We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolinian Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carolinian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Carolinian Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2506 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

very good hotel had 2 bedrooms in 1 oceanfront was nice view of oceanfront verygood after a day the lazy river is a good place to relax good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    734
    153
    93
    73
See reviews for
701
580
73
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Nice place in the tall tower. Large and spacious accommodations. Clean. Shortage of towels had to request more and they brought 1 towel instead of a set. Courteous staff. Convenient walk to the beach, restaurants, putt putt and mini mart for essentials. Beds were horribly unconfortable. Felt like I was sleeping on boards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesapeake oh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This place was very nice, affordable and well suited for our family of 9. I had read other reviews about being nasty, and maid service was not good. I didn't go for maid service. I wanted a place for our family to enjoy the beach. I thought it was clean, the rooms were good size and having a dishwasher and w/d was a definate plus. The only drawback was I wish our kitchen was more furnished with cooking pans as we did a lot of cooking to save money. The maids would knock and come on in even if you didn't answer but once we put the Do Not Disturb sign on the outer door, this was never a problem. I realize they work for tips but we just didn't want people in and out of our room. We would go to the lobby and ask for extra towels or toilet paper and never was given a problem. Everyone was very nice. I would stay again.

Room Tip: We didn't utilize the restaurant or room service but I couldn't put n/a as a rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were in town for a national track meet. We wanted a place where we could relax when returning in the evening. BWPC was excellent! The second we returned home, my son said, "mom, I miss the hotel already!" We ended up with a great mini-vacation! My only suggestion is to consider 4 breakfast passes instead of 2.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved our 2 bedroom ocean view suite plenty of room for our family of 7. The view was awesome. Maid service was good. shortage of towels and wash cloths the first couple of days, but we used our washer and dryer and that was very handy. I do think there should be several hot tubs as we never could get in it,as always full and people stay in too long. I was disapointed on that. The coffee and tea in lobby is very good. We had a lovely time. Thanks!

Room Tip: in the tower ocean view. we had stayed in the old building last year, it was fine, but the suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Poor housekeeping. Insufficient number of towels and washcloths each day. Multiple calls to housekeeping with varying results. We were told one day that they were out and never had any delivered. Room on the 14th floor of the new building was very nice and well equipped. Kitchen was very nice and clean. Pool was small for a large hotel but not an issue as we spent most of the time on the beach. Parking was adequate and across the street.

Room Tip: Only book rooms in the new building. Call management and get a commitment from them that they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, nc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place was NASTY! I am a picky person when it comes to hotels. Especially because I have young children. I expect the floors to be clean, towels to be in the bathroom, and no bugs. This place is disgusting in regards to those simple request.
First off.. do NOT stay in the OLD tower. IT'S NASTY! The floors are coming up around the edges. The carpets are nasty, my daughters feet were black. The balcony was dirty, the bathrooms were awful. The room smelled. They need to do a serious re-do of this whole "hotel"
The NEW tower is how this hotel is ranked so high on trip adviser.
The new tower looks nice. The elevators in the older tower are slow, when we left we were stuck in one with the bell boy.
The maids NEVER cleaned our room. we had to ask them to clean. I complained 3/x to the front desk. They only left 3 towels. 3 wash cloths. We had 4 people in our room. We even left them a tip to do a good job.. did not help.
The parking garage was literally a good walk. There are no security people around for the nights you pull in late, which can be somewhat scary for a mother with young kids. Anyone can pull in, the gate does not require a key.
The pools are FREEZING. You cannot let your child swim in it, which defeats the whole idea. The indoor pools were nasty, filled with trash and bugs. The hotel room was filled with stink bugs and we found 4 spiders.
I booked this room in January, and it was so disgusting- we left a day early. It was disappointing, trashy, and a waste of money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Address: 2506 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#46 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club to on-site dining at Magnolia's restaurant, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolinian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.