We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thanksgiving holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Asheville, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My family (8 adults and 3 children) rented a four bedroom condo for three days at Thanksgiving. This was our second Thanksgiving at Dunes Village Resort and both times had a wonderful time. We really enjoyed the water park and the outdoor pools which were heated. The condo was great with plenty of room for everyone. We cooked a big Thanksgiving dinner in the kitchen and by planning our time, were able to have everything ready on time. The kitchen was very well eqipped with plenty of cookware and dishes. The staff was wonderful as we had several special requests and they went out of their way to accommodate us. Thanksgiving morning we all participated in the Surfside Beach Turkey Trot which was lots of fun and a great way to prepare for our feast later that day. We will be back next Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Dunes Village Resort. Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday here. It is great to hear that we have become a tradition for you, and we look forward to having you here for many more Thanksgivings. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,016
    742
    241
    124
    86
See reviews for
2173
424
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski Va.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

While I must begin this review with a caveat stating that i am not a great fan of Myrtle Beach, I can honestly say that this hotel has went a long way toward changing my mind. The hotel is in a great location, close enough to anything that you may want to do, but far enough away from the boardwalk area to enjoy a peaceful beach.

I cannot say one negative thing about this hotel. The entire staff was courteous and went out of their way to be very friendly. The water park was perfect for the kids, and the view from the balcony was perfect for my wife and I. We liked the hotel so much that we changed our plans and jumped on the offer to stay an extra night at a reduced rate.

I highly recommend this hotel for families with kids. As parents our main concern is for our children. They had a blast, and with the hotel being away from the crowds there was never a concern for the safety of the kids at all.

If the timing and value lines up again we will definitley revisit this hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Ocean Front Queen with a family of five. Plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for such high praise. Dunes Village Resort is located in a residential part of Myrtle Beach, away from the craziness, and it is quite and safe here.

We agree that our staff is friendly. It has been mentioned a few times now, and it is great that the sentiment continues.

It is great to hear that the whole family enjoyed all that we have to offer, and we do hope you find your way back to Myrtle Beach again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winooski, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed there a few days the week of Thanksgiving. Had a great time! Our boys (8 and 5) loved the water park. The water park seems suited for kids up to at least 15 years old, so we'll be returning for many years. The property is well maintained and the pool area is clean. Our room was just what we were expecting. Athyna in the restaurant is awesome! Thanks for the coffees :) Don't let the parking situation worry you. There's plenty of parking for loading and unloading and the garage across the street feels no less secure than on site parking. Had one incident with an apparent homeless person who wandered in from the beach into the water park area. He seemed a little sketchy and tossed his sweat shirt into the corner of the room before leaving out the front door. All told he was in the room for about 15 seconds. I was able to notify the security guard and she took the situation very seriously even though it turns out he was mostly just using the property as a shortcut.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday with Dunes Village Resort. I am thrilled to hear that you will continue to visit us in the future. Thank you also for mentioning our security guard. We have a full security staff who all take their job very seriously, and it is nice to hear that someone noticed.

Hope you and the family get back here soon! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Holly and Tina went above and beyond in heloing us to find a room for one additional night (a Saturday) in September. We had already stayed for 10 days and the extended day was to be beautiful. We were contacted and advised that we were able to stay in the same room and, although we paid a bit more, it was very wekk worth it.

We've stayed at Dunes for several years in an ocean front studio that is well appointed although the bathroom is a bit on the compact size, but it works for us.

I can't say enough about the great customer service we received from Holly and Tina and hope to see them again in September 2013.

Room Tip: Tip your housekeeper. They work hard and deserve a good bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Dunes Village Resort. I am happy to hear that Holly and Tina were able to assist you with an extended stay. They are 2 of the most hospitable young ladies, with a goal of ensuring all our guests have a perfect experience here at Dunes Village Resort. Thank you for noticing, and thank you for mentioning them. Customer service is very improtant to us, and the two of them take their jobs seriously.

We look forward to having you back in September! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

For the first this past summer, we decided to stay at the Dunes Village. My family and I absolutely loved the resort, the family atmosphere, the pools, the restaurant and everything else it offers. We decided to go back 2 weeks later...The staff is wonderful, the rooms and are super clean and the ocean view is great, the restaurant downstairs has excellent food and the staff was very warm and welcoming. The rooms have wifi, and very easy to connect to...I highly recommend this resort for family or couple vacations!!! You will love it and will want to go back again!!! Enjoy :)))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We are so happy to hear that we impressed you enough to have you come back 2 weeks later!

Our staff takes pride in their jobs. There is nothing we won't do to help you make that perfect vacation. All you have to do is ask.

