We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Village Resort to your Saves list
Dunes Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$79 Spring Special
Ranked #10 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, PA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful Condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at the Dunes Village Resort from Nov.2 to the Nov.7 in the Palmetto Tower. The hotel was well maintained on the outside and the parking garage was a real plus. The hotel has exterior corridors. This was a bit of a problem because when the weather turned and it became windy with driving rain, we really couldn't leave the room without getting drenched. It did have an overhang but this wasn't enough with the weather we were experiencing. Check in was easy. We reserved a room that was called Angle Oceanfront 2 Bedroom. The really cool part was they gave us a penthouse room! We thought it was odd that we were walking towards the street for a room that was called Oceanfront. After a 10 hour drive we were too tired to say anything at that time. At first glance we were very happy with the room. Beautiful layout, everything you could possibly need. It had central air, a dining room, a breakfast bar,dishwasher, fully stocked kitchen with dishes and utensils, washer and dryer, 3 flat screen tv's, couch and many assorted chairs. The balcony was really large and was facing south, which was great since at this time of the year it was chilly and we were able to sit outside because the sun was shining on this side of the building in the afternoon. The whole side of this room had glass patio doors. It was stunning.The only negative was that the kitchen and dining area was not exactly clean. The dining room table had crumbs on it and the chairs and sofa had crumbs and stains. The stove looked like someone used a dirty towel and smeared grease on it. Once we cleaned off the surfaces we were good to go. It also could have been dusted. The bathroom however was spotless and so were the bedrooms. Perhaps these other areas are used harder. We did it eat in the Captains Cafe and this turned out to be really good and the server was terrific. Seattle Best was never open. As a tip bring your own coffee the hotel does not give you any unless you go to the desk and ask for it. Myrtle Beach hotels seem to do this often, so I know the drill. We didn't use the water areas for some reason it didn't feel that inviting. It seemed more for children. This may be our fault we prefer more of the indoor pool kind of thing, this was more slides and hot tubs. We did bring up the room location the following day but the desk clerk didn't seem to care that we weren't really oceanfront. It would have been nicer to be closer to the ocean but we did have a view, only from the master bedroom and the balcony. North Myrtle Beach is more removed from the action. I think I would have preferred to be alittle closer to shops and restaurants. We had to drive everywhere. All and all this place would be hard to beat and it would be on my list of great places to stay. If I ever moved to the beach this condo was beautiful and the layout was just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. If you get the top no noise from people above you. Just make sure oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,466
    882
    306
    149
    105
See reviews for
2,588
498
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at Dunes Village in August and had a wonderful time. Yes, the place is full of kids, but mostly they stay at the waterparks (there are two), so even as a couple, it was very nice. The location is a bit north from the hustle and bustle of downtown Myrtle Beach, which can be nice, but it gets quiet in the evenings and you need transportation to get to good shopping or restaurants, so either a car or a taxi. But its much nicer here than in North Myrtle Beach. Although, you should head to North Myrtle Beach for the best buffet restaurants.
Our room was very clean, the kitchenette was small but helpful. We bought snacks and drinks and took our own drinks to the pool and beach, so saved a lot of money.
Also, bring your own beach chairs and umbrellas - it costs $30 a day to rent the ones on the beach, and you can buy chairs there for $10 and umbrellas for $15 in the local stores, so if you're staying for a few days, it's worth it.
The pools were small, but clean - everything was clean and the beach was totally awesome!
We had an ocean front room and the view was breathtaking.
Overall, I would definitely go back to Myrtle Beach and I would definitely go back to Dunes Village the next time we go.

Room Tip: Definitely, pay the little bit extra for an ocean-front - it was worth it! But try to be a bit high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

It was my bday week! Went down to the beach to have fun w/ family. The place was awesome. very clean and spacious room. Nice view even if we got the angle view oceanfront. The waterpark was to die for! My whole family enjoyed especially my two kids! The front desk people are very nice and helpful! Kudos to all you staff! They cant wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are always the best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

First time we stayed at The Dunes Village Resort. Our kids are in year-round school so we enjoy going to the beach during their fall break. We've stayed at several places in Myrtle Beach but this is probably one of our favorites now. The indoor waterpark/pools really make the trip for us and our kids. The water was warm and the kids loved the slides.

My first impression on check-in was great. It was decorated with Fall/Halloween items which gave a festive and family-friendly feel. Front desk service was very warm and friendly. Our room was great too. We had my in-laws with us and 2 kids so we chose the 2 bedroom suite with angled beach view. The view was perfect especially from the master bedroom. The den was a little small but since we were swimming or out and about most of the time it did not matter. If I was decorating the room I would have put a smaller table and chairs in it but that is not enough to take away from the accomodations.

We will definitely go again to this facility and have already shared the location with friends who have reservations coming up so that they are looking forward to their stay too.

Room Tip: Coffee drinkers - bring your own filters and coffee for your rooms. There is a coffee maker but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you have kids, this is a great, great place to stay. The indoor water parks area great, the staff is on full alert for any child that MAY wander away, you're right on the beach, a short drive to all the popular places Myrtle Beach has to offer. If you don't have kids, go elsehwhere, this place is swarming with them.

The one negative : check in was a nightmare. We arrived at the proper check in time - as did the rest of those checking into the hotel. There were only two check-in agents ( I'm not sure if the front desk is even prepared to have more than two check-in agents ) We were in line for a long, long time.

We also bought the breakfast option with our room package - again - big, big line. I was told it would move quickly - it did not. We never ate breakfast at the hotel because of this ( and we made sure to get there early to 'beat the line' - no such luck ). I asked for some sort of a refund on the breakfast portion of my package since I would not be able to use it. The front desk would not help me with this.

Overall - the hotel is great. If you're going during a busy time ( like spring break, etc ) be prepared for some long check in lines/breakfast lines...but location, rooms and what it has to offer - all is great once your settled.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, ky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My family and I were at Dunes Village Resort in September and everyone had a great time!
Our adult children, their spouses, and my 2 year old grand daughter loved it. We were in the Palms building on the side furthest away from the pool areas. Would have preferred to be closer but we had a deluxe 3 bedroom condo and it was only in the Palms. Hope we can all go again. Thanks for the hospitality Dunes!!

Room Tip: choose the Palmetto building if you have small children,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We just got home today from staying at Dunes Villas. The staff was very nice. The room/grounds and pools were very clean. The our housekeeper was very pleasant and wanted to make sure we had everything needed. We had plenty towels/towlette paper/kitchen towels etc. every day. We stayed in the queen delux suite with the extended balcony which was awesome. The beds were very comfortable. WE loved the towel animals and tissue flowers. Our room was beautiful with up to date and comfortable furniture. Our girls had a great time at the pools. There is so much to do there and most of it is free like mini golf, tennis, basket ball, pool table, ping pong and more. We feel like we should have paid more for the room than we did. We will be bank!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.