We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little place in MB.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gazebo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gazebo Inn to your Saves list
Gazebo Inn
1607 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Goose Creek, Sc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best little place in MB.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in Jan., but had to do a review for this place. Stayed here for a week. It's a very nice place. First off its not a luxury resort and you aren't paying luxury prices for it either. What you do get is a reasonable price for an oceanfront room. The place was very clean and you could tell they have been updating the place. The Wi-Fi was very decent. It's a quiet place. Julie at the desk was very friendly and courteous. She is the reason why I looked into the place, in the first place, in how she responded to some of the reviews they have gotten. They are trying to keep it family oriented and a quiet place. Some of the negative reviews they have received, I discounted, as I say you give someone courtesy and respect and you'll get it in return. If you don't want to follows rules, stay somewhere else, it'll be quieter when I stay. If you are hesitant about staying, ask them to check out a room before you register, they'll let you. All I can say is that we had a very nice stay and we'll probably be back next Jan.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review. We TRY VERY HARD to keep the motel a "family oriented" place that is quiet for our guests. As you said, some do not respect the rules and are asked and then told to leave. Some respond with a "bad" review. We look at these "bad" reviews as proof that our efforts are working. We look forward to your next visit.

PS yes, GazeboJulie is becoming a "star." Of course I taught her everything she knows.
david, her dad

PSS Actually her mother taught her everything. I am only the piano player.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    55
    14
    6
    22
See reviews for
85
66
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great Bang for the Buck!

If you are expecting the luxury of a La Samana or Caneel Bay try elsewhere. If you want a reasonably priced motel -- right on the beach -- this may just be your cup of tea.

By the way try an ocean front room on the 5th floor. There is little to compare with looking and hearing the surf 24/7 and the prices are ridiculously low (particularly the cash specials!)

We found the staff quite accomodating. I needed an extension cord for my cpap and called the front desk -- 5 minutes later an employee was at the door, cord in hand. Need extra towels? No problem the maids were there to the rescue. Want restaurant recommendations? The owners have a few jewels tucked away to cater to your gastronomic desires. Noise problems on the beach? A quick call to the front desk and the police are quickly on the scene.

Yes, there are a few issues which one might expect at any dated facility. There was a slight leak in the shower and the WIFI didn't always work quite perfectly, but the room was clean and the people bedecked with smiles.

If you don't want to break the bank while getting a legitimate beach experience right in the midst of Myrtle Beach then you could do far worse than booking a stay at the Gazebo Inn. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review. We try to offer a reasonable price for our rooms. Especially, as you mentioned the CASH SPECIALS. The building is built very well with much steel and concrete. This is great for hurricanes, etc. but it makes it hard at times for the WIFI to get to all rooms all of the time. WIFI is a "new" add on and was not even a thought went into planning for it when the building was built in the mid 70's. We were still using 8 tracks, had "party" line land phones, and had no remote for our TV. And when the president was on TV, he was on EVERY channel (all 10 or 12). How did we ever live through those "hard" times? lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

my son and I arrived in august for 4 days. we drove all night from wheeling wv. we were early for check-in and advised the Mgt. they could see we were tired and wanted to get into a room and hit the beach. even tho they didn't have to they expedited the room service and got us in quickly. Our room was clean and cool , anything we needed was promptly brought to us. its nice to know im going back this year. its also nice to have a "mom & pop" place that looks out for families, law enforcement, military and yes...even basement-savers. Thanks folks. great place and great mgt. Shaun

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review. We guarantee check in at 3 pm. However, if your room is ready (the head housekeeper calls the office immediately after she has inspected the room to inform us that the room is ready) , we will check you in. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I just wanted to take a minute and let you know how pleased i was with your motel. I read the reviews before booking with you for my vacation so i knew that you had gotten mostly good reviews. My best friend and i decided to have a girls week at the beach so we were looking for something affordable (not cheap) and we found it with The Gazebo Inn. I would definitly stay here again. And people please disregard the bad reviews on here ( although there aren't many) this is a clean well priced motel.

