We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolinian Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carolinian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Carolinian Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2506 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Throughout our stay the staff was very friendly and helpful. The furniture in the rooms could use some updating and there was a slight paint smell, but we had a great view and enjoyed the free breakfast. Convenient to Broadway at the Beach shops and entertainment.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    784
    169
    100
    83
See reviews for
761
604
75
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times as we prefer the 2 bedrooms. It is great for family or friends and especially if travelers have different sleep cycles. It is convenient to all attractions in the area. The parking is free, although you often have to park in a garage a block away but with all the good food in MB, the walk is okay! Check in can be congested for parking, but is accomplished efficently, as is check out. I would not hesitate to recommend this property for any type of traveler

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites great for a getaway wth friends. 2 bed/2 bath and full kitchen as well as living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Rooms were awesome. I loved the long balcony with good ocean view as well as city view. I would definitely like to stay here again and have no complaints about the hotel or its staff! The only thing I would suggest is to have their own breakfast and not have to go down the street!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed almost a week. It is on the golden strand of beach, not far from downtown Myrtle Beach. It is quiet in December with many empty rooms. We were able to park close to the hotel registration the first few nights but as it filled up, we had to park a short walk and block away in a parking garage. We were given tickets for breakfast at the Magnolia Inn, just about 40 steps down the street. Breakfast was a buffet with waffles, sausages, potatoes, eggs, rolls, fruits, juice, grits, croissants in a nice atmosphere. Elevators worked quite fast. Check in was a zip and the staff are very well trained, always pleasant, helpful and willing to accomodate us. We stayed on the 18th floor in a comfortable sweet with a sideways view of the ocean. We had a full kitchen with a few items in it, a living room with large screen tv, large bathroom with washer and dryer (that was great for swimsuits, a large king bed with a door out to the balcony.) Loved seeing the ocean. Found the hotel quiet. We had a small lazy river that was a few steps away from our elevator and a hot, whirling jacuzzi. For the first few nights we enjoyed it all by ourselves with no other guests till the place filled on the weekend. The pool was outdoors and it was too cold to use. The beach was beautiful. The hotel seemed well maintained. It was Christmas time and our maid did not leave amples towels or soap. Sheets nice, pillows and bedding nicely appointed. Not a new property but well maintained. When we talked to the desk, they were very happy to help in anyway. Even workers on the elevator greeted us friendly. Liked that we had easy access to all the areas of Myrtle Beach for restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

It is said that details make all the difference, and at the Best Western Plus The Carolinian, we repeatedly witnessed that here, details are very obviously top of mind. Trish at reservations was our first point of contact and made the booking process a real breeze.

After a very long drive, we received the warmest of welcomes from Richard at reception. He was prepared long before we arrived at his desk. We found our requested top-floor unit clean, well-equipped, and beyond what we had hoped for. We settled in and had a great night's sleep.

About 4 days into our vacation, there was a plumbing problem in our unit, which was behind a wall and required fairly involved remediation. We were offered a two-bedroom unit instead and to make a longish story short, were treated like royalty by the front desk staff: Jeff, Lindsay, Hope, Jenna and Richard made us feel like the most valued guests ever. This brief, unexpected interruption in our holiday was handled as seamlessly as is humanly possible. Bravo!

Here are the salient points of our excellent unit: clean, clean, clean! Our bed had a pillow-top mattress, with perfect, heavy sheets and after a busy day of walking, shopping and exploring, proved a joy to sink into. The kitchen was well equipped, the overall décor very pleasing to the eye, everything worked, and, if something didn't, the staff were extremely responsive and fixed it in the blink of an eye. We were also very impressed with the less visible staff who labor every day to make holidays smooth: Chris, J.D., Polo, Josh, Terry and Ronald deserve special mention. On many mornings, when we stopped at the coffee station prior to our walk, Polo greeted us and we had many enjoyable conversations; on a few occasions when we needed help, J.D. was absolutely amazing- a gentleman in every sense of the word...and Chris was at our side in mere minutes when the plumbing malfunctioned and we instantly felt that we were in good hands.

Many thanks for a truly marvelous vacation! This excellent team is second to none.

Room Tip: We saw all of the oceanfront rooms- they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was a very nice place. My bathroom needs up dateing in shower. Higher toilets. Over all very nice place.
The staff was very help full and business like at all times.
The view from the room was beautiful.
Shopping was easy to get to and direction were made easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this property over the Christmas 2012 week. We had reserved an oceanfront efficiency but, upon arrival, were upgraded to an oceanfront suite on the 6th floor of the new tower. Accommodation was superb, and our rate even included an excellent breakfast buffet at Magnolia's restaurant across the street. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout our stay. The only downside was the lack of indoor pool. There is a very, very short lazy river and one hot tub glassed in for off-season, but you have to go outside to get to them. We did not even try. Other than that, if you are more interested in great accommodation and the beach and ocean, I would recommend this property.

Room Tip: Definitely oceanfront; oceanview is not worth the savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.5 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#33 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Address: 2506 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club to on-site dining at Magnolia's restaurant, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolinian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.