We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow what a vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Back to School Special
Ranked #10 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Saratoga Springs, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wow what a vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

From the moment we arrived at the resort to the moment we left the resort we were overwhelmed by its beauty and comfort. You wake up in the morning and drink your coffee on the balcony facing the ocean. During the day you can spend your time on the ocean, outdoor heated pool or indoor waterpark. In the evening the seagulls will hover over the balcony (only if your kids insist on feeding them) and you can get very close up pictures of them in flight.
The staff was amazingly friendly and willing to assist with every need. Their knowledge of the area and things for families to do was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,095
    757
    257
    131
    91
See reviews for
2251
433
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Ok last year we visited some family members who stayed at the Dunes and thought what a lovely place, a nice 3BR condo that looked great and a wonderful pool/water park area. NOT!!! So just for a lil get away we decide to ride down this weekend and stay at the Dunes, thank GOD we only stayed one night because 2 or more and I would have showed out in that crazy place. #1 Its the dumbest thing to put parking across the street, and you have to remember the damn parking card thing, which is a hassle. #2 Valet Parking is a total JOKE and when complained about all they say is oh well we have 495 guests and ONE, yes ONE attendant per TOWER!! #3 The waterpark half way works. Slides are ice cold which are not kid friendly, they don't bother to let you know until you've taken a toddler allllll the way up a sprial staircase that they are too short!! #4Good luck with the 3pm check in, they will BS you and say its not ready and then give you attitude when you request a late check out . We stayed here because its not all that warm out yet and we thought our toddler would enjoy this place. We should have stuck with the Grand Atlantic like we always do! If the non-english speaking maids wouldn't worry so much about dumb towel swans and ruffle tissue paper and crap maybe they could remember things like COFFEE and more than 1 large towel!!! The room was teeny tiny and lets be real, why have a jacuzzi if only 1 person can comfortably fit in it???? Our toddler enjoyed it more than we did! There was a dining table in there but the space was so tiny the 4 chars couldnt go with it, only 2 could, and the other two were along the wall. The garbage disposal didn't work and the dryer only half way dried. The one GOOD thing I can say is the bed was awesome, I laid down and slept the whole night thru, its was soft and comfy. (but after reading other reviews I hope there weren't any bed bugs or fleas, YUCK!) Also I did not specify smoking or non, but I thought all motels now were non-smoking, but nope not the Dookie Dunes, nothing like walking out on the balcony and getting a lung full of cancer for yourself or your toddler!! dis-gust-ing!!! This place was utterly awful and is one of the priciest places at Myrtle, and also its not near anything!! You have to drive a lil ways to get to any shops or restaurants. its a joke do not waste your money here, do your research and find a better place. They are rude here and do not deserve your $$!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Great place for a family outing. Indoor water park and the beach. Loved the ocean front room. Heated pool and lazy river outside. The Dunes Resort had everything we needed. I would recommend this resort to anyone with children, or a romantic get-a-way for two.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, SC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

My family was there for a long weekend. I have 3 children. 17 year old boy, 14 year old girl and a 7 year old girl. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, angled condo. Our room was gorgeous. The views were spectacular and it was very clean.

Because of the different ages of my children, finding a resort that meets all of our needs can be challenging. Dunes definitely fit the bill. There was plenty for all of us, even on the one rainy day.

We had the breakfast buffet in the Admirals restaurant and it was one of the best I've ever had. Perfectly prepared and plenty of everything. The staff in the restaurant were outstanding.

We didn't want to go home and now we are trying to figure out when we can go back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville,ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We just returned from a great week in Myrtle Beach. We selected the Dunes village because of the reviews it received on this site, and it didn't disappoint! Amenities were clean, kid friendly and accessible. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were helpful, polite and friendly. We will be returning again next year!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We decided to follow our daughter college team to Myrtle Beach but not stay with them. The Dunes Village resort was like a dream come true for us. The facility is new and clean. We got an Ocean front king. The room was super. We could watch the ocean from the bed. The kitchenette was clean and new. Nice to have coffee and drinks without going out. The bathroom was cleam a spacious. Haing a seperate vanity outside of the bathroom made the morning routine much easier as we both had room. The baclony was nice, really liked having a couple of chairs out there. The parking was the best, easy, well lighted and secure. We didn't use the waterparks but they looked very nice. While there were a lot of people it was quiet. The Staff really helped us with everything. The rounded up tickets and proply sent maintanence when the hotwater was slow in coming. Over all this was likely the best week we've had in years. We visited some of the other resorts while we were there and this was far better than most. Also a quiet and safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Great rooms with kitchens, waterpark, nice staff - all right on the beach a few miles away from the Myrtle Beach "strip."

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.