We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better the first time we stayed there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% OFF Sept. HOT Deals
Ranked #11 of 216 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It was better the first time we stayed there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I recently went there for spring break because we knew it was going to be cool and they have a GREAT indoor water park. We had stayed there 3 years ago and really enjoyed it, and didn't have a single problem with the property. I don't know if it was because we went during the off season, but in our first room the toiletries weren't fully stocked, the housekeeping never removed the trash from the previous occupants, and our refrigerator made a horrible banging noise ALL NIGHT LONG!!

That being said, the second we requested the 'fridge be fixed the immediately put us in a nicer, better room, no questions asked- which is why I've given this a very good rating. First room aside, its a great property, regardless of what time of year you go there. I've been there in March and May, and the water park has always been incredibly useful. The property is right on the beach and there's a nice outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Stay on any floor but the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding Dunes Village Resort. We strive to make sure our guests are happy, and apologize for any shortcomings that occurred in your first room.

It is true, the waterpark is a blessing. All year long, it seems to be very well used, and keeps the kids (and their parents) smiling.

Thank you again for your wonderful review. We look forward to having you back here sooner than 3 years from now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,136
    772
    262
    135
    92
See reviews for
2295
439
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CLT
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Did not expect much for the price we paid and we did not get much more.
The Dunes is showing its age, needs some serious updating.
Mildew in the bathroom, worn furniture and complete crap WIFI.
My kid did like the water park, so I guess that's a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your recent Dunes VIllage Resort vacation. I am happy to report that the WIFI issues we were having are almost completely fixed! We have a full renovation of our WIFI system happening right now, with a new fiber optic system being installed currently. You will be blown away at how wonderful the system is the next time you come for a visit!

We hope you get back here soon to see ALL of our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to the Dunes middle of December and felt like I was in a ghost town.
I had no idea that Myrtle Beach essentially shuts for the winter season.
Lots of things were closed and the hotel ammemities were limited as well.
Our room was very spacious, we really were impressed. The carpet was very dirty though and the free wifi was horrible-never a signal in the room. We had to go to the lobby to get a signal. The weather was terrible so we did not use the oool or beach but they looked awesome. This would be a great place to spend a week when its warm and sunny. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your Dunes Village Resort vacation. We appreciate the kind words, and we have some GREAT news: The WIFI situation is on the mend!

Dunes Village Resort has started the upgrade process for the WIFI system that we have, and by the end of April, we should have the best WIFI ever! You, and many others, have helped make this upgrade happen, and I cannot wait to hear how much better it is from our previous guests.

We cannot wait to have you back here. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our stay in this fabulous room was awesome! Love the all-day dual waterparks for the kids and the fully equipped kitchens. All the amenities are provided for a stress-free enjoyable time. Will definitely visit again. Our pleasant housekeeper Carol was always asking if we need anything or how she can help us. Thanks for a lovely time Myrtle Beach!

Room Tip: Of course you definitely want an ocean-side room to see the dolphins frolicking in the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort! We are glad to hear that everything was perfect for you, and look forward to your return.

Carol is a wonderful asset to Dunes Village Resort, always looking out ofr our guests needs. I am sure you noticed that all of the staff here go out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable vacation.

Thank you again for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My kids loved this place. Because we went in the summer I just knew the kids were going to be at the beach all day, but they were having waaay too much fun in the indoor water park at this resort. The staff was super friendly and the buffet breaksfast each morning was so delicious. The rooms were average sized and clean. Very close proximity to the beach which we did get to enjoy but there wasn't a day that the kids didn't want to enjoy the indoor activities: pool, ping-pong, shuffle board & crafts. They are begging to go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience at Dunes Village Resort. We are so glad to hear that the kids enjoyed so much of what we have to offer. And it makes us very happy to hear that they are begging to return, because that means you will, and we hope that it is soon! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sadly, what was the flagship of this company has deteriorated. To be fair, all of Myrtle Beach has suffered from lack of visitors this winter. Lot of the staff has been let go and the halls that were cleaned each day now were done once a week. Grounds upkeep suffered. The water park is still popular with kids but activities for winter rentals were cut back. The restaurant was not open for lunch during the winter months during the week. The furniture is getting very tired. Management has promised some updates for them.

Room Tip: Don't take a room next to a 3 or 4 BD (party suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We are sorry to hear that you felt the cuts that were made. We chose to open the restaurant for dinner only on the weekdays this winter to see how it affected our guests, since last year there was minimal need to have the Captains Cafe open. We appreciate your feedback, and it will be taken into consideration for next winter.

The Winter Rental Program we have will be right back to where it has been in the past next winter. We know how important that program is to our "snowbirds" and you will see a full calendar every month next winter.

Management was right about some furniture upgrades. Giant plush pillows have been placed in most of the rooms, couches are being replaced in some of the units this year, and bed frames were just changed out for a sturdier, nicer look.

We look forward to having you back soon to see our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smyrna, north carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

With two indoor waterparks, Dunes Village can't be beat for entertaining the kids--especially in the winter months. We spent a long weekend there in February and had a blast. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Customer service is great, and the pools and waterslides are the perfect answer to the wintertime blues. It even snowed a little while we were there! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We always get an oceanfront condo--it's worth the extra $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation of Dunes Village Resort. We know what families want, and we do everything in our power to deliver just that! We take kindly to suggestions and we appreciate all feedback.

Side note: The snow was short lived, but is always a beautiful sight on the beach!

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. WWe hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.