We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolinian Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carolinian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Carolinian Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2506 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Winter Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a beautiful suite on a high floor overlooking the ocean. The off-season crowds are so low, winter is a great time to visit Myrtle Beach. This hotel is partners with the neighboring hotel, The Anderson, so you can go over and use their pool and hot tub for free. The pool and hot tub at the Best Western were crowded with kids, but there may have been a group thee at the time.

The staff was really trying to make our trip a good one, and we appreciated the attention. Although the layout of the room and the solidness of the suite were great. The room was very sunny and we had amazing sunrise views and even got to see a school of dolphins from our balcony. The only negatives, which really weren't bad was that there are elements of 'budget' built into this room. For example the walls are textured and beige, and the thread count of the sheets was on the low side.

The hotel overall though was lovely, and we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Book over the phone and ask if they have any discounts. We used the 'winter warmup' code, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    774
    163
    97
    81
See reviews for
748
598
74
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've stayed here before and enjoyed it, but the price went up and for the last 2 years, we went elsewhere. Now the price is equitable and we came back. Acommodations are similar to the other place we stayed - quiet and comfortable and most staff try to make you feel comfortable as possible. People with handicaps, however should be aware that parking clos to the hotel is almost non-existant. They do not have priveleges with their sister properties accross the street. They say that parking is accross the street, but it is a block away and uphill. There is valet parking for $8 a night, but that kills the price advantage so you may as well be down the street. Also the wait for valet is not always convenient. On stree parking is available and free in the off season, but spaces are few. Be aware that the associated restaurant that is "just accross the street" is a block away and up 5 steps. You can avoid the up by going in the far side at the back, but you may as well drive there. If you are able bodied, the place is just great. Not so for many old snowbirds.

Room Tip: We choose the 1 bedroom condo with washer and dryer because we like the convenience of a washer/drye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is the second time stay at this hotel.This was a business trip,planning to make a get away soon and will stay at this hotel.Love the suite,overlooking the ocean.Our room was perfect...The hotel staff was courteous,friendly,we even got a call on the second night to see if we needed anything.Breakfast at the restaurant was more than expected,buffet and eggs cooked to order each morning.Thank you guys hope to see you next year at the business meeting and maybe sooner if we can break away for a week end.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent weekend experience and customer service; great views and winter options
The hotel staff were professional and courteous; they offered helpful local options for Sunday brunch and special dining experiences; the restaurant associated with the hotel was very nice; wait staff were friendly; due to off season volumes, there was less food volume; wait staff made every opportunity for us to have food that we wanted and sufficient quanity; breakfast buffet was very nice; full complimentary breakfast buffet both days

Room Tip: Corner suite was large with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was amazingly surprised just based off of my previous experiences with other resorts. Not much to say other than it was Great! The staff was soo polite and professional! I will definately return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My sister and I scooted our Mom away for the weekend to the Carolinian for her 80th Birthday. We stayed in a clean and well-equipped condo in the Tower - beautiful ocean-view suite with a sunny veranda, comfy LR and nice kitchen with all the comforts of home. The very wonderful Polo (porter-extraordinaire) made us a fresh pot of their excellent coffee in the lobby both days and was so helpful and pleasant, and Robert in Guest Services had great suggestions for our activity options. Polo, Robert and the rest of the staff made us want to come back again and again (in fact, we're thinking of getting away to the Carolinian as a yearly off-season escape! A little brisk in January, but still better than the teen temps we left behind in NY. When you can sit on the veranda and hear the roar of the ocean and see the majesty of the sea right in front of you, witness the sun sneaking up over the horizon in the early morning and breath in that fresh, salt air, it makes you realize what's really important in life. Experiencing it all with my Mom and Sis was priceless... Thank you Carolinian for making us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: Room 1832 (18th floor, 2nd from top) is ocean-front with 2 baths and 2 BRs, sunny, beautiful veranda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.5 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#37 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Address: 2506 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#49 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club to on-site dining at Magnolia's restaurant, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolinian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.