We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room and accomodating staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greenbelt, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big room and accomodating staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Room & Staff

We arrived after check-in, and found our room wasn't ready yet, but that lasted only a moment. We found out we were upgraded from a two to three bedroom suite...and the room was huge. It actually took measurable time to walk from one end to the other. We had reserved an ocean view, and we got that from every balcony, as well as a fun view of the main boardwalk (and occasional fireworks).

The room was very comfortable for the most part. It was a little lived-in, but had all the amenities of home. It was more like a condo away from home than a pristine hotel room. The only downside was the room was a little damp at all time, but I'm sure that had everything to do with being so close to the ocean and SC humidity.

The staff was excellent, and even just passing housekeeping staff earned you a genuine smile and hello. We had some rowdy people check in below us, but a simple call to the desk not only had it fixed in 5min, but it was never a problem again. Housekeeping did a great job at keeping up with us.

Complaints

Only minor complaints, which I would barely call them. One was the fact they mention you can get free shows on check-in, but this is bait for sitting through a sales pitch for buying or time-sharing a unit. No hard-sale in trying to get you to go, though, which we appreciated. We also found a charge from the bar on our bill that wasn't ours (it overlapped with our check-in, so maybe the last family leaving having one more visit). It was fixed with little debate, but I felt just a little uncomfortable having to deal with it.

Parking

Some people mention the parking, which is a garage across the street. It wasn't a big deal to have to walk over to it to go places, and we were thankful they had parking to offer. I will say for a newer garage, it seemed like it was designed by the people who design airplane seating. The spaces were a little tight (esp since most people had SUVs), as well as the corners to go up & down. They were also square and not curved, like the whole thing was designed fro Tron motorcycles to race through. It also wouldn't hurt to add some mirrors, as entering every level seemed like a blind turn.

Location

If you're into the boardwalk, it won't be a fit for you. After being there with our family for a day, that turned out to be the best thing for us. While there's plenty to do there, the beach is much more crowned, and there a lot of HS and college kids having fun. The hotel's location about 3-5mi up the road was perfect. It was quiet, the beach was clean and with plenty of space, and everything is well-kept.

You will have problems without a car, though. We didn't try the on-site dining, and if you have no car (and little will for long walks on a busy road nearby), you will be stuck. We were able to drive places, and there was plenty to be had in within 5-10min. Bring your review apps for dining/activities, as there are a lot (good and bad).

Overall

For a family, it's a perfect place and location. The indoor waterpark is a nice touch. Don't expect a Great Wolf setup, but the kids requested going there as often as the beach, so it's a hit with the people who get the most out of it. It's a nice thing to have in your back pocket for the occasional rain storm.

For us--a family with kids under 10--it was a perfect stay and place for us. The kids had a memorable time, and we came away without feeling run-down from chasing activities or fretting details. They give you plenty to do and space to do it in.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor, and the ocean front view is exactly what it says.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer such a detailed review of Dunes Village Resort. You offered so much information that I have nothing to add, except that I hope to see you back here soon.

Thanks again for sharing your vacation with us! Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,305
    824
    277
    141
    99
See reviews for
2,429
472
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just got back from our first family trip to Myrtle Beach. We had a great stay at Dunes Village. The indoor water park was a big hit with our 7 yr old son. Also, the hotel is in a nice, quieter location. I didn't appreciate this until I was in MB and saw what the downtown area is like (noise, cars, crowds, etc.). It's still very well located, though. We ate breakfast in the Admiral's Room every morning, and it was a nice buffet. The check-in system is a little overwhelming, but that may just be because I am not sure how MB "works". We didn't bring a ton of stuff, but there were lots of people who did and unloading seemed like a nightmare. There were people to help, but they were VERY busy. Again, this may just be "how it's done" and I'm not used to it. Overall, it was a terrific experience; one we'll not soon forget. On the last morning our boy declared he was, in fact, not going home with us and was going to stay at the Dunes Village. I guess you can't be more highly recommended than that!

Room Tip: I wouldn't want a first or second floor room--it might be too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Mom,

I am still having a great time. The staff is taking great care of me. The water parks are great, and the activities are super-fun! I wish you would come back and see me soon. I miss you.

With Love,

your son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

When we began staying at Dunes annually some 3 years ago, it was an impressive place. Today, housekeeping is failing to clean properly, including all mold and mildew removed around sinks and showers. In addition, the rooms are showing wear and tear, in need of deep cleaning, and replacement of sagging sofas and beds. Hopefully they'll get these issues corrected, because my kids LOVE the indoor waterparks and we'd like to continue as return guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate the feedback, and have every intention of impressing you on your next vacation with the sparkling clean resort you have always known. We are in the process of re-training some of our staff on the best way to effectively clean a room, and our newer staff is really taking to the process well.

We are grateful for your candor, and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed our stay my nine year old girl really loved the water park can't really complain about anything even though a tropical storm came through we still had something to do it does need a update on furnishings but all in all I'd recommend it to anyone with kids

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate the kind words!
We are in the process of making a few changes in the rooms, some with new carpets and some with new refrigertaors. Next time you come, you will see some of the renovations being done in the rooms.

We hope to see you back here again soon. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Arrived to find ice maker in room not working, lamps burned out, outside lights didn't work. Housekeeping/maintenance came to fix items but on vacation, I don't want to have to call to get things done. The details were definitely ignored this time, big disappointment. Another day, Housekeeping came by and left towels but didn't make the beds, the kitchen was inadequate with only two pots - NO PANS for cooking. We stay at the Dunes at least twice every summer and have always enjoyed it. We will return in July and if the details aren't attended to better, we may not go back. Otherwise, love everything about the Dunes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate you giving us another chance, as we hate to lose a guest over things we can control.

I assure you that your next trip will be the Dunes Village Resort experience you have come to know and love. Please come see me personally if you have any concerns while you are here so that I may address them immediately.

Sincerely,

Cari Garvey
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksboro, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I love the Dunes. Such a nice place to stay. We only had one slight problem. We had to wash everything in the kitchen. (Room 1208 Palmetto tower). EVERYTHING. It was dirty and trash was left in the cabinet above refrigerator and got no maid service our last day? Not sure what happened. Had to call twice to get fresh towels. Never happened to us before there. I had even left a daily tip. But, we enjoyed our stay. Nice pools and water park. Staff was nice and friendly. Easy check in and out. More expensive than other hotels but worth it. I just hope they get better help service and the hotel doesn't go down. Overall a great place to stay that's why I gave it an excellent rating. Although, I had to be honest about the service. Love the Dunes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
And the Dunes loves YOU! We appreciate the excellent rating, in spite of our shortcomings. We try very hard to take care of our guests to the fulles extent of our ability. I am sorry we missed a few things in your room, but am thrilled to hear that it did not deter you from the love you still gave us!

Dunes Village Resort appreciates you, and yuor 5 star rating, and we promise to make it a perfect stay next time. That is a Cari Guarantee! Cal me when you are making your next plans, and I will personally make sure your room is PERFECT! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was the first time that we stayed at the Dunes. The room was good size;however, I found the bathroom and parts of the room to be dirty, whoever painted the room last time slopped the paint on and it looked terrible, and there was rust on the refrigerator and stove. I stay 60 to 70 nights per year in hotels and hope are room isn't indicative of all the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Dunes Village Resort. I would like to personally apologize for the condition of your room. Generally speaking, our rooms are in great shape, as you can see from other posts. Sometimes we fall short, as it seems in your case, and we appreciate the feedback that allows us to improve our service. Thanks for considering giving us another chance. We will see you soon, I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.