We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Shores Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 77th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Year's Eve
Ranked #48 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Carthage TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stayed at the Grand Shores on 77th. St. Was apprehensive about the rates that I received on the internet so I called directly to confirm. Everything was just as it was promised, perhaps better. The view from our hotel room was wonderful. We stayed in 1125. I would definitely consider staying here again. This time of year (Sept), it was as cheap as a Kabin at KOA campground.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    294
    106
    79
    62
See reviews for
436
203
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shallotte NC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend. The purpose of our stay was to attend his company christmas party. Which was booked at a nearby restaurant. There were about 50 or so other employees from the Shallotte, Raleigh, and Greensboro area that also stayed at this hotel. I was very disappointed with this hotel, especially the staff. Our room was booked a week prior to our stay. I called the day prior to our stay to ask a few simple questions about our room and the clerk had no answers for us and didn't even make an attempt to find out anything. Then when we got to our room we found trash under a chair, our toilet wouldn't stop running, and when we took showers the water pressure would fluctuate from full blast to just above a trickle. If that wasn't bad enough a fellow employee of my husbands stayed in a room nearby and he kept getting noise complaints on his room and he was the only one in his room sitting quietly. He tried to explain that it was not him but the security guard didn't want to listen he still threatened to kick him out of the hotel. After the complaint he left the hotel to go to the store and when he came back the security guard was at his room again stating there was another complaint. When no one had even been in his room for over an hour! It was pretty obvious at that point it wasn't him and the security guard didn't even apologise. Also on check out day we felt like they were trying to rush us out of our rooms by 9am when checkout isn't till 11am. We got a wake up call at 9am when we didn't request one and the maids were knocking on our door a few minutes after that.So,if you enjoy being harassed be the security guard for no reason, staying in a dirty, run down room or want to be rushed out hours before checkout this would be a great place to stay.

  • Liked — The view of the beach
  • Disliked — The staff and room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

This was just okay. If you want an okay vacation then book here. Went with myself, Hubby & 2 small kids
**Pro's:**
Nice Beach Location
Very close to everything
Decent Parking
Multiple pools help with crowds
Main Pool downstairs has food, drinks & music
Quick walk to beach
**Cons:**
Very outdated
Not very clean
All rooms are accessible only to the outside, be aware if you have height issues
Not all rooms have beach views (not what you are led to believe on the website)
Main pool on lower level was VERY busy and you could hardly get a seat

  • Liked — Main pool downstairs, food and music at this pool, great location with the private homes next door
  • Disliked — cleanliness, outdated
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

This was my 4th stay at Grande Shores Ocean Resort. I have had a great experience everytime I have been, It has always been very clean and cozy. The beds are great! I think the price is very reasonable compared to alot of other hotels and resorts in the area. I will be booking my next stay at Grande Shores as well.
Lisa in NC

  • Liked — Everything was great
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

very surprised at check in.we had a 2 bedroom suite that was on the 12th floor. place was very clean, surprisingly, being that close to the sandy beaches. The indoor pool was very warm and enjoyed by my 9 y/o. resaturant had a very nice breakfast buffet that was reasonable in price. i highly recommend this place especially if you can get the managers special price. I have paid over 3 times for a comparable place at the beach that were just as nice as this place. the only drawback is they need better sound proofing between rooms. Neighbors got up a little early and you can hear the cabinet doors in the other suite.. indoor pool a+, indoor jacuzzi, pool on 7th floor with 4 jacuzzis and a lazy river nice

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — sound from joining room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

great value, great location, clean. no complaints. stayed 4 nights. check in staff were both friendly and helpful on arrival and departure. we arrived early 11ish and asked if we could use the pool facilities until our room was ready. staff gave us towels and directed us to the 2 pool areas and restrooms. parking right outside our door. pool area was freshly painted and other areas of the hotel were being painted and well maintained. housekeeping forgot our room the first day but the other days did a good job. will definitely stay again

  • Liked — efficiency kitchenette
  • Disliked — hangers would fall off clips
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We stayed on the fourth floor looking North. Beautiful view, fantastic two bedroom condo.
Only problem was an item missing from our luggage. It was obvious someone had been inside the suitcase.
Contacted mgmt, I was told they would contact the cleaning staff. I received a call from mgmt and was told that cleaning knew nothing of the missing item.
Use the room safe for all valuables. The ones that won't fit would probably be safer in your vehicles trunk.

  • Liked — Very claen, modern
  • Disliked — theft
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Shores Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Address: 201 77th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Shores Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grande Shores Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grande Shores Ocean
Grande Shores Ocean Resort Myrtle Beach
Grande Shores Resort
Grande Shores Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Shores Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.