parks, entertainment complexes such as Broadway at the Beach, shopping outlet malls, family-friendly restaurants, live entertainment venues and trendy nightlife. Guests of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort enjoy one of the most outstanding stretches of beach on the Grand Strand, as well as an abundance of onsite recreational amenities such as a large heated outdoor pool, lazy river, children’s water play area, lap pool, hot tub spa, recreation center, exercise facility and game room, as well as an onsite golf director who will be pleased to assist you with a golf vacation that meets your needs. The resort’s onsite restaurant, Seaside Café, serves breakfast and dinner daily. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and or grab a quick lunch with spectacular oceanfront views at Coconut Willy’s pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;