We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our December vacation was excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Inman, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our December vacation was excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We just spent a week at M.B. Resort and enjoyed it very much. The weather, the view and the accommodations were very pleasant; the staff were friendly and eager to help with any problems we had. The housekeeping at this resort is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for describing Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort staff as the “friendly and eager to help”. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations! We love that you feel that after 5 vacations with us you feel that "housekeeping at this resort is excellent”. We all thank you and look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations oonce again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    217
    130
    110
    123
See reviews for
365
262
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Well I returned for a quick 4 day get away over Thanksgiving and I have to say it just keeps getting better! I love the new look of the lobby and all the other improvements being made. I loved it before and I'm am impressed to hear of all the new additions and renovations. I got to get a look at the new hotel units and WOW they are beautiful! I will be happy when the parking garage is completed but I understand that will not be anytime soon. But I do look forward to this coming summer and taking advantage of what I was told were plenty of new food and beverage outlets. The new pool bar and convienience store will be a nice addition. So glad I was able to get away and visit over Thanksgiving. Thanks for making feel important and sharing all the news. I want to thank the front desk staff and the General Manager Chris for being so helpful. Traveling with my sons can be a challenge and you folks really make it a pleasure. Anything we ask for these people go way out of their way to make us feel welcome and that anything is possible. Thank you, it really was my pleasure!

Room Tip: If you need anything just ask! They are awesome. Hotel rooms are great for a short stay and condos m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
It was our pleasure to serve you and thank you for such kind words. We too are very excited about all the new renovations and new additions to the resort. We can't wait to hear what you have to say about them when you return. We look forward to your return and exceeding your expectations again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our family booked this hotel for 2 nights during a 14 day road trip. On the first day of our trip, we had problems with our vehicle which put us a day behind. We called all the hotels we had booked along the way, (all which we had booked through travel zoo) Every hotel was happy to switch our reservations to the next night EXCEPT this one. We had prepaid and we could not believe they would not allow us to switch dates or help us out in any way despite the fact that it is low season and they are not busy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We certainly understand things can happen during a road trip. We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations by changing or refunding your non-refundable reservation. If you feel this was in error we would be more than happy to discuss the matter with you and encourage you to give us a call. While non-refundable reservations may apply for deep discounts or when third party reservations are paid in advance to internet booking agents, we are more than willing to be flexible whenever possible. Depending on the circumstances of which from your review I do not understand, we normally can work something out unless a deadline from the third party has expired and we not to recoup cost from the booking agent.
Please by all means give us a call as we will take this under consideration.
Again, we are sorry that we inconvenienced you in any way as it is our desire to provide you with a quality vacation experience and to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in the hotel portion of this resort. I would never call it a resort. The room was stuffed with so much furniture it felt claustrophobic. It had only two small lights in the whole room--a small wall mounted light by the entrance and two small lights mounted on the wall between the two beds. If you wanted to read, you had to read in bed. No lights by the small table with two chairs. The only redeeming feature to this room was the ocean front balcony. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly take your concerns seriously and apologize for the inconveniences that we may have caused.

Future plans will address these hotel room concerns. Work is underway in the hotel units and a new furniture upgrade which will include all new furniture, lighting, and 32" flat HD TV's, as well as upgrades in all of the bathrooms.

Furthermore, a new game room, ice cream parlor, pool bar, and food and beverage outlets should be completed this winter.We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future so we can show you that great service and quality we are known for. We look forward to you giving us this opportunity and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family stayed in the two room 8 person sleeper option for 6 full days. The rooms were spotless, the kitchen well appointed with equipment. Anything we needed the resort was quick to respond with. We went through a mountain of towels and housekeeping was always quick and pleasant to refresh them. The amenities were wonderful and our view of the beach from the room was truly amazing. I would stay here again in a moment!! If you are not a Westgate "owner" I would highly recommend you become one ! My family and I will be returning !

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are proud to offer you accommodations and service that had you feeling like you “would stay here again in a moment!!" Guest satisfaction is our top priority so we are pleased to read that “The rooms were spotless” and that "the kitchen well appointed". Thank you for your kind words in describing our staff with “Anything we needed the resort was quick to respond”. We are excited that your "family and I will be returning!" We are looking forward to exceeding your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. All the staff and especially Jamie Steigerwald, were tremendously helpful. The two bedroom suite in the north tower was beautiful, with an ocean view and terrace.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront resort. Thank you for recognizing our staff and especially our activities director, Jamie Steigerwald. Jamie works very hard to ensure that our owners and guests have a great activity plan to choose from during their stay and to have everyone involved and enjoying themselves as well. Thanksgiving is a great time to vacation in Myrtle Beach and it appears that you had a great time in one of our two bedroom ocean view condos in our ocean view tower. Thank you again for your recent review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort and we hope to exceed your expectations once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My vacation booked with Westgate resort was one of the best locations for ocean front view,i stay on the fifth floor.I found the service and villa room just lovely,from the moment i pulled into the parking area,staff met me and was nothing but service..service...wonderful staff, all luggage was handled to the room.Check in was without a moments wait! All the information about the resort was explained in great detail,The villa room i stayed in was very clean..and smelled a clean smell..also the supplies for the kitchen was well stocked as well for the bathing area.not one time did i have to ask for anything.also the location for the area was awesome.I found the resort to be right in the middle of everything walking distance to amusement parks,shopping,dinning.easy to go north or south to other options you may wish to visit..If i ever have a chance to go to myrtle beach again I want the same room at Westgate Resort cause the view was just wonderful of the ocean because its is a right on the beach resort! thanks for helping to make my vacation a wonderful memory i"ll never forget.!!

Room Tip: just tell them what you want...it's just that easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and clean updated rooms. We will share your comments with the staff as we are sure they will be very pleased to know that you said, "thanks for helping to make my vacation a wonderful memory ". It was our pleasure, and thank you for choosing Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort for your Myrtle Beach vacation. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing vacation getaway on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the award-winning Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the beautiful coastal resort of Myrtle Beach and across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort provides convenient access to area attractions, amusement parks, water parks, entertainment complexes such as Broadway at the Beach, shopping outlet malls, family-friendly restaurants, live entertainment venues and trendy nightlife. Guests of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort enjoy one of the most outstanding stretches of beach on the Grand Strand, as well as an abundance of onsite recreational amenities such as a large heated outdoor pool, lazy river, children’s water play area, lap pool, hot tub spa, recreation center, exercise facility and game room, as well as an onsite golf director who will be pleased to assist you with a golf vacation that meets your needs. The resort’s onsite restaurant, Seaside Café, serves breakfast and dinner daily. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and or grab a quick lunch with spectacular oceanfront views at Coconut Willy’s pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.