We hope you can get back here soon for a few more wonderful vacations! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is my first review...Some things to mention, we travelled for the first time to Myrtle Beach with inlaws and 9 and 4 year olds. We arrived a bit before ck in and our room wasnt ready, but they took our cell number and gave us parking passes. We had a nice lunch in the capts cafe and then got our room keys. I must mention the hallways are mostly "outdoor" and open and drafty. So walks from the water park back to your room was chilly and breezy, Id suggest bringing a robe! But the kids didnt mind and it was a quick walk. WE LOVED having the kitchen, as we were there for a week, we cooked all our breakfasts and most lunches. The kitchen had plenty of silverware/plates. There were 3 glass bowls sm med lrg., one plastic lg bowl. one 8 inch skillet and one 10 ish inch skillet, one 2 qt pan and one sauce pan....It had flippers, can opener, blender, knives, coffee pot, toaster (4 slice) and micro, stove, full fridge. A few more bowls would have been nice...but was ok with what we had. They provided dish washer soap and dish soap, and wash cloths and towels for the kitchen a nice bonus! Some things not to forget....salt and pepper and other spices AND ziploc bags and saran wrap...Only if you plan to cook in! There were many grocery store options and the front desk was extremely helpful with this. We mostly shopped at the BiLo on 38th Ave. But there were many choices. The waterparks of course have chlorine, so pack the kids goggles!! We broke the rules and did wrap the kids in towels from the pool to our rooms...its off season and there were plenty so I didn't feel too guilty about it! The WONDERFUL Find was the outdoor pool and lazy river at The Palms were well heated!!! So we could breathe fresh outdoor air which was chilly...but the water was balmy!!!! We enjoyed many hours in the pool! The coffee shop was nice and hubby did have a cup of coffee one day. The Capts cafe had GREAT SERVICE and prices were about what we expected to pay at a resort. We skipped the breakfast buffet...But did attend the Admirals Room for the Thanksgiving Buffet, the Executive Chef was extremely pleasant and cooked over 550lbs of turkey this year! WOW! The food was good, service good..But be advised YOU NEED RESERVATIONS!!! the room is small! and they have 3 seatings (there was a meal availabe at the cafe as well) ..OR there are many many restaurants that offer turkey dinners in the area as well so don't fret!
We had an ocean front deluxe 3 bd rm condo for the week, and the housekeeping staff was very helpful and pleasant and gave us extra kitchen towels when asked..and we did put our privacy needed notice in the door lock every night until we were up and moving in the morning! just a tip...if you dont want to be surprised! We did have a different housekeeper everyday with the holiday, but they were all pleasant and unobtrusive.
Our view was simply breathtaking! Had balconies of master and living area..in the off season when temps are cooler you really MUST get an ocean view! When its breezy or chilly you arent going to want to sit on the beach..but from the comfort of you room....you can see it all! We were put in The Palms Tower floor 10, and our view was great of the skywheel and sunrises and sun sets as well....BEAUTIFUL!
Ckin staff and ckout staff was pleasant and gave us a map of the resort. I would suggest taking a few mins to walk around and see whats there! We found the putt putt on the last day! YES the parking garage is across the street....but we always found a spot, the parking garage elevators are very slow moving so find a lower spot if possible! I would strongly suggest if travelling with handicapped, BRING YOUR handicap parking tag, OR pick them up at the dropoff/pick up zone. The extended golf cart did transport people to and from parking garage, but unless they happened to be there we usually just walked it. It really wasnt that far! There was NO traffic in the off season and parking was permitted in the streets during the day.
Let me say, this resort is hybrid of a condo or house on the beach and a hotel. We have stayed many times in rental homes on the beach....But this was better!
In the offseason This is where you want to stay with kids!
We will be back!
OHHH yeah....wifi was extremely simple...gave us a log in and password at ck in and it was reliable daily/nightly! at no extra charge..THANKS DUNES VILLAGE!

Room Tip: I would say floors 3 and up have best ocean views....We were on 10 and had great views...but lower w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your extremely detailed description of Dunes Village Resort. I have nothing to add, other than Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your wonderful descriptions. I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed so much of what we have to offer, and we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Dec. 14--20th, 2010 my mom had stage four colon cancer and had a very short time to live and her last wish was to go and watch the ocean. We booked a few rooms at dunes and spent four wonderful days together. I have stayed at many places in myrtle beach but this still is the best place I know. When the manager realized why we were they sent up a complementary fruit basket, staff helped with her oxygen machine, gave us valet service and were completely amazing anything we needed they were glad to help. All the kids loved the water parks, and we ate some delicious seafood at their restarant, even though it was late in the year we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. We had 20ppl four rooms one with a view of the ocean from three sides and on our final day we took family pictures; I will always be grateful for the time we shared together and for the hospitality at dunes. We lost mom just a short week later; but she smiled the whole time we were there and I know she found the peace she was searching for.

Room Tip: The two bedroom oceanfront was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in, it is more like an apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
That is one of the most touching stories I have heard with regard to Dunes Village Resort.

I am so glad that a good time was had by all. Thank you for sharing. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.