We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Reef at South Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Crown Reef at South Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Reef at South Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   2913 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 35% off Summer
Ranked #162 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greenville, SC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2007

From a distance (across the street from the SouthBeach Resort), this place looks slick - on the outside. Inside, however is a different story. First annoyance was driving to the hotel only to find check-in is across the road, in the conference center. Our room rate during the off-season was $140.00 for three nights. It seems this was the average rate for most hotels on the Grand Strand in January. The room itself (King, non-smoking, kitchenette), was run-down. We stayed in tower #1, built, I was told in 1994. It looked like the room hadn't been upgrade much since then. Yeah, the TV was new, there was an "industrial" carpet that seemed new. The sheets were badly worn, the bedspread was sadly sun-worn. The matress itself was a hard-springy thing, almost like a trampoline. If I rolled over, my wife bounce along with it. The bed frame was bent, and the thing seemed to tilt down toward the head. Nice situation if you need to keep your feet elevated. The sofa bed smelled a bit like body odor. Just an escence, but enough to gross me out. The moring view from the third-floor balcony was incredible, as it would be from any room. The rooftop of the patio below us though was strewn with litter - lighters, makeup pencils - a beer can. The TV was relatively new. The high-speed internet signal was week. The elevators were smelly, but worked every time. We didn't eat in the restaurants, but checked them out at breakfast time. The pools and lazy river are the real reason we chose this place. It's hard to find a place with more water activities open during the winter. The indoor pool was pretty beaten up, in need of new coping, tile, and a fresh coat of paint. The chlorine levels were almost to the point indoors that our sinuses burned, just from the smell. We swam and found the water a balmy 90-degrees! We used almost ALL the hot tubs, and found them to be HOT, and nice, although a few were a bit "slimy" and could have used a cleaning. Strangely, when we returned to our rooms, we detected the unmistakeable scent of human urnine on our sandals. It easy to see how - with a lazy river running during the winter, and the warm water - families with children would find this place a nice place to stay. If you're looking for a a clean, modern, well-kept facility, this IS NOT your cup of tea. If you're looking for mediocre - at best - then you may be pleased, or somewhat disgusted. We won't stay here again.

  • Liked — Sunrise in the morning, ocean front room.
  • Disliked — Wierd smells, dirty place.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    196
    170
    204
    394
See reviews for
474
212
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

We have been going to Myrtle Beach for years for a 4 day guys get a way. This place is the best deal in the area. They are linked up with the Golf Link and you book the complete package with them. They are located in the motel main building. The motel is OK, it is getting a little old and the salt water is doing damage.

A good deal for what you pay.

  • Liked — Easy booking for complete golf trip
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFNC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

We've been visiting Myrtle Beach for over 10 years and the Crown Reef always looked like such a beautiful hotel from the outside. Checking in was wonderful, the front desk reception area is beautiful and the clerks were friendly, we even received a free gift when we checked in.
We reserved a King room, which was disappointing, the "whirlpool Tub" in the room was old and dirty and broken, there were holes in the tiny, tiny bathroom's walls, the complimentary blow dryer was a hose coming out of the wall. The view was nice, but the windows were dirty, the couch in the living room was torn and there was a funky smell in the room itself. The elevators were scary, creaky and slow. The pools and hot tubs outside were wonderful and the lazy river is long and relaxing. It definitely looks better on the outside. I will not stay there again.

  • Liked — The outdoor pools
  • Disliked — The Room itself
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there if you're looking for an updated room
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKHILL SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

Have stayed there twice.First time check in was very slow.This time the check in took even longer.The room was not clean and has a bad smell to it!House keeping very bad.Will not stay there again

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — DIRTY ROOMS
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

Okay, this was our family's first time to Myrtle beach and we did not know a lot about the area or the hotels. Little did I know that the Crown Reef would be horrible. The elevators were broken and we were on the 11th floor. The rooms need to be updated really bad. The pools were nice, but they had a tile guy in the pool fully dressed and fixing the tile while people where swimming. To make matters worse the guy stunk of B.O. It is right on the beach but that does not make up for the other bad things. Very dirty, you have to check in across the street, maids do not clean the rooms well. If you pick this hotel to stay in you get what you deserve.

