We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gazebo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gazebo Inn to your Saves list
Gazebo Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1607 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
4th of July Specials
Ranked #36 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked the room the beginning of February. I had booked the hotel for 2 adults & 2 children. Because two of my cousins came in the office with my bags they wouldnt rent to me or refund my money. The lady told me the money had to go back on my card. But they didnt need the card for me to reserve the room. So why should i have to wait 7 days or more for my refund to go back to my card. After i informed her that i was goin to leave a review then she wouldnt refund the money at all.....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
I have been expecting this review, and I have to say that based on your actions at the front desk I am not at all surprised by the lack of truth in it. You know very well that you and your husband got caught trying to register a room in your name when in fact the two occupants were going to be two girls well under the age of 21. This was very obvious for a couple of reasons:

1. You and your husband drove into the parking lot in a Mercedes, however when I asked your husband for the tag number for your parking permit he gave me the tag number of the Nissan that the two young ladies were driving.

2. The two young ladies then proceeded to unload THEIR luggage out of the Nissan and waited for you on the bench outside of the office. When asked by the owner if they were going to be staying here, they replied YES. Your husband did NOT unload anything out of the Mercedes.

3. The girls were on their cell phones talking about where they were staying and very excited about being at the beach for spring break.

At this time we ONCE AGAIN informed you of our age policy and reminded you that we rent to families and couples 21 and older only and that singles must be 25 years of age or older to stay with us. You were once again asked if these young ladies were going to be staying with you since you had registered for two adults and two children under 13. If they WERE going to be staying with you, you needed to register for 4 adults. If you were not staying, then we would be happy to refund the $90.27 advance deposit that you paid on your credit card so that they could find a hotel that rented to singles.

At this point you became VERY hostile and said that they were not staying here even though they had just told the owner that they were. Your response to this was “They are teenagers! They do not understand the question”! Perhaps if such a simple question is so difficult for them to understand, my guess is that they should not be driving. The young ladies also became vey nasty. All of your actions forced us to inform you that we were going to cancel your reservation and issue a refund for the advance deposit that you paid to the credit card that you charged it on. You INSISTED that I refund CASH. I explained to you several times that the refund had to be issued to the card, but you REFUSED to give me that card so that I could issue the refund and continued to DEMAND cash. After several minutes of this you were asked to leave the property.

The bottom line here is that your dishonesty was the reason why your reservation was canceled and your refusal to accept a full refund for your advanced deposit on the credit card that it was charged to when you booked is the reason why the refund was not given.

Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    67
    14
    6
    25
See reviews for
100
82
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Let me start by stating that as a City Planner/Architect who build cities for a living, that I understand what constitutes a "great view." If you look on Google Earth at the location of the over 100 hotels along the Grand Strand in relation to the Atlantic Ocean, you will clearly see how closely the Gazebo Inn is to ocean/beach in comparison to the overwhelming majority of the other hotels. Why is this? Because this hotel was constructed prior to the implementation of Zoning Codes that have since forced other hotels to be set back further from the ocean/beach. What does this mean for you? Simply put, unbeatable views and direct beach access at great prices in a family-operated hotel.

The Gazebo Inn will be my winter destination for years to come whenever I feel the need to escape the the harsh winters of the upper midwest. The prices cannot be beat, the view of the ocean from the rooms on the rear of the building are as good as you will find anywhere in Myrtle Beach, and the family that owns and operates this hotel are friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear have a full ocean view. The owners were nice enough to let me preview several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, General Manager at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. You input truly mean alot to us especially comming from someone with your professional background. It is nice to hear that you will continue to make The Gazebo Inn your winter home. Any time you feel the need to escape from old man winter. We have enjoyed having you as our guest and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards Julie ad staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a side room & could see the ocean fine small but fine. The staff was very nice & I have known them for years. Very nice place. Very Clean. friendly Had ironing board which came in handy. I will stay there this summer also. Diane Yoak Parkersburg, Wv.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Gazebo Inn. We value any input good or and try to continue to ake everyones stay with us as relaxing as possible, We hope to see you again on your next trip to Myrtle Beach. Best Regards Julie and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our stay was relaxing and peaceful. The room was ok, nothing fancy, but clean and tidy. The parking area was not very tidy. We loved the view and being able to walk to the beach from our pool. The pool was clean and the staff did not enforce the closing time. The hottub was awesome when it was open. For a few hours it was closed because some kids knocked down the hand rail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to writing a nice review and letting us know where are lacking, so we can try and rectify the situation. Again this winter we have been able to make some additional improvements on the room and building. We will look forward to seeing again and care of your vacation need Thank you again. Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, the rooms are quite sparse but very clean. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxing.The staff were really extremely friendly and always smiling even when they were super tired. The family atmosphere of the hotel gave it an excellent touch of friendliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Gazebo Inn. We are a family run motel and pride ourselves on keeping the room in a clean and relaxing atmosphere. We hope to see you again this year as we love to see repeat customers. Thank You again. Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Although the Gazebo Inn isn't a beautiful resort like some are use to staying at while visiting Myrtle Beach, it is a great place to stay for those on a budget! The oceanfront rooms are just that, and while the decor isn't fancy, it's adequate. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean. They also do maintain the pool and hot tub well. I would definitely recommend giving the Gazebo a try!

Room Tip: I definitely recommend going "whole hog" and getting an oceanfront room! The view is outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank You for writing a nice review, we are a small budget conscience family run motel, very clean, that will allow for a vactioner to spend more of their money on entertainment, or just to relax on the beach, without spending their whole vacation fund on a motel Thank You Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moores Pocket
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Another good value for money motel. Right in the heart of Myrtle Beach but without the high price. We had a balcony room overlooking the beach with free parking.
Not a modern hotel, but quite adequate for an overight stay. Would stay again if we did return to this area.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms a well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
The Gazebo Inn is a small very clean place to stay weather you are staying one night or longer, with very clean rooms and great views of the ocean both from the front and from the side of the motel all rooms have private balconies, we love to see repeat guest and the prices are affordable. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gazebo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazebo Inn

Address: 1607 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gazebo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, The "MA" Perkins family, have owned and operated motels in Myrtle Beach since 1972(three generations). We have always offered families a clean, functional room at very affordable rates with a quite and safe FAMILY environment. The Gazebo Inn is 5 stories high and located directly on the ocean front. We cater to families, couples, and golfers. We are NOT a 25 story resort where parking is located several blocks away. We have FREE on site parking. We are one of only a few motels left that still offer the quaint "MA and PA" nostalgic, personal, beach house feel that Myrtle Beach was built on. Call us today to make a reservation and become part of our repeat happy "family" that has been staying with us for years. Yes, there are still a few families who have been staying with us since 1972. We offer many different room types and prices to fit most budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Gazebo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazebo Hotel Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Inn Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazebo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.