We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad all around - Probably will never return to Myrtle.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
McSherrystown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bad all around - Probably will never return to Myrtle.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Check-in:
We arrived on 7/7 around 7am, knowing that are check in was not until 3pm. We were told that we would be called for our 3-bedroom oceanfront deluxe room when it was no longer occupied and cleaned. Our group of 4 adults and 3 children were given pool passes early (originally they said they do not give these out until 11am). We spent the day on the beach, which was refreshing after a 10-hour drive.

At 3pm we attempted to check in to our room and they stated it was not ready. We were told again that they would call us when it was finished and it would be done by 3:15pm. At 3:30pm we still did not receive a call and went back to the front desk and were told the room was not ready. At 3:45pm and still waiting in the lobby we were told that they could offer us another room that was ready, so we took it since the kids were exhausted. I word of advice; change your check in time to 4 if you can't have your rooms done by 3p.

The room:
The oceanfront deluxe room was room 1151 located in the palmetto tower just outside the elevator. The place was bigger than I expected, which was nice upon entering. The first bedroom had a queen size bed and located just inside the hallway on the left side. There is actually a small private balcony located in this room that we were unaware of. There is a connecting bathroom to the bedroom that also had another door located in the hallway. Prior to the second bedroom is a small closet that allowed us to store our chair and sand toys for the kids.

The second bedroom is located on the right side of the hallway with a queen size bed, a small closet, and a private bathroom with mirrors surrounding the sink (there is no balcony joined to this bedroom).

The kitchen was located on the left side of the room, which was fully stocked with dishes, a full fridge and freezer (which made ice) a dishwasher, double sided sink, microwave, oven/electric stove with coils, and a coffee pot (we were given one small complimentary coffee pack at the front desk and were instructed to buy some from their store instead). There were 3 bar stools located on the opposite side of the counter to sit at the kitchen (you are unable to see the ocean from the kitchen).

The master bedroom had a king size bed (a king size mattress that was absolutely uncomfortable and two double bed box springs pushed together under it). There were 2 flat cotton pillows on the bed and 2 extras in the closet, which were also terrible. The private balcony was a decent size for 2 chairs, an end table, and a cigarette butt receptacle (which stank horrible and was disgusting). There was a busted pixel on the television in the room, which was an annoying red spot when the tv was on. The fan in the ceiling made a loud repetitive squeaking noise and we could only use it on the lowest setting. The master bathroom was the only bathroom with two sinks and the Jacuzzi tub (I suggest placing less emphasis on making the swan origami wash clothes and putting more time into cleaning). There was a burn mark on the tub from someone leaving a cigarette on the side of it. The water pressure was nice for the size of the hotel, however I found myself having a lukewarm shower around mid-day at the hotel after the beach was cleared twice for storms. The towels and wash clothes were standard white and almost scratchy b/c of the tough material. The complimentary bath stuff is nothing to mention and not worth using.

Across from the master bedroom is a small closet that contained the washer, dryer, and a few shelves. This is definitely a nice commodity except the noise these machines made was unreal. We could only run them when we weren't there because of the rattling sounds that emanated from them.

Just inside the living room was an 8-person table, definitely seen it's better days by the scuffs and marks on it. There is a cabinet on the right side of the room and a small worktable with 2 additional chairs. The flat screen television was located in the corner of the room. There was a 3-seat couch on the far side of the room, which was absolutely uncomfortable and seemed broken as it caved in the center. The couch already had sheets on it if you need it for an additional bed but we did not use it so I cannot comment on this anymore. There was a 2-person love seat that was cozier but still nothing I found relaxing enough to sit on for an extended period of time. A chair was located by the front balcony with a footrest and was hard as a rock. There are two sliding glass doors on each side of the television, one is oceanfront and the other looked down the side of the beach towards the boardwalk. There is one big balcony that wrapped around the side from the front and contained about 4 plastic chairs and 2 end tables. There is a flat carpet on the balcony, which made it a little nicer to stand on then if it was just cement.

The Beach:
This might have to be one of the most frustrating parts of this hotel. Around 730am they have 2 lifeguards, associated to their hotel, set-up chairs and umbrellas the entire length of the property. These are on top of each other, which makes it difficult to walk between them. The biggest problem is that they do not permit you to place an umbrella in front of their chairs and umbrellas. You can give the lifeguards $30 cash, per day, to rent two chairs, two footrests, and one of their umbrellas for the day. You are allowed to put your chairs, clothes, towels, etc. in front of their chairs and umbrella though. So if you want to use an umbrella, instead of renting one from them, you have to place it behind theirs and because how they have them set-up don’t expect to see the ocean. You have the option of trying to get out to the beach around 7am and fight people for the spots just to the side of their resort for a spot to put an umbrella.

Cabanas:
There are a total of 6 cabanas between both sides of the resort. One week prior to our departure we called and inquired to the price and were told $50 a day, However, when we called down to reserve one we were told it was $65 a day. On the palms’ tower side there are 4 cabanas on top of each other. Cabana #1 is closest to the hotel and is the only cabana with zipper sides and definitely worth reserving. Cabanas #2-4 are drop sides, not zippered, and when the wind blew would hit the chairs, people, and cabanas next to you. So unless you have #1 you don’t have any privacy if you want them. Cabana 4 was next to the railing and closest to the beach but it is right beside the miniature golf and I did not see it ever reserved because of this reason. Every cabana has a small flat screen television, a ceiling fan, and two padded lounge chairs, an end table, and a grill. The grills for cabana 1-4 are small propane grills, which are located in the back of the cabana half way on the mulch and flowers. Cabanas 5 & 6 are on the Palmetto side and provide more room beside the cabana to pull up extra lounge chairs, which cannot be done on the opposite side. The grills are larger and propane which are beside the cabanas. Cabana # 6 would be optimal as you are the one closer to the beach and have a glimpse of the ocean if you are standing. You will have to put up with ridiculous annoying people singing around 3pm and kids playing games as they do this beside cabana #5.

