We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1290 Oleander Drive, Highway 17 Bypass & 29th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #104 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location and rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the end of August on a special to tour their timeshare property. Overall the hotel was clean and the staff were nice. It was in a good location -- right across from Broadway at the Beach, which is a huge shopping/entertainment center. It was also close to the restaurant row. It was not far from the beach, just a short drive or taxi ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddjjbrock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
November 24, 2012

Thank you for the kind words and your recommendation to other travellers on TripAdvisor's site. Our staff is always pleased to hear compliments on the condition and convenience of the property. Our location is centrally located to several area attractions. We look forward to your family's return to Myrtle Beach and the Broadway area. Please let us know what we can do for you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    30
    19
    11
See reviews for
33
37
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport TN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Room was very nice and the staff was pleasant. This was my second stay here and found it to be very good. Only downside was there were a number of dogs there at the hotel and I wonder about the hygiene of such a situation. They seemed to be alloted to the first floor and I was on the second.

Room Tip: Try to get a king room away from dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddjjbrock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
November 24, 2012

Thank you for the kind words and your recommendation to other travellers on TripAdvisor. Our staff is always pleased to hear compliments on the condition and convenience of the property. We do allow pets on the 1st floor only, the rest of the hotel is off limits. We look forward to your future stays with us on your family's return to Myrtle Beach and the Broadway area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have been a regular at Holiday Inn Express hotels across, this specific Holiday Inn Express was a bit below the standards. Its got a good location (not near the beach) but near a popular destination - Broadway on the beach. Beach is a good distance away. This is near a Bi-Lo store but again not really walking distance but a well stocked supermarket within 3-4 mins driving distance.

We got a standard room, the room was ok, felt that the carpets were bit worn out and were not really clean as I am used to in other express properties. The hotel has a laundry but did not stock detergent as it was stated in the room sheet. In fact it was weird that the vending machines stocked fabric softener but not detergent. The receptionist curtly said they do not stock detergent but we had to buy it from the nearby grocery store. This facility was important to us as we were spending every day at the beach and needed to wash the beach wear before the next days reuse :)

Some small things that I am used to in other Hi Express hotels were missing, shampoo, soaps seems not like the other properties. Breakfast was standard but simple things like ketchup, jams were missing from the standard items seems that were saving costs by cutting out this stuff. When we came back early one day from the beach we found our door open, the room service maid had forgotten to lock back our room door after they had cleaned it up. We got a apology for that but we had some stuff kept in my room so was a bit unsettled on this incident.
We used the pool for a quick swim no problem there, did not use the fitness room seemed ok. Fro some reason they just got the newspaper one day next day it did not come and the last day we were there was labor day so i guess it was the off day for the newspaper. I kind of missed having the paper ... no major inconvenience. Internet worked without any issues.

Other than that no major issues but just got a feeling that this property seemed a bit under par with the general holiday inn express standards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYRSC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We appreciate your compliments on the location of the hotel and visits to the pool, and appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. We strive to maintain the highest of brand standards, and I am sorry that we fell short from your perspective. Our housekeepers work very hard to maintain company room standards, and all rooms are blocked for perpetual cleaning throughout the year. Safety and privacy are prime concerns of the hotel at all times. We have addressed this concern with the entire staff to be more conscientious in the future about keeping the doors to rooms shut at all times. Our front desk staff makes every attempt to keep the vending areas stocked at all times, and I appologize for the items lacking. Lastly, our paper service does not run on federal holidays/weekends. The staff and I thank you again for your concerns and hope to see you on your next trip to the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My party of four stayed in a 2 queen room and it felt a little dirty. It was a guys golf trip, so no big deal, but if I were going with my family, I'm not sure I would stay here. It's walking distance from broadway at the beach so that is the biggest positive about this place. Lots of restaurants and shops close by so you really don't have to drive once you check in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYRSC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, and are disappointed to hear that we dropped the ball concerning the level of cleanliness of your room upon check in. Our staff prides itself on upholdong high standards at all times. I have discussed your concerns with the housekeeping staff and we will do better. Please consider our hotel on your next family trip or golf outing to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly, the staff was generous, its is more than what I EXPECTED since i booked it 12 hours before the labor day weekend. My family and I have always used this website to see the reviews, this place is excellent, clean, quite and walking distance from BROADWAY, lots of great places to eat, entertain small and big. EXCELLENT PLACE RECOMENDED 100% Ready to book for my next vacation to Myrtle Beach, sc LUVED IT OH and it smelled good, no muggy smell and full breakfast

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYRSC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and your recommendation to other travellers on the site. Our staff is always pleased to hear compliments on the condition and convenience of the property. We look forward to your future stays with us on your family's return to Myrtle Beach and the Broadway area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We checked in here a little over a week ago and to make a long story short ended up checking out and into a new hotel that night. We tried 3 different rooms, all of which were in poor condition and all having a musty mildewy smell. Although the smell of the first was by far the worst (they attributed that to the carpet being recently cleaned), the other 2 rooms also smelled musty. The staff was very friendly and understanding, but could not make up for the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYRSC, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced while you were at our property. We appreciate your honest feedback on your recent stay. The issue has been addressed and we are taking appropriate measures to find the source of the odor you smelled and correct it. Please accept my sincerest apologies and we hope that you were able to enjoy the rest of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel alot of times and have never had a bad stay, the breakfast bar was good, the beds was soft, very peaceful.

Across the street there is plenty to do and eat.

The beach is only about a 5 to 10 min drive

will be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYRSC, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear firebear1961,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to visit us in the future.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Erin Dennis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ The Beach Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ The Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Holiday Inn
Address: 1290 Oleander Drive, Highway 17 Bypass & 29th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myrtle Beach - Voted Best Family Beach by Travel Magazine Broadway at the Beach Where Myrtle Beach Comes To Life The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Myrtle Beach, SC is located in the heart of Myrtle Beach adjacent to the most popular entertainment complex Broadway at the Beach. Known as South Carolina s Best Travel Destination, Broadway at the Beach is full of non-stop celebrations and invites you to experience 350 acres of shops, restaurants, nightlife and attractions. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located on the Myrtle Beach Grand Strand. We are very close to the crisp blue waters of the Atlantic Oceanside, Myrtle Beach Downtown, Barefoot Landing, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, shopping malls, outlet malls, championship golf courses and entertainment theatres all within five miles. We are conveniently located adjacent to Broadway at the Beach, Ripley's Aquarium, and Myrtle Waves Water Park. Each morning, enjoy our Signature Express Start hot breakfast, offering the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls and Smart Roast Coffee made from a special blend of 100% Arabica beans. Feast and enjoy scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Myrtle Beach-Broadway @ the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.