We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to write this review.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% OFF Sept. HOT Deals
Ranked #11 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Had to write this review.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First off I have read many reviews regarding many properties locations and restaurants. It is my experience that with even the nicest places you can't please everyone. I have only posted one other review and that was for an Amalfi Coast tour by Joe Bananas that was over the top excellent. This is the second one I have posted and it is in reply to the post "Just Okay, Overrated dated November 12th.
First off I can't believe it takes you that long to walk across the street because thats where the garage is. Secondly all during the daylight hours there is a free shuttle for those that don't like to walk and the people that man it are as nice as you will ever see.
We stayed at the Palms and our klds and grandchildren were at the Palmetto. I guess it's just taste but we thought the waterpark at the Palmetto was nicer. The walk back and forth was sometimes nice and sometimes brisk but it was only about thirty yards. As far as the chlorine well I for one after seeing all the young children in the water was happy to see they liberally use the chemical if you know what I mean.
We were at the hotel for a month and the staff was excellent. We were always greeted courteously . The room although not new was clean and everything was well looked after.
This is an extremely popular property that is well used and the staff aims to please. I think anyone who looks at the reviews for this property should look at the majority of them and then decide for yourselves if this property is worth staying at. It certainly was for our family.
(As a post script we have been going to Myrtle Beach since 1979 as many as four times a year and we feel this hotel is right up there for the price as one of our favourite locations in Myrtle Beach.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Dunes Village Resort. It is true that you can't please everyone, and we certainly try to accomodate all wishes and desires. Health and safety are our top priority here at Dunes Village Resort, as well as the happiness of our guests.

We appreciate the fact that you spent a wonderful and noteworthy month with us and hope that you will do so again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,144
    771
    263
    135
    93
See reviews for
2300
440
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington,sc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Hotel was great in every aspect from check in to check out.The staff were great housekeeping,maintenance,guest services and the service in Captains cafe and the Admiral room the Thanksgiving buffet was excellent and hope you continue this in the future, The service was great especially Dan and Shawn in the Admiral,can we say above and beyond. The pools and the activities for the kids and not to mention the beach just feet away was great. We as a family of two 8 yr olds we recommend to try it and you will see the rave for yourself. Thank you to all at The Dunes Village Resort yall made our holiday soo much more than expected,Keep it up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We will continue to be excellent at Dunes Village Resort as long as you continue to come back. The staff here wants nothing more than to provide you with a 5 star stay. "Above and beyond" is how we do everything here, and we are glad you noticed.

Thank you for making Dunes Village Resort your holiday destination this year. See you next year, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wow!. Superb. Excellent! I can't speak highly enough of this resort and the staff. My family and I stay in Myrtle Beach about 30 days a year from North Carolina. We have stayed at the Dunes before. We had family fly in from Iowa and we all stayed on the 9th floor. The rooms were , well, five star all the way...... The staff are excellent, and in particular Jordan Starnes , Asst Guest Mgr. He "hooked" us up with the rooms, and then on Sunday arranged for a late check out so we could accomodate folks getting to the airport and packing up food etc... And hats off to Courtney, Chef Moen, and Chrissy in the bar/restaurant. Excellent food and drink, and thanks to you girls for hooking me up at the "private chair" for wayward husbands..(wink wink)......the facilties here are the best. I highly recommend Dunes Village Resort. On a scale from 1 to 10, you guys rate 100! You rock.

Thanks so much for the great time and we'll be seeing you all again soon.

Bryce , Michelle, and Bryce Jr.
The Neier Family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for such high praise regarding your stay at Dunes Village Resort! Your energy and excitement when describing your stay is contagious. I am so excited that you have such a warm feeling about us and that you and your family were accomodated so thoroughly!

Everyone you mentioned, along with the rest of the Dunes Village Resort staff, want to provide you with the perfect stay. It appears we have succeeded. Thanks for sharing! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had Thanksgiving Dinner at the Captains Cafe and our server Chrissy was super. She was very cheery and made our day. The room was extremely clean and user friendly. The view was terrific.The room had WiFi and was easy to use. Nice having a Milwalkees best coffee shop in lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend your Thanksgiving Holiday at Dunes Village Resort. We take holidays seriously, this year adding a scrumtious Thanksgiving feast in the Admirals Room to our eating options, and what a success it was! The Captains Cafe plated meal was just as wonderful, and it seems we had a lot of full and happy guests. I hope you can get back here for Christmas, as that is looking to be just as spectacular.

