We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Beach Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Coral Beach Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1105 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ENJOY IT'S FREE
Ranked #15 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved our stay at Coral Beach. The room and the view of the beach was awesome. I am thinking of another trip to the beach, this property will be on my list to try again. Don't forget to try the breakfast area in the mornings. The food was outstanding and a good value

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,099
    456
    171
    131
    157
See reviews for
1013
348
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The weekend was great!Me and my husband love the amenities such as the gernal store and Starbucks. The services was awesome front desk Manager Darlene was very helpful and made our stay great. I will be returning and also recommending family and friends to saty here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walworth, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The rooms are like small apts. with everything you could ever need . The staff went out of their way in every aspect . The sound of the ocean right outside your balcony made for a very restful night and the sunrise every morning was outstanding .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved our stay at coral beach. The manager jayme was awesome and so helpful. The maids were great to the cleaned the room and didnt bother a thing that we left out. The indoor pool and hot tubs were awesome. The staff was very helpful. Security was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I visited from Wilmington and had a fantastic time. Great service and lots to do. Bowling, pool and other games where great to have on site. The pool area was very nice and the Roman bath hot tub is not to be missed! Overall, a great experience - I'd highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Oceanfront king suite is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The wife and I just got back from staying there. The staff, the amenities, and the location were all perfect! Everyone from the front desk to the maintenance staff to the bartenders were all a pleasure. We have stayed at almost every hotel on Ocean Blvd in Myrtle Beach and this hotel is our hotel from now on. If you are going to Myrtle Beach this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front room the view from this hotel is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were looking to get away from the winter cold and get some golfing in for a week. I took to the internet to find a hotel on the south beach near the airport for convenience. While I was on the main web page for this hotel, I was drawn to their long disclaimer about the type of facility this is, the management of the ammenities, and so on. It's quite detailed, and enlightening. Here we've come to Myrtle Beach for a number of years in the off-season to golf, and we always thought that these big high rise buildings on the beach are all corporate owned hotels. But right there in black and white in a disclaimer section that says NOTE: this big place is described as a condo hotel (which we had never heard of before), and then elaborates on how you can rent a condo from the resort's exclusive management company, or other area rental companies, or from VRBO, which we know stands for Vacation Rental By Owner. A friend of ours told us about Vacation Rental By Owner a few years ago when we were looking to rent a home to stay in near the French Quarter in New Orleans for Mardi Gras, and we have since used the website to rent residence types of condos in Orlando, Florida and to rent a log cabin in Sevierville, Tennessee. We had no idea that we could rent beach front in a high rise property, much less that what we thought was a hotel has rooms that are owned by individuals. So, newly educated by Coral Beach Resort & Suite's home page, we turned to Trip Advisor to read some of the many, many reviews from different times of the year as well as different years' reviews. Having a history of respiratory and allergy issues, the thing that struck me personnally were the reviews mentioning visitors getting assigned rooms by the front desk that were supposed to be non-smoking which smelled of recent cigarette smoke odors, and while during some off-season stays after shuffling through two or three different rooms visitors of the resort finally found one that they found acceptable, there were visitors during the summer peak season that could not be moved because of full occupancy, and they were stuck with the assigned room or left in protest and gave the resort a terrible review. This helped us decide that we needed to rent a strictly non-smoking room directly from a room owner using Vacation Rental By Owner to ensure I wouldn't have any respiratory aggravation and that I wouldn't have to room hop through three or four resort management controlled rooms after a long flight to find one that was right for me. The owner I rented from was adamant that the room was completely non-smoking and offered a $250 gaurantee that I would find it smoke-free, very clean and exactly as the pictures represented on the VRBO listing. We were extremely pleased with the room, and the price was competitive with the resort's price for rooms they control as well as with the pricing on the website Expedia. We found the resort to be well kept, and we really enjoyed