We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta love the 'off-season'!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Shores Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 77th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gotta love the 'off-season'!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have stayed at this property several times, and it never disappoints. Not the flashiest property, but with the location and amenities for a very pleasant stay. Winter prices are amazing- we stayed again in an oceanfront suite - even on the 10th floor you can hear the ocean. Nice view up the beach. Walking distance to grocery store, shopping, drugstore, etc. 5 minutes to the Carolina Opry / Pirates' Voyage. Our rooms have always been clean and well-appointed. Beds comfortable. TVs good quality. Free hi-speed wireless internet. Yes, there's some visible wear, but nothing stays new forever. I like the indoor parking and indoor pool in the winter We have stayed at several higher-end properties but see no reason to spend the extra $$$.

Room Tip: if not oceanfront, views are better from north side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and for being a return guest at Grande Shores. Off season is a great time for traveling to Grande Shores and for our team in housekeeping and engineering as they make improvements to our common areas and rooms. We certainly agree that our location is the most beautiful in Myrtle Beach. We hope to have you again soon. Don't forget spring is an amazing time to visit and our rates are great during that time as well. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    294
    107
    79
    62
See reviews for
437
203
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I could not find the great hotel that I read in tripadvisor reviews. Who wrote those reviews? the management? I found a hotel in desperated need of renovation. My room was run down, dirty arm chair, bedspreads and carpet. But I know that the beach is sandy so some the dirt comes from sand but dirty bedspreads? Few electrical outlets that I had to move the coffee machine to the bathroom to plug in so we could have am coffee. Refrigerator was good size, stove with oven but don't try to cook anything because no bakeware or detergent to clean your dishes. I have stayed in many hotels over the years but this place is one the the worse one I have seen. It had a good view of the beach but you can get that at any hotel. My best advice is take your money to another hotel and enjoy your Myrtle Beach stay. I won't be back here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Our management team is very sorry to read your review. We take our guest satisfaction seriously and never want a guest checking out so disappointed. I wish we could have addressed your concerns while you were staying at Grande Shores. We have many unit types and in almost all cases can find the right fit for our guests by simply moving rooms. Trip Advisor is a great travel review site and we take our reviews seriously, good and bad. Again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have condo units at Grande Shores and manage several other properties in the area. We would be happy to assist in finding just the right fit for you. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

since around 2008 my husband and i have had our thanksgiving near the ocean and grande shores is our favorite, we now have two grandchildren and it"s great to see the look on their faces when they see the ocean,we always have the same great condo, it's always clean and well stocked with kitchen supplies it's a home away from home... can't wait until thanksgiving 2014!!! we'll hopefully be there again...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you Sharon for your past business and your great review. We really need loyal guests like yourself and we appreciate you taking the time to share your Grande Shores experience with Trip Advisor visitors. Thanksgiving at the beach is special. Have a great New Year and thank you again for your review and recommending us to your friends. It does mean a lot to us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in one of the ocean from rooms. I was put up on the 5th floor, so the view was pretty good. One of the best parts of staying in this room was the early morning sun warming the room with the sound of the waves so distinct. The hotel can definitely do much more in terms of cleanliness but that did not matter much as it was just a one night at the hotel.

Room Tip: stay as high as possible to enjoy a good view. Your room will be confirmed on arrival. so turn in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing Grande Shores. Our oceanfront hotel rooms really do offer great views. We are happy to see you enjoyed those beautiful sun rises. I will also pass along your comments on cleanliness. We do not like seeing we disappointed in this area but will do additional inspections to assure we do no miss anything in the future. Again, thank you and Happy New Year to you and your family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassett, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Grande Shores is my favorite place to stay at Myrtle Beach (MB). I have been a guest there many times over the years and it feels like home. The location is great because it is next to a residential area, so there are no high-rise buildings to block your view when you are staying in an ocean-view room. They, of course, have ocean-front rooms because they are right on the beach, so you can walk right from the hotel onto the beach without having to worry about traffic. And, there is a really nice public access area right beside the hotel that makes it easy to load your sand buckets into your trunk before entering the multi-level, parking garage. The garage, however, makes it nice to have your car on the same floor as your room as long as you are not higher than the 7th floor. It is in the northern part of MB which is away from the crowds which makes it more peaceful...and, I like that. The beach-front pool and lazy river are nice, but the 7th floor pool terrace is amazing with 4 hot tubs, a pool, and another lazy river. There's just something special about being able to play in the water and overlook the ocean from that height. If the weather is too cold to swim outside, there is the indoor pool, hot tub, and kiddie pool. The staff are always friendly and helpful and go over and above the call of duty to make your stay pleasant. When we had to call about the toilet not flushing well, Dusty came and fixed it in just a few minutes and did a magic trick for my grandson. We usually have picnics when we come to the beach, but I remember having a delicious breakfast at the Shoreline Cafe during one of our stays. I look forward to my next stay at Grande Shores. I'm never disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
It means a great deal to us knowing you feel so at home at Grande Shores. Of course, we feel the Grande Shores is the best but hearing it from a guests makes us feel really great. Our staff does work very hard everyday hoping we can create a great environment for our guests. Thank you for choosing us and thank you for your great review. We hope to have the privilege of serving you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for a business trip recently - Nice location and loved the parking on the inside of the hotel. The hotel restaurant breakfast was very good and price was great. Close to the Tanger Outlet, Wal-Mart, and couple of minutes of walking access to the beach. I was well pleased.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We have had several business travelers this month and we are pleased to see you found our resort to be a nice place to return after a work day. We do strive to create a restful environment for all our guests, but certainly after conducting business every day it is especially important to find peace and quite. Thank you for sharing your experience and we wish you the best this holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a weekend business gathering with representatives from all Southern states. Accomodations were excellent and service was outstanding. I would recommend this site for family or business travel. Access to the beach was a plus. Close enough to the strip, yet absolutely no noise to contend with. Traveled in November, but the summer would be spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
You are lucky to have a business meeting at the beach! Thank you for choosing us and for recommending our resort to your friends. Our staff really works very hard and it means a lot hearing your experience was a great one. Thank you for your comment. We do hope you will return again for pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Shores Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Address: 201 77th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Shores Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grande Shores Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grande Shores Ocean
Grande Shores Ocean Resort Myrtle Beach
Grande Shores Resort
Grande Shores Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Shores Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.