Thanks for your review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hotel after staying at others I'll never stay anywhere else! The Thanksgiving buffet was really good and the staff was great! Thanks to D'Angelo for his service and his sense of humor! We loved the kids club and the pools! The only complaint is having to ask for numerous things from housekeeping:( overall I would totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Dunes Village Resort experience with the world. We are happy to have been able to rpovide you with a 5 star stay, and hope to continue to do so for many years to come.

We are glad to hear that the Thanksgiving Buffet was good for you. This was our first year offering the dining option, and it went off perfectly, as if we had been offering it for years. Dan and his staff were well prepared and excited to feed so many.

Keep recommending us and we will continue to keep you satisfied! Thanks again for joining us for your holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We took our two kids aged 10 & 7 for a 3 day weekend. We go to Myrtle Beach every November for the race and have been searching for a fun place to stay with the kids. Well, we have found our forever place! Right when we checked in we had a great feeling. The staff were friendly, the buildings were very nice, the parking garage is spacious. They even have a golf cart to carry you to each building or the parking garage! We were in the Palmetto Building on the second floor. They have a gift shop for all of your coffee needs, snacks, gift items, ice cream and more! We had a king room with sleeper sofa. The room was large and the beds were comfy. The balcony was nice, two chairs and a small table and a smokers station. The shower had good pressure and with two sinks, one in the bathroom and a vanity area in the bedroom, it made getting the kids and us ready easy. The kitchen is tiny but there is a full size fridge. My husband and son enjoyed the work out room. It isn't much, a bowflex type machine, but it does the trick. You have to try the breakfast buffet one morning! They have it all! For the price, you can't go to any breakfast buffet for that! And the staff is on top of it! The food is great and you can see the ocean waves while you eat! We only went to the water park in our building but it was so perfect for us. We rode the lazy river while the kids swam beside us or rode the water slides. You can see almost everything from the lazy river which is great. There are so many things to keep the kids busy that they will beg to stay all day! They even have floats that look like cars for the kids. They do have towels but ask that you don't take them to your rooms so I brought beach towels to walk to the room with. Most of the rooms are in an outside area. You have to go through the lobby to get to the hallway but then you walk through a door to an open corridor. Be sure to wash all of your dishes before you leave or you will get charged per their posting on the fridge. They have put put in a covered area and ocean front as well. They have a great playground for the kids and beach volleyball. This has become our place to stay in Myrtle Beach. We are already planning our next vacation!

Room Tip: The Palmetto Tower is geared for young kids and the Palms is for the teens and up. Any room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. You covered everything I would have, but ley me just add that the smokers post on the balcony is to ensure that you smoke outside, as all of our rooms are non-smoking.

We look forward to having you back. Hope it is soon! Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First of all, parking is across the street and a good 5-8 min walk from our room in the Palmetto Tower. They don't mention that online when you book. The two towers are separate and you must walk outside to get to get back and forth between the two water parks. The Palms Tower where the better water park is and where all the kids activities are held has been nicely renovated, but the Palmetto tower needs work. Having to walk out in the cold if hopping from one water park to the next in the cold when kids are wet is not very attractive. Two ping pong tables had to share 1 ball. In my opinion the chlorine smell is over the top. I had headaches from it. The room had old carpet and old wicker furniture with very bland accents. The room also had a stench smell. One of the TVs looked like a computer monitor and was very small. My kids had fun, so that's what matters most , so if that's all you are concerned with, then you will like Dunes. We won't go back.

Room Tip: Request the Palms Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Dunes Village Resort, although I am glad to hear that the kids had fun! Every year our waterparks get an annual "fine-tuning" which is going on right now. Everything in both parks will be fresh and new in no time.

In the future, if you do decide to come again, keep in mind that we have a glof cart to shuttle you to the parking deck if you desire, or we can valet park your car as well.

Thanks for staying with us. We hope you change your mind and come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.