We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Family Vacation was the best at Dunes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Freeport, New York
1 review
“Our Family Vacation was the best at Dunes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My ENTIRE family vacationed at Dunes Village. From my dad (75 years old) to my great niece (7 years old). It was something for EVERYBODY!!! No one left sad or disappointed. Not 1 complaint. The beach is right there. All of the kids loved it. Their ages range from 7-25 years old. So much around the hotel and in the hotel. WE ARE COMING BACK FOR SURE!!!!

Room Tip: I loved the two bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,312
    824
    278
    141
    99
See reviews for
2,434
473
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Family stayed here august 11th-15th. In a word: wonderful. We stayed in an oceanfront king on the 4th floor of the palmetto tower and were exceptionally pleased with the accomodations. Room was impeccably clean and quite comfortable. Pools and waterpark were enjoyable and very clean as well.. check in/out went without a hitch. Parking garage was spotless, well lit, and easy to navigate. Would wholeheartedly recommend this property to anyone. We will be back!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. Your kind words mean a lot to us, as we try to offer the perfect vacation to all of our guests. "Wonderful" is what we strive for, and it appears we have succeeded with you and your family. Thanks again for your lovely review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Splurge for oceanfront. If you're going to the beach, see the beach the way it's meant to be seen. Would recommend valet. Well worth the extra money. 3bd deluxe oceanfront. Absolutely wonderful. Clean. Modern. Roomy. Can't wait to return in October 2013. Fantastic fall rates plus fewer children ;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
"Fantastic" is always one of the trigger words that makes me smile, knowing that your Dunes Village Resort experience was everything you wanted, and more.

Your 5 star rating means a lot to us, especially since you have spent the last 4 years with us, and you still see us as wonderufl. We try hard to keep our guests happy. It appears we are succeeding!

We look forward to your October visit. Until then......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just came home from our family vacation in Myrtle Beach. We stayed 8/4-8/9. We came with our 11 year old and our 1 year old. We were very pleased that we received the room and floor that we wanted. The balcony was amazing with an amazing view. It was everything we could hope for. The resort was very convenient for going to the beach everyday and the resort pools/waterpark also. We were so happy that it was such a kid friendly place. There was children everywhere and that is exactly what we needed having children with us. The resort was also conveniently located as well. Not far of a drive to go explore and do other things. It was actually pretty hard to leave our "little paradise" but of course it always has to come to an end. We would definitely recommend Dunes to others and we look forward to returning some time in the future!

Room Tip: the higher up the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Dunes and will come back. The kids loved the water park which has so much more than one would expect at a beach hotel for a price comparable to other hotels with just a pool.

We liked having a kitchenette, which allowed us to eat breakfast and lunch in our room and go out for dinner.

Our room on the second floor was in an un-airconditioned hallway. This isn't a big deal for us, but if it is for you, ask before booking.

If you need to stay connected, the WiFi does not have the bandwidth necessary for a packed hotel. On three different types of devices, the connection to the router was fine, but data sometimes was slow or would stop for a period of time. For casual browsing, it wasn't a huge problem. If you have a working vacation, just keep it in mind.

If we plan another beach vacation without our RV, this will be the first place I'll check.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just returned from our family vacation in Myrtle Beach. We traveled with my 21 year old and 18 year old step daughters, and our 3 and 4 year old sons. Myrtle Beach was a perfect place that had plenty to do for the older kids and the younger kids. The resort had so much for the little ones to do. They loved the water slides, lazy rivers, indoor and outdoor pools, ping pong, great play area and mini golf. My husband took the older girls out on the town at night, and my little ones were perfectly content at all there was to do at the resort, including a kids movie night. We had a two bedroom apt, with 2 queen beds in each room, and two full bathrooms. The balcony had a great view of the ocean and the action below. The room/apt was huge with a full kitchen and living room. The two bedrooms and living room had TVs and DVD players. The furnishings were pretty but a bit worn, which is understandable considering the beach/kid use it gets. It wasn't the cleanest room I've stayed in but it wasn't dirty to the point I was uncomfortable. The two restaurants onsite were ok, but with a full kitchen, it's easy to save your money and eat in. It's a "bumpin" fun people and music filled place, so if you're looking for a quiet place this isn't for you. However, once your slider is closed, you can not hear the noise from outside. We are planning to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such a woonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate the 5 star rating, and all the kind words. It is great to hear when we impress our guests, and even better when we know we have you hooked! I am thrilled to know that you will be back next year. We look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We just got back from our weeklong vacaction 8/3-8/11 from Myrtle Beach and I'm not someone to write reviews but Dunes Village was a great place to stay. We go to MB annually and this is the first place where we didnt wait at long check in lines and slow elevators. The kids ( ages 3, 6) loved the indoor water park and activities. We stayed in a 2 bed queen oceanfront suite on the 11th floor of the Palmetto Building. There was some mold that has been recently covered up with caulk around the tub but not really a big deal. The entire staff was great and we highly recommed this resort to anyone traveling to MB. Great location. Price is a little on the high side if you wait too long to book like we did but it was a great vacation. Short walk to the beach and the breakfast buffet was good and quick, perfect for feeding the kids and hitting the beach. DJ around the pool was a nice touch and added atmosphere. We will definately return. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your high recommendation of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate the 5 star rating you offered, and we are happy to know that your vacation was such a success.

We look forward to seeing much more of you in the coming years. Thank you again for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experiecne with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.