We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Winter Family Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Winter Family Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The indoor waterparks are truly the best within 150 miles. My little one was just in heaven. The water was perfect- very clean and very warm. There were also a number of games to play (ping pong, shuffleboard, miniature golf, video games and giant checkers). Honestly, considering it's winter, the amenities offered at this hotel/resort are the best in the area by far. If you have children or teenagers, they will absolutely love it. The only negative is the walk between the two waterparks (they are in different buildings). You have to walk across a narrow parking lot that doesn't appear to be owned by the hotel. It would just make this place ten times nicer if you didn't have to do that. A nice, heated walk through would be enormously appreciated by guests.
The resort was also very clean and nicely kept up. The room was nice. New granite counter tops and appliances, large bathroom, two flat screen tv's, but some of the furniture was a bit worn. Overall, the room was appointed well and clean.
The only real issues with the room were that it was designated non-smoking and when we arrived there was an obvious smokey smell. I was concerned but there was a cigarette repository (the large commercial kind) on the balcony. It just didn't make sense to me. Also, the walls are quite thin and it was noisy at night. We were near an elevator, so I would suggest a very high floor not near the elevator.
Hotel representatives were very polite, professional and helpful. The service was truly excellent.
We will probably return, lots of fun for children and families.

Room Tip: Away from elevator- high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your thorough description regarding your stay at Dunes Village Resort. We agree wholeheartedly that we have PLENTY to occupy your time here on our property, enabling you to enjoy things without leaving.

We would love ot be able to put a heated walkway up between the 2 buildings, but unfortunately, at this time we do not own the property between our buildings. We do hope to change that one day, so stay tuned, and we will keep you posted on the exciting changes that will be taking place around here!

We hope to see you soon! Thanks again for staying at Dunes Village Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,305
    824
    277
    141
    99
See reviews for
2,429
472
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, NC
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Dunes Village is our favorite vacation resort! The kids LOVE the indoor waterpark and my husband and I love being on the beach. The staff at Dunes Village are extremely friendly and helpful. We have never been disappointed!

Room Tip: Love the 2 and 3 bedroom condos! Rooms facing south get the most sunshine while your enjoying the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for such a great review of Dunes Village Resort, we take great pride in making sure we train our staff to go above and beyond what you would expect to find at your average resort. Our amenities and location make it fun and easy for people to enjoy coming back to year after year. We look forward to seeing your family again for another great stay at Dunes Village Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had another great stay at the Dunes. Room was clean for the most part. Could do better job cleaning coffe table and table, finger prints all over glass top. Only big problem was friday and saturday night, you could hear people in room above us for hours. Not sure what was going on but almost sounded like someone was roller skating across the floor. Back and forth, back and forth, back and forth. That was the only real hang up. Kids loved the pool and easy to get to the beach. No problems checking in and no problems getting food in bar to take back to room. Would come back if there prices don't keep going up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Dunes Village Resort. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed over the weekend by noise from another unit. I want to ensure you that we do have security here on staff to address any guest issues or concerns during their stay. Anytime you have an issue of this sort, feel free to call down to the front desk and we will have the issue addressed to ensure you enjoy your vacation. It’s great to hear that you did enjoy the resort itself overall though, our waterparks and easy beach access make it fun and enjoyable for all. Our staff is some of the best on the beach, striving to make your stay exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Came down in October 2012 for a long weekend golf getaway.My first impression of the hotel was not great.After we dragged our suitcases and golf travel bags into the lobby, we were hastily greeted at the desk by a woman who said their system was down and we could not check in. We asked if she could hold our bags behind the counter while we went to get lunch, she refused and said she had nowhere to put the. This way frustrating after a 3 hour flight and dragging 3 huge bags out of our tiny compact car. They did not call us as promised to tell us we could check in. Rude, but whatever we're on vacation.
Other than that, great location! We had an ocean front room with a kitchen and awesome view. The beds were not comfortable and slightly outdated (the itchy comforter and fiber woven fleece blankets). My husband and I enjoyed the convenience of the bar for lunch. We were like 2 big kids at the indoor water park! You do not have to worry about being bored on a rainy day!

Room Tip: Ask for the South Tower, its newer and nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Dunes Village Resort. I am saddened by the beginning of your vacation starting off so rocky, but thrilled to hear that it became all that you expected it to be. Our staff is generally much more accomodating than you would typically expect them to be, and this just does not sound like how we treat our guests, so I apologize for these shortcomings on the front end of your stay with us.

All feedback regarding our guest stay is addressed with the people it pertains to, so I expect you to be pleased with the reception you receive on your next visit. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I really liked that this resort was beachfront and was right off a major road, which made it easy to get there and to find restaurants and attractions nearby. There were quite a few pools to choose from; it was great to have a variety to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dunes Village Resort is located in a convenient, yet quiet location right here in Myrtle Beach. We have a lot of diversions right here on property, so there is no need to venture out if you don't want to. But if you do, we are truly 1 block back from a major highway, aiding you in getting to and from the many attractions in town.

We are glad you found a variety of pools and slides to entertain you, and we hope that you choose to visit us again soon for some more fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Once again - another great stay at Dunes Village. We go at least once a year - usually over Christmas. The weather can be hit or miss, which is why having the 2 indoor waterparks is awesome. The room was clean and spacious, and we had the extended balcony - which we love. So many dolphin sightings this year! Lots of daily activites for the kids as well. Special thanks to the staff - especially Cari in guest services who always remembers us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dunes Village Resort, and I, really appreciate your loyalty.

Generally I don't personalize these responses, but I would just like to say that it is a pleasure seeing you and your family every year.

I thank you for brightening my days and hope to see you sooner than next Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Dunes Village this year. It was just going to be a quick weekend end getaway but we had such an amazing time that we added another night. When we checked in we were greeted by a wonderful young man at the front desk, Jordan Starnes, who made us feel like we were VIP. He made sure everything was taken care of and when he saw we had young children he made sure that we had a room in the building with the most suitable waterpark.

We will be staying at Dunes from now on anytime we plan to stay in Myrtle Beach!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience. We are thrilled to hear that your first visit with us was a success, thanks to Jordan (who is awesome, by the way).

Our staff and resort is worthy of extending your vacation, and we are happy to hear that you did.

We think that all of our guests are VIP, and we are so glad to hear that you felt that way.

We look forward to having you back here again. Please let us know when we can help you with your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.