We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Cafe Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Back To School Special
Ranked #7 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captain Cafe Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had Thanksgiving Dinner at the Captains Cafe and our server Chrissy was super. She was very cheery and made our day. The room was extremely clean and user friendly. The view was terrific.The room had WiFi and was easy to use. Nice having a Milwalkees best coffee shop in lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend your Thanksgiving Holiday at Dunes Village Resort. We take holidays seriously, this year adding a scrumtious Thanksgiving feast in the Admirals Room to our eating options, and what a success it was! The Captains Cafe plated meal was just as wonderful, and it seems we had a lot of full and happy guests. I hope you can get back here for Christmas, as that is looking to be just as spectacular.

Thanks for your review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,637
    951
    332
    153
    112
See reviews for
2,812
516
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Really enjoyed this hotel after staying at others I'll never stay anywhere else! The Thanksgiving buffet was really good and the staff was great! Thanks to D'Angelo for his service and his sense of humor! We loved the kids club and the pools! The only complaint is having to ask for numerous things from housekeeping:( overall I would totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Dunes Village Resort experience with the world. We are happy to have been able to rpovide you with a 5 star stay, and hope to continue to do so for many years to come.

We are glad to hear that the Thanksgiving Buffet was good for you. This was our first year offering the dining option, and it went off perfectly, as if we had been offering it for years. Dan and his staff were well prepared and excited to feed so many.

Keep recommending us and we will continue to keep you satisfied! Thanks again for joining us for your holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We took our two kids aged 10 & 7 for a 3 day weekend. We go to Myrtle Beach every November for the race and have been searching for a fun place to stay with the kids. Well, we have found our forever place! Right when we checked in we had a great feeling. The staff were friendly, the buildings were very nice, the parking garage is spacious. They even have a golf cart to carry you to each building or the parking garage! We were in the Palmetto Building on the second floor. They have a gift shop for all of your coffee needs, snacks, gift items, ice cream and more! We had a king room with sleeper sofa. The room was large and the beds were comfy. The balcony was nice, two chairs and a small table and a smokers station. The shower had good pressure and with two sinks, one in the bathroom and a vanity area in the bedroom, it made getting the kids and us ready easy. The kitchen is tiny but there is a full size fridge. My husband and son enjoyed the work out room. It isn't much, a bowflex type machine, but it does the trick. You have to try the breakfast buffet one morning! They have it all! For the price, you can't go to any breakfast buffet for that! And the staff is on top of it! The food is great and you can see the ocean waves while you eat! We only went to the water park in our building but it was so perfect for us. We rode the lazy river while the kids swam beside us or rode the water slides. You can see almost everything from the lazy river which is great. There are so many things to keep the kids busy that they will beg to stay all day! They even have floats that look like cars for the kids. They do have towels but ask that you don't take them to your rooms so I brought beach towels to walk to the room with. Most of the rooms are in an outside area. You have to go through the lobby to get to the hallway but then you walk through a door to an open corridor. Be sure to wash all of your dishes before you leave or you will get charged per their posting on the fridge. They have put put in a covered area and ocean front as well. They have a great playground for the kids and beach volleyball. This has become our place to stay in Myrtle Beach. We are already planning our next vacation!

Room Tip: The Palmetto Tower is geared for young kids and the Palms is for the teens and up. Any room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. You covered everything I would have, but ley me just add that the smokers post on the balcony is to ensure that you smoke outside, as all of our rooms are non-smoking.

We look forward to having you back. Hope it is soon! Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First of all, parking is across the street and a good 5-8 min walk from our room in the Palmetto Tower. They don't mention that online when you book. The two towers are separate and you must walk outside to get to get back and forth between the two water parks. The Palms Tower where the better water park is and where all the kids activities are held has been nicely renovated, but the Palmetto tower needs work. Having to walk out in the cold if hopping from one water park to the next in the cold when kids are wet is not very attractive. Two ping pong tables had to share 1 ball. In my opinion the chlorine smell is over the top. I had headaches from it. The room had old carpet and old wicker furniture with very bland accents. The room also had a stench smell. One of the TVs looked like a computer monitor and was very small. My kids had fun, so that's what matters most , so if that's all you are concerned with, then you will like Dunes. We won't go back.

