We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% OFF Sept. HOT Deals
Ranked #9 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
New Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Came down in October 2012 for a long weekend golf getaway.My first impression of the hotel was not great.After we dragged our suitcases and golf travel bags into the lobby, we were hastily greeted at the desk by a woman who said their system was down and we could not check in. We asked if she could hold our bags behind the counter while we went to get lunch, she refused and said she had nowhere to put the. This way frustrating after a 3 hour flight and dragging 3 huge bags out of our tiny compact car. They did not call us as promised to tell us we could check in. Rude, but whatever we're on vacation.
Other than that, great location! We had an ocean front room with a kitchen and awesome view. The beds were not comfortable and slightly outdated (the itchy comforter and fiber woven fleece blankets). My husband and I enjoyed the convenience of the bar for lunch. We were like 2 big kids at the indoor water park! You do not have to worry about being bored on a rainy day!

Room Tip: Ask for the South Tower, its newer and nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Dunes Village Resort. I am saddened by the beginning of your vacation starting off so rocky, but thrilled to hear that it became all that you expected it to be. Our staff is generally much more accomodating than you would typically expect them to be, and this just does not sound like how we treat our guests, so I apologize for these shortcomings on the front end of your stay with us.

All feedback regarding our guest stay is addressed with the people it pertains to, so I expect you to be pleased with the reception you receive on your next visit. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,110
    762
    259
    132
    92
See reviews for
2268
435
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I really liked that this resort was beachfront and was right off a major road, which made it easy to get there and to find restaurants and attractions nearby. There were quite a few pools to choose from; it was great to have a variety to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dunes Village Resort is located in a convenient, yet quiet location right here in Myrtle Beach. We have a lot of diversions right here on property, so there is no need to venture out if you don't want to. But if you do, we are truly 1 block back from a major highway, aiding you in getting to and from the many attractions in town.

We are glad you found a variety of pools and slides to entertain you, and we hope that you choose to visit us again soon for some more fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Once again - another great stay at Dunes Village. We go at least once a year - usually over Christmas. The weather can be hit or miss, which is why having the 2 indoor waterparks is awesome. The room was clean and spacious, and we had the extended balcony - which we love. So many dolphin sightings this year! Lots of daily activites for the kids as well. Special thanks to the staff - especially Cari in guest services who always remembers us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dunes Village Resort, and I, really appreciate your loyalty.

Generally I don't personalize these responses, but I would just like to say that it is a pleasure seeing you and your family every year.

I thank you for brightening my days and hope to see you sooner than next Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Dunes Village this year. It was just going to be a quick weekend end getaway but we had such an amazing time that we added another night. When we checked in we were greeted by a wonderful young man at the front desk, Jordan Starnes, who made us feel like we were VIP. He made sure everything was taken care of and when he saw we had young children he made sure that we had a room in the building with the most suitable waterpark.

We will be staying at Dunes from now on anytime we plan to stay in Myrtle Beach!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience. We are thrilled to hear that your first visit with us was a success, thanks to Jordan (who is awesome, by the way).

Our staff and resort is worthy of extending your vacation, and we are happy to hear that you did.

We think that all of our guests are VIP, and we are so glad to hear that you felt that way.

We look forward to having you back here again. Please let us know when we can help you with your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Dunes Village Resort from our honeymoon. We had an amazing time. The resort is everything we could have asked for. The staff were friendly and very helpfully with helping find restuarants to eat at and driving directions. Very clean rooms and the water park was perfect. The views from the room were breathtaking. The only down fall we had was went the first week of January and most of the shows in town were closed for season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your Honeymoon at Dunes Village Resort. What a fun place to kick off a fantastic life together!

Our staff is fantastic, helpful and friendly. We strive to ensure all of our guests have a 5 star experience, and we are thrilled to hear that we succeeded with you.

Congratulations on your recent nuptuals. We hope you come back and spend every anniversary with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pricneton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for 4 years now and love the Dunes Village Resort! The hotel staff is great. We enjoyed time at the pool daily and in the evening we had great time with the Bar staff and Chef. Spending time at the bar with the Bar Tenders and Chef really made this trip a great time, our children was with us however we did get some Adult time as well. We will continue to come back each year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your Dunes Village Resort experience. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to taking care of you and your family for many more years.

We agree with the fact that our staff is great. The bar staff are always full of fun, and Chef makes sure that everyone is sated and happy with delicious food and a warm reception.
Hopefully adult time included a signature Voodoo Bucket which makes any time a good time.

We cannot wait to have you back again. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband & I have stayed at Dunes Village 4 times and everytime it has been great! The rooms are always very clean and the view is beautiful from the oceanfront rooms. We stayed New Years eve this year. We had a great time on the waterslides & in the hot tub. We ordered take out from the resturant and the sandwiches & mashed potatos were really good. I called down at about 8:30 for a cab, the front desk was very helpful and the cab was at the resort within 10 minutes. We will go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Dunes Village Resort. We are happy to hear that you had some fun while you were here! New Years Eve was a very exciting time around here, and we are so glad you were able to join us.

It is nice to hear that you have been here numerous times, and we look forward to serving you again soon! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;