the indoor pool, hot tubs and sauna. That brings to mind another revelation. The NOTE: section on the resort's home page says that their exclusive management company owns ALL the ammenities and that if you rent from a local off premises rental company or from an owner directly on Vacation Rental By Owner that you have access to nothing, and yet the NOTE: list of ammenities makes no mention of pools being restricted for use. I went to the front desk staff to get a parking pass for our rental car, and they gave me this sheet to complete with personal information and to sign, which basically acknowledged the ammenities addressed in NOTE: on their website home page. I asked the front desk staffer for clarification about the pools and hot tubs. I always thought (as I'm sure most people do) of POOLS as AMMENITIES, but apparently they are NOT. Pools and hot tubs are called COMMON AREAS in this condo-hotel business configuration. I mentioned to the employee that their NOTE: is VERY misleading, as most people (including us) would assume that pools are ammenities, not common areas, and therefore off limits to folks like us who chose to rent using an alternative method. Nothing was said by her in response to this, but she couldn't hold back a smile. It occured to us based on her reaction that whoever made the decision about the wording on the website deliberately used that choice of words to confuse and mislead people on purpose. Also, my wife observed that while the front desk girl was exhuberant when we first came to the desk, her overall tone quickly became much colder and less friendly when we told her we had rented from an owner on VRBO and were simply at the front desk to get a parking pass. My wife said she was made to feel "dirty" through that experience by the front desk, something she felt was unnecessary and uncalled for from someone who was supposed to be professional. The management company staff takes this attitude so far as to exclude you from being able to buy a cup of coffee from their coffee shop in the lobby. You can't pay cash, you can't pay with a debit or credit card, you have to have it billed to your room by your room key, which you can't do if you didn't rent from the resort through the front desk staff. Talk about cutting off your nose to spite your face. I can't imagine true business professionals who would turn away money for their highly profitable goods and services from ammenities for the sake of spite because some room owners chose not to associate their own property with the resort's management company. I'm tryng to envision in my mind's eye what it would be like to be here at a time of the year when their beach bar is open, and being forced to bill mixed liquor drinks to my room if I were renting from the resort controlled rooms. Pity the man who has to explain to his wife at check out time how he spent $80 on drinks on a given night after she went up to the room to turn in for the night. Yikes! And those poor guys slinging drinks must take a hit in their tips. Oh well, if you're rich enough to run an operation like this I suppose you can afford to do things on principal alone. It just seems to us that at some point visitors to the resort would just chose not to stay here at all, regardless of who would rent a room to them. Then again, there are visitors like us, who could care less about the obvious rivalry, and will come back regardless. But on principal alone, for the benefit of the underdog room owners, next time we stay at Coral Beach Resort we will source a room once again using the small, independent business people representing themselves on Vacation Rental By Owner. We have to thank the resort's website maintenance employee for revealing to us the condo-hotel business model. Were it not for our frigid experience at the front desk, we would have rated this resort and our stay as excellent rather than very good. This is a great place to stay for reasonable money, and we loved the location for it's proximity to area highlights and the nice wide open beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Beach Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Resort & Suites

Address: 1105 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Beach Resort & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With more on site amenities and entertainment than any other Myrtle Beach resort, it's no surprise that the Travel Channel named Coral Beach "Best Family Accommodations". Some of the ingredients that make us a destination and not just a resort include an on-site 8 AMF lane bowling alley, recreation center with video arcade game room, pool tables, foosball and air hockey, 10 pool attractions including outdoor and indoor pools, water park, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, kiddie pools, lazy river ride, children's activity center, his/her saunas, live entertainment daily on the pool deck and karaoke nightly, comedy club, family magic show, glow bowling, fitness center, General Store & Gift Shop and spacious meeting/banquet facilities. It's no wonder that families for over 20 years have found Coral Beach Resort & Suites the most fun place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Coral Beach Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Coral Beach
Coral Reef Myrtle Beach Sc
Coral Resort Myrtle Beach
Coral Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Coral Beach Myrtle Beach Sc
Coral Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Beach Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.