We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Back to School Special
Ranked #10 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Northern VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spring break week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just got back, we stayed at the Dunes 3/24-3/29/2013. First time at this hotel. Went on a recommendation. Great location, right on the beach. Stayed in a angled 2 bedroom in the Palms tower 10th floor. Had a great view of the beach and the "million dollar mile" houses. I really appreciated the full kitchen and washer/dryer. You will need to bring your own washing machine soap & coffee pot flat bottom filters. We also brought paper towels, napkins, kitchen sponge, salt/pepper & cooking spray. The kitchen is fully stocked with a coffee pot, microwave, stove/oven, pots, pans, plates, cups, utensils, pot holders, toaster, etc. We brought some food/drinks & did a few meals in the room which was really convenient. There's also a Food Lion about a mile away. There's also lot's of restaurants close by. We ate at California Pizza (interesting pizza, good prices), Bimini's (seafood local's place) & Chesapeke House (yummy bread basket).

We also ate one time at the hotel restaurant for dinner. The place is extremely small for the size of the hotel. Food was expensive, very mediocre & I had to get up to try & locate our own utensils because the waitress couldn't be found. Not worth our time or $ again.

The indoor waterpark was fantastic especially since it was way too cold outside during our stay. Kept our 13, 11 & 8 year olds busy. There's 2 waterparks one in each building. The Palms tower has 2 good waterslides. The Palmetto tower waterpark is for younger kids. The layout is a little hokey. You have to walk outside & cross a small parking lot to get to the other building & water park. Not bad unless it's cold outside like this past week. There are also several outdoor pools that are heated.

Other recommendations for the area is Broadway on the beach (lot's of outdoor shops & restaurants) & NASCAR speedway (go-cart place). Kids had a blast there. A 1 day pass is $29.99. A 1 month pass is $39.99. Next time we go I will consider buying the month pass early in the week and taking the kids a few times to really get our money's worth. Unfortunately, we didn't find this place til our last day in town. Oh & parents don't need to buy a wristband unless you want to ride by yourself. We rode for free with our 8 year old because she wasn't quite tall enough to drive herself. Ask about it when you buy your bands.

Almost forgot - the wifi is terrible but free. The service is intermittent. Although, my cell service was excellent.

All in all a very fun time!

Room Tip: Higher floor in the Palms Tower for a good view. Almost forgot-the wifi is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely and very detailed review of Dunes Village Resort. Since you covered so much, I will just add that our WiFi has had a tremendous upgrade, and by the end of April, the entire system will have been overhauled and the speeds you will find to be incredibly improved.

Glad to hear that a fun time was had by all, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,057
    748
    249
    127
    89
See reviews for
2211
427
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The weather was too cold for the beach so the indoor water park saved our vacation. The food and service was excellent. Great place for children with plenty of activities. Valet parking is available when the parking lot starts to fill up. The California Pizza which was recommended was delicious and delivered on time. This would be a perfect family vacation spot in warmer weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. With year round activities and a full waterpark with many other diversions included, this place is a hit with all ages! We appreciate your kind words, and hope to see you soon, since the weather has warmed up a bit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is large, but since I went over Spring Break in March, it wasn't too crowded at the pools and water park. The outdoor pools, although a fair size, could probably be made larger, considering the amount of people who are trying to use them during the summer, but the water park areas are fantastic.
You absolutely can't beat the location- far enough away from South Myrtle that you don't have tons of wild college kids and creepy guys wandering around, but right in the middle of the restaurants and shopping of Myrtle Beach.
The beach is gorgeous and no matter what room you have, you are probably going to have a lovely view. The staff is friendly and helpful.
My only complaint is parking. Parking is horrible. The deck is fine, but it's across Ocean Blvd and down the street from the hotel with no stop light to help you cross. It's a little like playing a human version of Frogger. They do run golf carts to the hotel, but that seems to be generally for the elderly and those who pay for valet parking.
All in all, I'd go back. The pros outweigh the cons.

Room Tip: If you're getting an angle ocean view room I recommend the South side of the Palms Tower (on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your Dunes Village Resort vacation. During the summer, there are so many other places to play and lounge that the pools are not as crowded as one might think. The ocean is in our backyard, and is always welcoming to our guests.

Parking is across the street to optomize the beach views from our rooms. The golf cart is for all of our guests to take advantage of, so the next time you are here, do not hesitate to ask for a ride across the street. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Md.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you are planning a visit over Christmas be prepared for third world visitors and their relatives already here in the USA. The place is full of non-christians and their kids who never stop slamming doors "All Night Long". The staff is great and the facilities, although getting a bit long in the tooth, are adequate.(in other words it's the same decor as six years ago). The gates they installed for protection of guests vehicles only work on weekends. Water parks are great. Christmas dinner was excellent. Carry out from the dining room is weird--you pay for the meal, they add 10% for the carryout container, then the sales tax of 11 % is added and then you are expected to tip the server --this can run a $20 purchase up to more than $28. Overall I recommend the Dunes as a great FAMILY resort but if you want peace and quiet don't stay over a weekend during the winter months.

Room Tip: Never on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate your feedback, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Christmas feast.

Our staff is one of the best on the beach because they know the true meaning of the word "hospitality."

We agree that we are a Family Resort, with family fun all year long for any age.

We hope to see you back here soon. Until then....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed with some friends a few weeks ago and everything was just great!! The service and the food was beyond my expectations. They did a great job! The indoor water park was a blast. Look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
"Outstanding" is one of my favorite words, since that is our goal here at Dunes VIllage Resort...to be "outstanding."

I am happy to hear that we succeeded in your eyes, and hope to see you back here soon.

Thanks for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience with the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The resort is in a great location, beautiful ocean view. Water park is fantastic, staff friendly and very hospitable, loved the suite. Everyone helped make our family vacation a memorable experience.THANK YOU!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you!!! We appreciate you choosing Dunes Village Resort for your Spring Break. We are happy to hear that we made it such a memorable vacation for you, and look forward to helping you make many more memories in the future! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had a great week from March 16 to the 23, 2013. Great room with lots of space for my wife and myself. Good location right on the beach an nice area to walk around. Lots of parking and a great water park indoor with pool tables. Would recommend this place to friends. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room and the queen suites. Maybe an extended balcony if wanting a lounge chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate all your kind words, and would love to have you stay again. Hopefully it will be soon! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.