Room Tip: Request the Palms Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Dunes Village Resort, although I am glad to hear that the kids had fun! Every year our waterparks get an annual "fine-tuning" which is going on right now. Everything in both parks will be fresh and new in no time.

In the future, if you do decide to come again, keep in mind that we have a glof cart to shuttle you to the parking deck if you desire, or we can valet park your car as well.

Thanks for staying with us. We hope you change your mind and come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We like to hit indoor water parks for quick getaways when it's cold. But, this is a very different experience than Great Wolf Lodge so set your expectations accordingly. There is a water park in each of the towers with a few slides and lazy river, but it's not a full-blown park. But that's not a bad thing. During our one-night midweek stay, the parks were nearly empty. Even though the water is the draw, we seemed to spend just as much time on ping-pong and shuffleboard. The midweek rates were very reasonable; less than half of GWL. That meant we could play in the water and still have money left for fun at Broadway at the Beach. The room we had was an oceanfront studio on a high floor. Plenty of room, 2 TV's, plus a kitchenette. The room we got this time seemed a bit more dated than our last stay, but not objectionable. I typically stay away from Myrtle Beach if there's even a chance of it being busy, but for a quick fall or winter trip, it works for us. We skip the breakfast buffet, though. Wasn't that appealing and there are lots of good breakfast options nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed what we had to offer, and that you found us to be reasonably priced for the value of what you receive.

The rooms are in the process of being analyzed for some updates, so expect some changes the next time you are here. There are also a bunch of other changes in the works that will amaze and delight.

We look forward to having you back soon. Thanks again for staying at Dunes Village Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed A night during the Halloween celebration for one of the fall specials. The staff went all out and really dressed up creatively. I enjoy the water park when it's less crowded but in the rainy weather it was pretty full. It is a great park with a variety of things to do for all ages. One of our kids enjoyed shuffle board, ping pong and foosball more than the pools. The staff worked hard to keep the towels stocked. We participated in the trick or treat party which was crowded but fun. I think the weather meant a more condensed location for the events. Next year they should move the afterparty to a larger room if they have one. The rooms were nice. We stayed in a Deluxe oceanview 2bedroom. Only suggestion is to put the do not disturb out if you have late sleepers. After a late night House keeping woke us up before 9am the morning of our departure and this housekeeper in particular was rude. Just a fresh reminder to put that out before going to bed. We will check the calendar for that next odd date the kids have off to try to get there when it's not crowded.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your Halloween experience at uUnes Village Resort. You came during one of our BIGGEST and most fun events. Our annual Halloween "Spooktacular" has been added excitement for 5 years now, and gets better every year.

Try us again at Easter for a HUGE Easter Egg event, complete with a visit from the Eater Bunny!

We hope to see you then, if not sooner! Thanks again for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First time to Myrtle Beach and won't be my last.
Booked this place based on trip advisor and am so happy that I did.
King studio had a small kitchen along with 2 televisions that I think is a little odd, they are right next to each other, one mounted on the center wall would kill 2 birds with one stone, not that I would actually kill a bird.
Indoor water park was amazing !!
For a family with children or even for a couple, this place has it all !!
My only issues were minor carpet stains and mold on the bottom of the shower curtain.
Other then that, this would of been a 5 point review.
This resort is also about a 2 mile drive from the strip which actually was great for me.

Room Tip: Parking garage located across the street makes for a 3 minute walk to get your car. This seems to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We are pleased to hear that Tip Advisor helped you make the decision to stay with us, and we really appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experiences.

Dunes Village Resort is a fabulous resort with so much to offer that it is hard to get bored. We definitely hope you get back here to see us again for some more fun and excitement. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#22 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#12 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
5.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#20 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#8 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.