Palmetto Pool Area:
There is a small pool with depths from 3ft-5ft on the outside deck. There is no diving board and steps on one side where it is 3 feet deep. There might be about 50 lounge chairs around this area. There is a small tiki bar that opens around 11am but closes early too on this side. As you go through another gate there is a small lazy river outside with some inner tubes, a person puked in here one day which closed the area for hours. There is only about enough width for a tube to fit so you will have to follow the people in front of you, there are no waterfalls or anything special.

Mini Golf and playground:
Mini golf amused the kids for maybe 10 min but without any shade it wasn’t helpful. The playground was unusable due to the heat of the equipment from the sun.

Summary of remainder of Pools and Slides:
Kids were running everywhere without supervision. There are limited available chairs and not a place that I would ever recommend.

Parking:
The garage is across the street and if you are in the Palmetto tower than you are even further away from the garage. My car was hit with a door on the back passenger side door. After talking to the front desk I was informed that there was nothing they could help me with.

Unfortunately this experience made me never want to return to Myrtle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,016
    742
    241
    123
    86
See reviews for
2172
424
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for weekend getaway with the family and had a great time. This was our second stay and my 2 year old loved the waterpark. Very clean and maintained and convinent to everything will be back in May and can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate your loyalty, and cannot wait to see you again in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just recently visited for a little family getaway and had a great time and even saw some snow. The kitchen was helpful so the kids could enjoy the waterpark longer and not have to dress for dinner. The waterpark had staff walking around making sure there were no problems and testing the water. The website could read "fully equipped kitchen". I was unsure whether the kitchen had dishes/pans or not. We will definitely go back for another winter getaway

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Dunes Village Resort Experience with the world. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our water parks so much.

We do not advertise "fully equipped kitchen," however all of our units do have at least a small stove, refrigerator and utensils. Also on property we offer 2 full restaurants to satisfy almost any taste.

It makes us so happy to hear that the water park staff worked hard to ensure you ahd all of your needs met, and the water was chemically balanced.

We hope to see you next winter, if not sooner. Thanks again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My parents brought my friend and i to myrtle to shop go places and to find a nice hotel in for my birthday weekend. We stayed here on the 10th floor and has an amazing view of the beach but my mom is terribly afraid of heights. The lifeguards were friendly. I loved everything about this room. It was spacey, super clean, and the washer and dryer came in handy. The only bad thing about the room was that the sliding doors to the balcony were hard to open. Other than that I would enjoy coming here for spring break.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We are so happy to hear that your birthday weekend was such a success, and we were glad to be a part of it. THanks for choosing Dunes Village Resort. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Resort was recommended by friends and was as advertised. We had an ocean front suite with full kitchen and a nice patio. It was a cold weekend so didn't get to sit out much though.
Water parks were nice (although the outside walk between the 2 was really cold) and the kids had fun. It did get quite crowded on Saturday.
All staff was great except the front desk where it was slow and disinterested. Tiffany in the Captain's Cafe was fantastic and really 'gets it' when it comes to delivering great service.
Pricing in Jan/ Feb at < $100 per night made this a great deal and hotel is close to attractions (aquarium etc).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your Dunes Village Resort vacation. We are glad to hear that you found us to be as you expected.

The walk between the 2 buildings is something that a lot of people do not understand. The reason we do not have a covered walkway between the 2 buildings is because we do not own the property between the 2 buildings. It is owned by the city of Myrtle Beach, so we are not allowed to build anything on it. I wish that were not the case, and hope that one day it changes. In the meantime, whenever you come in the cooler months, make sure to pack a cover up of some sort.

Thank you for mentioning Tiffany at the Captains Cafe. She is a delight to have on staff, and works very hard to ensure our guests are well taken care of.

We look forward to having you back sometime soon. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was a Great Choice my wife and I made to take our Kids to Myrtle beach durring the Winter..It has 2 indoor water parks and the Kids loved it.3 Great Waterslides and Hot tubs for the Adults and the Staff was Real Nice and helpful and Importanly the Rooms we're very Clean!

We will deffinately be taking our kids here agian!

Room Tip: Any of the Rooms will be money well spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your Dunes Village Resort experience. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed all that we have to offer.

Did you know that we have a year round Activities Deaprtment that offers scheduled fun every day, all year? And we also have a 9 hole mini golf course that may look small, but is very challenging. And basketball, tennis and volleyball courts, too.

Waterslides, hot tubs, pool tables, ping pong, and so much more! THe fun never stops around here.

Thanks again for joining us. We cannot wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time here when we stayed. The resort is clean, the rooms are well equipped, and the staff is friendly. The indoor water park is cleaned and well staffed, as well as a great option to get away from the heat or the rain for that matter. I have recommended this hotel to many of my friends and they too have loved it. I also liked the area of Myrtle this is located in. It is a bit quieter and more family friendly area. You really don't even need to leave the resort, it has everything you need. However it is a short drive to many of Myrtle Beach's main attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Quiet, convenient, clean......you hit some of the wonderful aspects of Dunes Village Resort, and we appreciate your noticing.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. And thank you for telling all your friends! Word of mouth has been our best advertising, allowing us to grow and add fun things. The newest addition is a fun play center in place of out current playground. I wont spoil the surprise, but it is COOL!

We hope to see you soon for some more family fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.