We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and affordable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$79 Spring Special
Ranked #10 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
oh
1 review
“Excellent and affordable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

The oceanfront queen hotel room had a gorgeous ocean view, plenty of sleeping space, (2 double beds in the bedroom, a pull out sofa, and a Murphy's bed that pulled out from the wall!!!- at least eight people could have slept comfortably!!!) and a full kitchen including a dishwasher! There was also a washer and dryer in the bedroom which was so much more useful than I thought it would be...we were able to wash our beach towels and swimsuits. The hotel was incredibly clean, the staff was so welcoming and helpful, and the indoor water park, pools, hot tubs and lazy river made the stay incredible. Best of all, this hotel was so affordable, especially splitting the cost three ways like we did! I will always go back to Dunes Village.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,464
    880
    304
    149
    105
See reviews for
2,585
496
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

The outdoor lazy river was being repaired at the beginning of the week but done in time for us to drift around a couple of times our last day. The breakfast buffet is extremely reasonable ($9/adult) with a large selection of items. The indoor water attractions are fun, especially the new speed slide! The kitchenette was well stocked with the basic items for the stay. We plan on returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Rented a 4 bedroom condo in the resort. We all loved it. There were plenty of activities inside the resort for the children... we traveled with 6 children, ranging in ages from 1 year - 10 years. There were a ton of pools and hot tubs. The kids loved the indoor water park. The food at the restaurant was awesome. Parking was free and easy to find a space in the garage right across the street. The resort is right on the beach, so no crossing in streets. All in all, a great stay at a great place.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton. Tn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We have stayed several times at this resort and we always have a wonderful time. We are always very pleased with the price we pay because we wait for the special deals that are offered . The rooms are always very clean and the staff are very courteous. It is a wonderful place for our grandchildren also. We don't go to any other place in Myrtle Beach since we found Dunes Village Resort and we tell all of our friends about this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We got a great deal on a deluxe 2-bedroom oceanfront (huge!) room by calling at the last minute. The room was beautiful. The master bedroom had it's own private balcony and bathroom. The second bedroom also had its own bath. The only drawback was that there was not a half bath in the unit - you had to go through a bedroom to get to a bathroom. There was a coffee maker in the kitchen - but no coffee, and a washer/dryer but no soap. The gift shop sold both individual packets and larger containers. A starter pack would have been appreciated. Our ocean view was fabulous with both a straight on and coastal side view.

The indoor water park(s) are in two different buildings and have a wide variety of activities and slides for all ages. There were great floats on the lazy river for toddlers along with tubes for older kids. The area is inside, but open to the outside for nice airflow.

The resort has reasonably priced valet parking. Other parking was in a deck across the street. We did not eat in the restaurants, but they looked small for the size of the resort.

Definitely call the resort of definitive rates and availability. We got a much better deal that way.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinton,virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds are excellent.Most comfortable hotel bed I have ever had.This was a last minute trip.Booked hotel based on Trip Advisor. Couldn't have had a better time. Started out on bottom floor, would not recomend it. Ask to be moved and was moved the next day to higher floor. I have and will continue to recomend hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Great value for your money! We stay at Myrtle Beach several times each summer season, and this is the best hotel we have stayed in so far. We went with an 8-year-old child. The best thing about hotel for kids is that they have not 1, but 2!!! indoor water parks. Slides and all. My child was thrilled and you don't have to pay extra for it!!! The hotel has 2 huge buildings, and there is a closed in water park in each. So even if it rains outside, kids are occupied. The hotel is well-kept and our room had a fully stocked kitchen. We saved a lot of money doing our own breakfasts and lunches. My advice is to ask for a room at least on the 4-5th floor. We stayed on the second floor and it is still too close to the ground to get the best view of the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.