  • Liked — Right on the beach
  • Disliked — Everything else they had to offer
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay some where else
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

Our stay at this place was a disaster. The room was clean but very well worn. There was a ripped sofa in the sitting area and a broken tv in the same room. We paid an extra $20 for a whirlpool tub and that didnt work. When I asked for a credit at checkout I was told that there would be none as It was my fault for not informing the desk so someone could fix it. I am a plumber and I know that your not fixing this tub at 10:00 at night. I guess you cant complain when your paying less than $100 a nite for an oceanview room but I think you could do a lot better this time of year. We noticed plenty of bargain rates on the billboards while we were there. This place needs a major refurbishing.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

Our check-in person was very nice (Thank you, Yvonne). We had asked for a king room, but were offered the efficency because they were running a special, that was very nice of the phone reservation clerk. The barman in the lobby bar was also super nice and polite, as well as the young lady who ran the cash register in the breakfast and lunch diner on the lobby level. Likewise the giftshop attendant.

I wish the property was as nice as the people who work there!
I read the reviews, and kept reading "don't listen to the bad reviews". I wish I had listened. This property is very dated and needs some TLC. Some things could be repaired easily, like the glass elevator which did not work while we were there, but had no out-of-order sign. Cigarette butts were everywhere, especially under and around lounge chairs in the pool area. The tracks on sliding doors should be replaced when worn and corroded from salt, and likewise the indoor/outdoor carpet on balconies and hallways. Dead plants in planters, chipped paint on railings (fuscia colored at that), and broken showers between the beach and pool should be taken care of, also running toilets. Some major problems, I can't speak for, like the chunk of concrete that had fallen from the balcony of our room, and a large piece that appeared ready to fall between balconies of 8th and 9th floor on building one. SLOW elevators. Just incredibly SLOW!!!

The mauves and patterned wall paper borders are very eighties, and the pink (fuchia?) color on the railings of the hotel and check-in building across the street are dated, and all of it is chipped. I hope when they repaint, it will be in a more modern color. Our mattress was like a place off the interstate, hard and thin, but the sheets were a good quality, and soft. The towels were also good quality. Tons of dust between the bathroom light and the ceiling, which could be seen every time you look in the bathroom mirror, but the tub surround looked very new. Orangey/brown rust had bled through the wallpaper in the bath of our room. It just made me depressed that this is where we had chosen to spend the weekend, and I was glad that we were only there two nights. A maintenance person came in unannounced to repair wallpaper. He appologized profusely, he had no idea we were there, and of course we were not angry, just startled! This is just not the place to go for a get-away for two. My husband really wanted to go to Myrtle for some reason, and since I don't like Myrtle Beach, this place did nothing to help my feeling. I never want to go there again.

  • Liked — The people who worked there were nice.
  • Disliked — The room was cheap, dated and uncomfortable.
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend more on a nicer place.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Reef at South Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Reef at South Beach Resort

Address: 2913 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Reef at South Beach Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Reef Resort is home to 514 newly renovated guest rooms and suites as well as a four-story tall oceanfront Waterpark featuring two 38-foot tall slides, a kiddie slide, silly sub and more. A true family vacation destination, Crown Reef features many additional water features including oceanfront pools, spas, fountains, and the longest oceanfront lazy river on the Grand Strand at 575 feet. Other amenities include Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak, fitness center, spacious conference center, and an on-site golf department. Crown Reef is located just five minutes from the airport with complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crown Reef at South Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Crown Reef
The Crown Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
Crown Reef Resort South Carolina
Crown Reef Resort s Beach Myrtle Beach
Crown Reef s Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Reef at South Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.