We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% OFF Sept. HOT Deals
Ranked #11 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My kids loved this place. Because we went in the summer I just knew the kids were going to be at the beach all day, but they were having waaay too much fun in the indoor water park at this resort. The staff was super friendly and the buffet breaksfast each morning was so delicious. The rooms were average sized and clean. Very close proximity to the beach which we did get to enjoy but there wasn't a day that the kids didn't want to enjoy the indoor activities: pool, ping-pong, shuffle board & crafts. They are begging to go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience at Dunes Village Resort. We are so glad to hear that the kids enjoyed so much of what we have to offer. And it makes us very happy to hear that they are begging to return, because that means you will, and we hope that it is soon! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,144
    771
    263
    135
    93
See reviews for
2300
440
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sadly, what was the flagship of this company has deteriorated. To be fair, all of Myrtle Beach has suffered from lack of visitors this winter. Lot of the staff has been let go and the halls that were cleaned each day now were done once a week. Grounds upkeep suffered. The water park is still popular with kids but activities for winter rentals were cut back. The restaurant was not open for lunch during the winter months during the week. The furniture is getting very tired. Management has promised some updates for them.

Room Tip: Don't take a room next to a 3 or 4 BD (party suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We are sorry to hear that you felt the cuts that were made. We chose to open the restaurant for dinner only on the weekdays this winter to see how it affected our guests, since last year there was minimal need to have the Captains Cafe open. We appreciate your feedback, and it will be taken into consideration for next winter.

The Winter Rental Program we have will be right back to where it has been in the past next winter. We know how important that program is to our "snowbirds" and you will see a full calendar every month next winter.

Management was right about some furniture upgrades. Giant plush pillows have been placed in most of the rooms, couches are being replaced in some of the units this year, and bed frames were just changed out for a sturdier, nicer look.

We look forward to having you back soon to see our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smyrna, north carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

With two indoor waterparks, Dunes Village can't be beat for entertaining the kids--especially in the winter months. We spent a long weekend there in February and had a blast. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Customer service is great, and the pools and waterslides are the perfect answer to the wintertime blues. It even snowed a little while we were there! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We always get an oceanfront condo--it's worth the extra $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation of Dunes Village Resort. We know what families want, and we do everything in our power to deliver just that! We take kindly to suggestions and we appreciate all feedback.

Side note: The snow was short lived, but is always a beautiful sight on the beach!

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. WWe hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanceboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited Dunes Village in February thinking it was be totally deserted and we could have all the family indoor activities to ourselves. HA HA! That place was hopping! There's lots to do and fun all around! We would love to come back in warmer weather (we went as a 16th birthday gift for our daughter) and I'm sure we'd have alot more fun. Our room was spacious for 5 people, we had a Queen Suite and the living and kitchen area was big enough so that we didn't feel like we were on top of each other the entire time, space for everyone! Our room was clean, which is a huge plus for us! I can't think of anything bad to say for sure! We got food from the Captain's Cafe a couple of times and it was all good too! Ok the only thing I can think of is that if we knew ahead of time that there WAS a coffee pot in the room but no coffee, we would have brought our own and saved some money on that. But compared to all the pluses, that's no biggie!

Room Tip: The 8th floor rooms have extended balconies so if that's an issue, you may want to ask for a cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Dunes Village Resort. You are correct....we are continuously hopping! Because of our indoor (in the winter) water facilities, Dunes Village Resort is the perfect place to escape winter.

The Captain's Cafe is wonderful year-round as well, offering great food and great service.

We hope to see you and your family again in the warmer weather. Thanks again for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed with my family at many hotels in and around Myrtle Beach. Dunes Village is by far and away the best. The rooms are clean and modern and every room has a view of the ocean. The indoor pools/waterparks are awesome, as well, so my kids were NEVER bored.

The location is also ideal. It is a few miles north of the hustle and bustle of downtown MB in a small cluster of hotels that are surrounded by very upscale neighborhoods. Yet downtown and Broadway at the Beach are both just a five minute drive away. Take a walk or jog for one mile in either direction north or south from the hotel and you will be immersed in some of the most beautiful beachfront scenery in the South ( not to mention the million dollar homes).

Overall, 5 stars all the way!

Room Tip: Many of the oceanfront rooms are studio rooms. The view is great but they are small for anything mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We truly appreciate your FIVE STAR review of Dunes VIllage Resort. We strive to ensure our guests an active vacation with 30,000 square feet of water amenities, daily scheduled games and crafts, along with live music regularly and a staff that really understands the definition of hospitality.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We cannot wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

First trip to Myrtle -- Dunes was good but terrible wifi in my area and the shower was horrible. But everything else for the kids was great. I had to go to the Palmetto tower to get internet. Shower never got fixed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you fro taking the time to offer feedback regarding your recent stay st Dunes Village Resort. I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with your shower while you were here, but I am glad to hear that everything else was good for you.

The wifi is in the process of being upgraded currently, so the next time you come for a visit the wifi should be in perfect working order throughout the resort.

Hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We took our 3 college aged kids on Spring Break here. They all loved it. They were NOT too big for the slides and pools and lazy river. Our condo was neat. It was a 3 bedroom and was modern.
The only issue was with the kitchen...there is a fully equipped kitchen but no hot pads to take anything out of the oven. Also no paper towels which was strange. We made due.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We have been saying for years that we have plenty to do for all ages and you are a true testament to that statement!

We are so happy to hear that you all had fun, and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.