We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Sparta, Tennessee
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Loved our stay here. First time at this particular hotel, was not disappointed, no complaints. We will definitely return. Nice clean room, good breakfast, beautiful beach, quiet nights, nice staff, couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on an upper level, much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Owner at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate your kind words, and we are glad to hear that you will be coming back to see us! Hope it is soon! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,307
    824
    277
    141
    99
See reviews for
2,431
472
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel/resort is described as having two indoor water parks. They do have them but they only entertain young children. The price of the room far exceeded the quality of the room. The staff was nice and the room was somewhat clean. Choose wisely is my ranking here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate your feedback. I am not sure how old your kids are, but we have been told that children of all ages, from 1-100 enjoy what we have to offer. Iam sorry you did not find our water parks to be to your liking. We have pool tables, ping pong, shuffleboard, and many other diversions throughout the resort. I hope your kids found something to occupy their time.

I hope you will consider us again for a future vacation. Thanks again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Our room was ready a little early for us and it was just what we asked for. Terrific view! My kids (ages 7 and 10) loved the pools and waterparks. We broke a glass in our room and it shattered everywhere. When I called housekeeping, they were there within 5 minutes. The front desk called about 10 minutes later to follow up. Great staff, lots of fun kid activities! Will definitely come here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had such a great time. It makes us happy to hear that we took excellent care of you in unexpected circumstances. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks, again, for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place is a great place the take the kids. Plenty of choices for pools and slides keeps them busy instead of getting bored. Direct access to the beach and the ocean for fun times. The beach is clean but beware of the waves they can get pretty big during high tide. My only negative thing would be the upkeep of the room. Little things need to be fixed like towel hangers etc. Also we tried to run our dishwasher and it flooded the floor. I'm not sure how often they really clean their air conditioners because my allergies were absolutely horrible when I was in the hotel. It could be the a/c or the floors because they felt damp to me at times. When I went outside for a bit I would start to clear up so I know it was being in the room that flared my allergies. Otherwise a very laid back atmosphere with lots of things to do around town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
When the kids are happy, the parents tend to be happy as well. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here at Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, and hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a great place to spend time with kids, so much to do no matter how the weather. The rooms were good the staff friendly just a great place to spend time. The staff was always cleaning and very polite.

Room Tip: Had a king suite oceanfront great room on third floor so didn't have to worry about elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Boy! You must be the most beloved grandparents EVER! Your grandaughter must have been in Heaven with all the fun diversions we have here at Dunes Village Resort. The water parks, the planned daily activities, the pirate sip playground, and so much more!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We hope you will make this an annual tradition, or semi-annual, or monthly? Whatever you choose, we just look forward to having you back here again for some more fun-filled memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

EVERYTHING about this resort is top notch! The hospitality of the staff made us believe that we were VIP guests! We had an angle oceanview on the 7th floor. The oceanview was spectacular. Being able to walk right to the beach was good for experiencing sunrises and sunsets. There were 11 of us which included 4 little kids (4-6) so the 2 indoor waterpark were a BIG hit. The kids wanted to be there from opening to closing. The rooms were clean, the washer/dryer was an asset because we had lots of washing. The staff was very helpful in assisting us with "must see sites." From check-in to check-out 4 days total we were totally satisfied and could not wait to share our experience with our friends and extended family. Thanks Dune staff for making our trip a trip to remember - we will be returning!

Room Tip: The angle oceanview rooms give an excellent view of the ocean too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Another success story! We love to hear that we were able to take care of all your needs while you stayed here at Dunes Village Resort. Our staff is truly the best on the beach, and we think you ARE a VIP!

Thanks for staying with us, and offering up a wonderful 5 star review. We look forward to helping you make more memories soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Please Dunes Village, do something about that awful ice cream truck that a guy drives around on a moped playing loud xmas music! It was virtually NONSTOP in the parking lot lot between the towers. We never got to enjoy our balcony because of it. That being said, everything else was wonderful! Best family vacation we have ever had. Kids even said this vacation was better than Disney World! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Better than Disney is a high compliment, and we appreciate you sharing your thoughts on Dunes Village Resort. We apologize on behalf of the Ice Cream trucks. Because we do not own that property, we cannot regulate what happens between the buildings that make up Dunes Village Resort, so the ice cream trucks come and go as they please. The fact that it impeded your vacation saddens me, and I am sorry about that.

It is great to hear that, otherwise, your stay was perfect, and we hope to see you again for some more family fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.