We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gazebo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gazebo Inn to your Saves list
Gazebo Inn
1607 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than I expected for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My fiancee and I were lucky enough to get a few days off to take a trip together, but didn't have much money to work with. We spent less on this hotel than we have on any other, and were both much more impressed with this one than the more expensive ones.

The staff is great. We drove all night, and arrived a four hours before check-in. We didn't expect to get our room early at all, but thought we'd stop in to get our parking pass before we headed to the beach. To our surprise, the owner called housekeeping and our room was ready for us in less than an hour. Any time we saw the owners or housekeepers in the halls they would smile and speak with us. Our housekeeper on the fifth floor was especially friendly.

Everything was perfectly clean and in good order. The hotel is a little dated, as the other reviews have mentioned, but so are most of the hotels at Myrtle Beach. Our room appeared to have fresh paint on the ceiling and new wallpaper. For an older hotel, it is very well kept.

The only thing I would change is the hot tub. You could tell the water was perfectly clean, but it could use a fresh coat of paint, as the old paint causes the water to look a little green at first glance. Also I would have loved for it to be bigger. We met so many other friendly guests while we were down there, but there just wasn't enough room for everyone!

Overall we had a fantastic time and plan to stay there again in August or September. I would recommend this to anyone on a budget. The location is great, the staff is great, the price is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We try to give "more than the expected." Thank you for noticing. We are planning on redoing the hot tub next winter. Nothing is wrong with the hot tub, in fact Joe keeps it almost prefect all of the time. However, because the concrete has aged some from time and chemicals, it may have a slight "light brown " color. This is not the water but the reflection from the aging concrete. The water is prefect. We look forward to your next visits this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    55
    14
    6
    22
See reviews for
85
66
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had the opportunity to do a xtended stay at the gazebo inn and I loved it the rooms have furnishings that make you feel right at home and are furnished down to the smallest detail including frig stove oven microwave coffe pot toaster plates cups silverware everythinhg you need nice pool hot tub and a scenery not soon to be forgotten and the rates can not be beat and the rooms and hotel are alaways clean.This is a family owned and operated hotel and I had the pleasure of meeting the family and they are the nicest and most accomidating family and business owners I ever met they will do whatever it takes to make your stay a pleasant experience wish I could visit again this year but have to wait till next year but will without a doubt stay at the Gazebo Inn.Craig Majesky Ohio

Room Tip: Any room oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review and we look forward to your stay with us next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My 4 year old daughter myself and a friend stayed from June 9th through 14th. It was clean right on the beach and the price was right. the staff was very friendly. My only dislike is the neighboring hotel. One side has a VERY upscale place but on the side we were on not so much. The activity at this other hotel was concerning to say the least. I mentioned my concerns to Julie and she did offer to move us to the other side. She also told me that she had filed several complaints on the other hotel. We did really enjoy our stay though, and when we return to Myrtle beach will stay again. Thanks Julie~!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review. You were here during "graduation week" and the motel rents to high school seniors which we do not. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stay here at least twice a year. We love that the place is clean, the staff is courteous, and the owners care about their guests. Very nice place to get away an relax. One of my favorite places to stay. <3 10stars **********

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review. We are a family owned and we thank you for your repeat visits.
We look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazard, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family and I stayed from June 16-21, 2013 and let me just say it was WONDERFUL! This place is SUPER CLEAN! Our room was cleaned daily, fresh towels & linen, and those housekeepers worked very hard. When we would come back to our room it smelled so fresh and clean. The beds were clean and comfy, so were the pillows! The carpet was cleaned daily. We had a kitchenette in our room and everything worked properly and had all one needs in the kitchen. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and very helpful! They were answering questions before you could ever ask them and I really like that! I asked for an extra pillow and it was provided with no problems. Our room was a side-view and it was perfect! The walking distance to the ocean was incredible and easily accessible. The pool area was clean, the jacuzzi was too! Every morning you would see the staff working and cleaning, getting things prepped for the guests. One man was so friendly and considerate to our family, as we were venturing out to the beach. I love the fact that this place is family owned and operated and that they made my family feel welcomed! Also the parking areas were kept clean. When arriving that is important or to me it is, just seemed so neat and tidy! The other guests that were staying there were friendly and family oriented. We had a blast and would highly recommend this place to anyone and we would consider staying again when we venture back to Myrtle Beach. They have great rates too and that is always important when traveling! Thanks Gazebo Inn Staff for the wonderful service while my and family and I stayed with you for 5 days!

Room Tip: Any oceanfront rooms and side-views for the 4th floor were incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review. We are glad that we were able to provide your family with a nice vacation. Come back real soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 1111. This is a first floor,oceanfront efficiency. It has a back door that opens right in front of the pool. We absolutely loved it. The staff was very nice and helpful. If you're looking for luxury, with all the frills this isn't it. If you're looking for an affordable, clean oceanfront hotel with a pool and a jacuzzi this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We thank you for your review and glad you had a pleasant stay. Room 1111 is a great room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We made our reservations three weeks in advance, when we got there they said we had to give a kitchen deposit witch they did not tell us about on the phone. We paid that they gave us our room keys we were coming back into the hotel and they started saying we were liars we had too many people. Said we could not stay there and did not give our deposit back... Called the Myrtle Beach Police they said they get complaints from this hotel everyday. In the mean time they had someone in the office saying there key wasn't working they said we locked you out because your room smells like smoke... they told them they were smoking outside like they were suppose too. Don't know what happened with them. Stay at the Super 8 2711 south ocean blvd very nice people. Ocean Side. Our room was huge with a kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
When you booked your reservation, you made it for three adults and one child under the age of thirteen. When you came to check-in you had two cars, four adults and three children. Fire codes do not allow seven people in a room with two beds, and due to limited parking space we only offer one parking space per room (as noted on the confirmation that you received three weeks ago when you booked).

Nobody here called you a liar, we simply asked how many people would be staying in the room with you since there were several more people standing in front of us then you registered for. You kept insisting that everyone was not staying here, however they would be visiting and that you still needed two parking passes. We again explained why we could not issue two passes, and that if in fact the other members of your party needed lodging that we could rent you a second room which would solve both the lodging and parking issues. At this point you and another women with you became VERY irate. You both starting using very foul language while other families were standing at the desk trying to check-in. I told you both that you needed to leave the office. One of you swung the door so hard you almost knocked a lady over that was holding a small child. I escorted you out of the office and told you that your reservation was going to be canceled and that you needed to leave the property. You choose to call the police. When the officer arrived he not only spoke to you, he spoke to the other two families that were in the office that were trying to check-in when you were. Both families expressed relief that you and your group were asked to leave as they had reserved here because of our strict age policies and family friendly atmosphere. The officer informed you that you had been asked to leave and that you needed to so. He never said that they have to come here all the time. In fact he said that he couldn't remember the last time that he had. The reason for that is that we do not tolerate guests being disrespectful to the property and other guests the way that you and your group were.

In the future I would suggest that if you expect to be treated with respect, you handle yourself in a more respectable manner. Best of luck to you.

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gazebo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazebo Inn

Address: 1607 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#48 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, The Perkins family, took the motel back over in August, 2011. We began MAJOR room renovations Sept. 2011, which included electronic door locks, Serta mattresses, furniture, kitchen cabinets, appliances, carpet, curtains and bedspreads and Major DEEP CLEANING. The Gazebo Inn located directly on the ocean front, caters to families, couples, and golfers, offering the quaint "ma and pa" nostalgic beach house feel that Myrtle Beach was built on. We offer many different room types and prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Gazebo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazebo Hotel Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Inn Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazebo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.