Room Tip: We decided to save money and take a side view room that turned out to be better than an oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review. Yes, we have had a few of "bad" reviews. However, if you read them closely, most of them were not considerate of other guests or themselves, sneaking in more people into their rooms than the fire marshal allows, etc. These are things that we will not tolerate at our "family" motel. When you have over 15,000 guests staying with you in one year,
some will be "bad" apples no matter how hard we try to keep them out. So having 5 to 8 "bad" reviews is a real good average we think. Especially when most of our guests leave very happy but choose not or do not think about writing a review. We thank you for taking the time to write your review. Yes we are affordable not "cheap." Do not stay at "cheap" motels or use "cheap" perfume. This is the lesson of the day lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My fiancee and I were lucky enough to get a few days off to take a trip together, but didn't have much money to work with. We spent less on this hotel than we have on any other, and were both much more impressed with this one than the more expensive ones.

The staff is great. We drove all night, and arrived a four hours before check-in. We didn't expect to get our room early at all, but thought we'd stop in to get our parking pass before we headed to the beach. To our surprise, the owner called housekeeping and our room was ready for us in less than an hour. Any time we saw the owners or housekeepers in the halls they would smile and speak with us. Our housekeeper on the fifth floor was especially friendly.

Everything was perfectly clean and in good order. The hotel is a little dated, as the other reviews have mentioned, but so are most of the hotels at Myrtle Beach. Our room appeared to have fresh paint on the ceiling and new wallpaper. For an older hotel, it is very well kept.

The only thing I would change is the hot tub. You could tell the water was perfectly clean, but it could use a fresh coat of paint, as the old paint causes the water to look a little green at first glance. Also I would have loved for it to be bigger. We met so many other friendly guests while we were down there, but there just wasn't enough room for everyone!

Overall we had a fantastic time and plan to stay there again in August or September. I would recommend this to anyone on a budget. The location is great, the staff is great, the price is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We try to give "more than the expected." Thank you for noticing. We are planning on redoing the hot tub next winter. Nothing is wrong with the hot tub, in fact Joe keeps it almost prefect all of the time. However, because the concrete has aged some from time and chemicals, it may have a slight "light brown " color. This is not the water but the reflection from the aging concrete. The water is prefect. We look forward to your next visits this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had the opportunity to do a xtended stay at the gazebo inn and I loved it the rooms have furnishings that make you feel right at home and are furnished down to the smallest detail including frig stove oven microwave coffe pot toaster plates cups silverware everythinhg you need nice pool hot tub and a scenery not soon to be forgotten and the rates can not be beat and the rooms and hotel are alaways clean.This is a family owned and operated hotel and I had the pleasure of meeting the family and they are the nicest and most accomidating family and business owners I ever met they will do whatever it takes to make your stay a pleasant experience wish I could visit again this year but have to wait till next year but will without a doubt stay at the Gazebo Inn.Craig Majesky Ohio

Room Tip: Any room oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review and we look forward to your stay with us next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My 4 year old daughter myself and a friend stayed from June 9th through 14th. It was clean right on the beach and the price was right. the staff was very friendly. My only dislike is the neighboring hotel. One side has a VERY upscale place but on the side we were on not so much. The activity at this other hotel was concerning to say the least. I mentioned my concerns to Julie and she did offer to move us to the other side. She also told me that she had filed several complaints on the other hotel. We did really enjoy our stay though, and when we return to Myrtle beach will stay again. Thanks Julie~!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review. You were here during "graduation week" and the motel rents to high school seniors which we do not. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gazebo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazebo Inn

Address: 1607 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#48 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, The Perkins family, took the motel back over in August, 2011. We began MAJOR room renovations Sept. 2011, which included electronic door locks, Serta mattresses, furniture, kitchen cabinets, appliances, carpet, curtains and bedspreads and Major DEEP CLEANING. The Gazebo Inn located directly on the ocean front, caters to families, couples, and golfers, offering the quaint "ma and pa" nostalgic beach house feel that Myrtle Beach was built on. We offer many different room types and prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Gazebo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazebo Hotel Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Inn Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazebo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.