We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place to stay!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gazebo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gazebo Inn to your Saves list
Gazebo Inn
1607 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
St. Patricks Day Special
Ranked #37 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington, NC
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a nice place to stay!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This the kind of place to Myrtle Beach was founded on, small Mom n Pop places with a true cozy feel. The Gazebo Inn is making a remarkable comeback now that the original owners have stepped back in. The whole hotel is undergoing lots of upgrades. And yes, cosmetic changes do go a long way. We just stayed there over the New Year's holiday and will definitely be going back. Our room was clean, freshly painted, and smelled fresh. My white socks stayed white even while walking around on the carpet in the room all weekend! My family and I have stayed here in the past and again when the last crew took over. We saw lots of changes and just pure neglect when the past "owner" was running things. Now things are turning around for the better. We love the homey feel and the great service that we got at the Gazebo Inn. Julie and her family are doing a wonderful job restoring this tiny hotel to the great getaway it once was!! Good luck guys! You can expect us back in a few months.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms have the best view (of course), but the North side has a nicer hotel to look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of our motel. We are trying to continue the cozy, clean, personalized service that started the Myrtle Beach motel business. We are one of the few "mom and pop" motels left in myrtle beach. We are working very hard to restore the Gazebo back to its "glory" days. Thank you for noticing all of the improvements we are making. Thank you for wishing us "good luck" with our restorations. Great guests like you inspire us to work even harder to improve the motel. Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    56
    14
    6
    22
See reviews for
85
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I were spending Christmas weekend at the Gazebo Inn and we were greeted by such a nice lady, Julie. Our room was furnished with a frig, stove,microwave and all the other nice things to make our stay fun. The inn is a very clean place to stay. We have checked out others that we didn't want to stay in so to make a long story short this will be our choice when we come back to Myrtle Beach. I went looking for a hot cup of coffee and guess what? Julie made a fresh pot while I waited. Who else would do that? Thank you for a nice stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are trying very hard to "win" back our old customers and new ones like you as well since we took the motel back in Sept 2011. Julia is a very friendly person and she makes sure that the rooms and the motel in general, is kept clean. Again, thank you for your honest review and we look forward to your return visit. David and Jane (parents of Julie) lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, West Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I can not say enough about the wonderful staff at this Hotel. From the front desk to the cleaning and maintenance staff they bend over backwards to please their guests. Thank you for another great time at the beach. Good job you are doing on fixing it up. Very clean, Look great inside and outside, right on the beach and the price is very reasonable. We will be back again. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are working very hard on fixing up the motel and most of the work should be completed by Spring of 2012. We also have great office staff and a maid that does super cleaning. We look forward to your next visit. David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

My husband and I booked a room at Gazebo Inn for our honeymoon July 10-13, and we really weren't sure what to expect after reading reviews. However, we were on a limited budget and decided to give it a try. Overall, we were very pleased! The room was very 'homey'. The housekeeping service was spectacular! Our room was immaculate after housekeeping came in. We were on the top floor, ocean side, and had a wonderful view that I don't feel like most high-rise hotels would beat. The pool was very clean. The hotel is right on the beach. The elevator did have a musty smell at times, but we expected that in an ocean-front hotel. Some of the parking isn't ideal (the garage) but it isn't a deal-breaker by any means. We did have one night that we had to deal with noisy neighbors, but in all honesty, where are you going to go in MB and NOT have that?! Like I said, for the most part we were extremely pleased and we will be staying here again. The only thing we would like to have seen is access to some type of business center- fax, etc.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a great view, even ocean-side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank You for your review. We just took over the motel shortly before your stay. Most of the negative reviews were BEFORE we took over. However, as you saw, we are improving the motel everyday and it will be the clean, friendly motel as it was when we previously owned it. During the summer, there may be a musty smell in the elevator which comes from people (mainly kids) getting on the elevator all wet from just exiting the pool. We mop the elevator 4 to 5 times a day but it is part of the "summer " thing. We have fax services available in our office. Just ask us next time. We look forward to your next visit soon. David and Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We have stayed twice at this smaller hotel. I put in a search for family hotels and this and the Blockade Runner at Cherry Grove came up. I like the idea of helping out a smaller business and like learning the people who run it. Plus this hotel has large rooms, not fancy but clean and the bed in 1515 was huge and comfortable to 2 people who desperately needed some rest without the all the bother of having to drag our belongings across the street. (Which I hate!!!!!)
The sweet young woman who was cleaning the rooms was nice to talk to and seemed very happy with her job, which leads me to believe that this family takes good care of their employees. I work 2 jobs in the customer service area and I know how hard her job is....
Not a lot of flash and glitz, but simple, clean, and comfortable and great rates!!!!!!!
The family had to take the hotel back over after the people they sold it to had to default so their lives have changed and they are having to readjust and make changes in the hotel too...
So thanks again Ms Jean, and everyone give this hotel a chance!!!! ( Just treat it with the care that the family gives so all of us can be lucky to enjoy it for years to come)

Room Tip: The room we were in was 1515. Large, bright , no curtains, but nice blinds so if you need to get up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Owner at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. We ARE ONE of the FEW "mom and pop" motels left in myrtle beach. Yes, a small business appreciates and needs support from guests like you. We try to treat our employees and guests like we would like to be treated. We had to take back the motel (officially sept. 2011) from the previous owners who had let the motel a little run down. However, we are fixing, painting, cleaning, reparing, etc and getting it back good as new. We are glad that you gave us a chance to prove ourselves. We hope you, along with others will enjoy and appreciate the motel for years to come,
PS: We are going to put curtains in room 1515 next spring and take out the blinds so you can sleep late if you want too. See you soon on your next visit. Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millerton, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at the gazebo inn for the second time this past august. The people were nice and helpful but this hotel now leaves alot to be desired. We were informed when making our reservations that there had been several upgrades and renovations.We were originally put in the same room we had the first time we stayed and it had the same problems.The room we were moved to smelled like beer and had cockroaches. Never again,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieAndDavid2, Front Office Manager at Gazebo Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
We are sorry that you did not have a restful stay with us. I truly wish that you had let us know about these issues while you were here so that we could have addressed them for you at that time. We are renovating the hotel but with the summer buisness we were unable to get everything done that we wanted to do. The property is clean and well maintained, however we realize that we cannot catch everything. It was impossible to do everything in the middle of the season. Now with the off season here we are going into all of the rooms and giving each and every room Jane"s personal touch. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisville, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I had an ocean front with a microwave and a mini fridge. I was very happy with my room and foudn it to be clean and everyone was helpful. Close to the beach so I didn't have to far to walk. I told the lady when I checked out that this will be our destination for years to come. The only downfall was problems with the icemaker in front of my room, everytime I went except twice it was out. Not their fault, from the sound of it they were left with a mess to fix and they are doing a great job. If you are a hotel hog then this is not for you, if you are happy with knowing that hundreds of people are in this room a year then they are great. Great value. I give it a 10 on everything. Those negative reviews are by people that just aren't satisfied with everything.

Room Tip: The fridges are small so if you bring food don't bring a lot of fridge stuff or make it like can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gazebo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazebo Inn

Address: 1607 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, The Perkins family, took the motel back over in August, 2011. We began MAJOR room renovations Sept. 2011, which included electronic door locks, Serta mattresses, furniture, kitchen cabinets, appliances, carpet, curtains and bedspreads and Major DEEP CLEANING. The Gazebo Inn located directly on the ocean front, caters to families, couples, and golfers, offering the quaint "ma and pa" nostalgic beach house feel that Myrtle Beach was built on. We offer many different room types and prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Gazebo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazebo Hotel Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Inn Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gazebo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.