We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1290 Oleander Drive, Highway 17 Bypass & 29th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #104 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No go!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We travel A LOT and this is our #2 worst pic (the first being a Super 8 located in a questionable neighborhood of Imperial Beach CA). We chose the location because it was within walking distance to many restaurants allowing us to avoid traffic and the ability to enjoy wine or beer with dinner. We chose Holiday Inn Express based on our perception that as a reputable national chain, certain minimum standards would not only be met but exceeded. We quickly learned perception is often just that and reality is quite different.
To begin, the carpet in the rooms we occupied needs to be torn out. Bottom line. Then there was the tiny bathroom. In room #1 the toilet was stained brown all throughout the bowl, as though it had never been properly maintained. The shower was a disaster. It had obviously been painted or refinished as the most recent layer was peeling off which caused a very disgusting backup. After about an hour and 3 bottles of draino, the hotel decided the tub was a lost cause. We were moved to room #2 which occupied at least a half day.
Room #2 was just as disgusting. Again, with the dirty carpet and while the shower worked I still can't decide if I felt more unclean before or after the shower. The furniture is simply for show as the drawers were irreparably off tract. There was very little room to put anything, for example, even the hotel couldn't find a better location for the coffee maker than a small shelf above the closet. There were 1 maybe 2 open electrical outlets. No fridge, no microwave. The curtains would not close completely, leaving an unwelcome 6" gap. The crib we requested was likely recalled in 1972. Even upon delivery we were advised to watch out for one of the legs as it tended not to lock into place. The room was heated by a stand alone heating/cooling unit with the only temperature control options as "high/ low cool or high/low hot and high/low fan" causing the room to either be uncomfortably cold or hot...
Look, I could go on and on but I will end by saying that for $120-130/night the courtyard by Marriott at broadway is the way to go. Not here.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddjjbrock, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
TimMcAfee,
I am sorry to hear of the several issues you encountered during your stay at our property. We strive to live up to every guest's expectations of Holiday Inn Express standards. We apologize that we fell short in several areas in your eyes even after the room move. I have brought your concerns to the attention of our head maintenance engineer to be addressed immediately. Also, all of our furniture and accessories for rooms meet, and in most cases exceed, IHG standards. On a positive note, starting this week, all rooms will be standardized with a refridgerator and microwave. Again, I hope you will consider Holiday Inn for your future hotel stays.
Best Regards,
James H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    29
    19
    11
See reviews for
32
37
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingstree, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a last minute choice due to a mistake with my condo. The staff is friendly and the gift bag of goodies adds a nice touch. The room was clean but needs ti be updated. No fridge or microwave available, which I seen in other HIEs. It is located close to wonderful venues. Weatherstripping around and at the bottom of the doors would help buffer hall noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddjjbrock, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Monica,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a response on TripAdvisor for our hotel. We always love to hear when our staff can help a vacation rebound for the better! You will be glad to hear that we are currently in the process of addressing your concerns, as we are standardizing our location. It is also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at Broadway at the Beach as much as the locals do. Rest assured that I will bring up your specific concern with hallway noise to the maintenance staff. Again, thank you for your specific feedback, and we look forward to your future stays while in the Myrtle area.
Best Regards,
James H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel when I am in town for business.Typical HI-EXPRESS..Breakfast is average. Staff is friendly. Lots of stuff to do at BROADWAY AT THE BEACH. Hotel has had a refresh, but the carpet in my room needed a good cleaning. Won't keep me away, still a good stay for the buainess traveler!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Hpm88,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast and our staff.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from our housekeeping. we will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel was good. The people were friendly.
The soda machine was broke on first floor, had to go up to second floor to get soda.
When I got there the soda machine only took quarters, so had to go back to desk to get
change and then back up to second floor to get soda,
If you go the address is wrong and we had a hard time finding it. It is listed wrong on the reservations and on line. so check your address before you head out to the hotel.

Room Tip: Had first floor and must have had kids running the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddjjbrock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Emma S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Holiday Inn Express: Broadway at the Beach. We are sorry to hear of your issues with the vending areas. Our staff and vendors make every effort to keep these areas stocked at all times. I apologize that we fell short in your instance. Also, the physical address of the hotel has changed in recent years, but the 3100 Oleander Drive listed is currently up to date. Again, we appreciate your business and hope you will continue to frequent Holiday Inn Express.
Best regards,
James H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a great stop for business. i came to this hotel for one night all the staff were friendly and accomidating. the location is great too, the hotel dosent have a bar but there are so many close by. Lots of restraunts and shopping close by too. the hotel is spacious large. The bathroom felt a bit older but all the furnishings were new and modern. The free breakfast is great and internet service is fast. i will stay here again on business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddjjbrock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Dantaytr7,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your future stays while in Myrtle Beach. It is always fun to hear that you took in the lights of Broadway! You will be glad to know that we are in the process of refurbishing our guest bathrooms.
Best regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Florida USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The front desk staff is outstanding. Courteous and helpful. Even the maintenance staff asked me if they could help with anything. Friendly housekeepers. Room was comfortable and clean. The rate was reasonable. The breakfast was outstanding. Internet service was available with adequate computer stations. Good location for seeing the sites. I recommend this property and would gladly staff again.

Room Tip: I was in room 429, away from the elevator and vending so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddjjbrock, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
November 24, 2012

RichardM437,
Thank you for taking the time to leave the kind words and recommendations to other travellers on TripAdcisor's site. Our entire staff strives to provide the highest level of service, and is always pleased to hear compliments on the condition and ammenities the property has to offer guests. We look forward to your future stays with us on your family's return to Myrtle Beach and the Broadway area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the end of August on a special to tour their timeshare property. Overall the hotel was clean and the staff were nice. It was in a good location -- right across from Broadway at the Beach, which is a huge shopping/entertainment center. It was also close to the restaurant row. It was not far from the beach, just a short drive or taxi ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddjjbrock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
November 24, 2012

Thank you for the kind words and your recommendation to other travellers on TripAdvisor's site. Our staff is always pleased to hear compliments on the condition and convenience of the property. Our location is centrally located to several area attractions. We look forward to your family's return to Myrtle Beach and the Broadway area. Please let us know what we can do for you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ The Beach Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ The Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Holiday Inn
Address: 1290 Oleander Drive, Highway 17 Bypass & 29th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myrtle Beach - Voted Best Family Beach by Travel Magazine Broadway at the Beach Where Myrtle Beach Comes To Life The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Myrtle Beach, SC is located in the heart of Myrtle Beach adjacent to the most popular entertainment complex Broadway at the Beach. Known as South Carolina s Best Travel Destination, Broadway at the Beach is full of non-stop celebrations and invites you to experience 350 acres of shops, restaurants, nightlife and attractions. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located on the Myrtle Beach Grand Strand. We are very close to the crisp blue waters of the Atlantic Oceanside, Myrtle Beach Downtown, Barefoot Landing, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, shopping malls, outlet malls, championship golf courses and entertainment theatres all within five miles. We are conveniently located adjacent to Broadway at the Beach, Ripley's Aquarium, and Myrtle Waves Water Park. Each morning, enjoy our Signature Express Start hot breakfast, offering the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls and Smart Roast Coffee made from a special blend of 100% Arabica beans. Feast and enjoy scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.