We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, rooms need updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Winds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Winds
Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly staff, rooms need updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is oceanfront, great views from rooms. Outdoor pool is large and heated which was great since we were there in April. If it wasn't for the outdoor pool being heated my kids would have had nowhere to swim outside , ocean was too cold. Hotel seems pretty clean, but hallway smelled and so did elevator. Our room was not as large as I expected. The bathroom was completely remodeled which was nice. But the beds were very flat, linens weren't great, I couldn't sleep well. Bed was uncomfortable. Living area very outdated. Not sure if I will stay here again. However the staff was super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    130
    48
    24
    27
See reviews for
282
97
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Carolina Winds. The staff was very helpful and respectful of our needs. Complete amenities and the location so close to the beach made our trip that much more enjoyable. We plan to return for another vacation in the future. I will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 202 and it was great! It was very roomy and had everything that we needed and then some. We only found Carolina Winds 3 years ago. We stayed at another hotel last year and left a night early because we couldn't stand it any longer. The room was nasty and the staff was worse! We will only stay at Carolina Winds from now on. It doesn't get any better in my opinion. The staff are WONDERFUL!!! Thank you all for being so great and keeping the place up so well. Oh... we LOVE the huge, clean pool!
Thanks for providing a wonderful vacation!
Michelle

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. the staff was soooo friendly.They took their time to explain the hotel operations and treated us like family. This hotel had great elevators, and the room was cleaned and stocked with an ample amount of towels! I will definitely stay at the Carolina Winds again when we come back to Myrtle Beach!!

Room Tip: We love room 907!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Carolina Winds is wonderful.
I enjoyed my stay here.
Granted it does need some updating ( new mattresses , carpets & furniture ) It could have been MUCH worse. Besides people you are in MYRTLE BEACH , you aren't supposed to stay in the room.
It's clean, safe and Ocean front.
3 major things we all want for our trips & it's easy on the wallet when it comes to value.

Room Tip: Enjoy your time there. It seems to go by so quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrens, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed last year also and everything was excellent the room the staff everything. This year was good but not like last year but not for the staff they were nice, but the room we had this year looked a little runned down and older looking and it wasnt as big as the room we had last year i wish everything was the same as the year before but we managed through but besides that our stay was great and it wouldnt have happened without the help of mary ann so i want to give a bog thanks to her!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very convenient. Excellent staff. Rooms were VERY outdated. Pool was excellent. Beautiful view of the pool and the ocean. Our room wasn't as expected when we first arrived. We went to the front desk and they found us an accommodating room. House keeping staff and front desk was wonderful. Except for the out dated room I would say we had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: We started on the 12th floor, had an excellent view. The rooms condition was horrible so we moved to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carolina Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Winds

Address: Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#45 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Winds is a Myrtle Beach resort that is located on the north end of town, at 76th Avenue North and Ocean Boulevard. This oceanfront resort is a fabulous destination for a beach vacation. All of the vacation rentals at Carolina Winds have ocean views from their private balconies. So bring the family to this retreat and bask in all that the Atlantic Ocean and white sandy beaches have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carolina Winds Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carolina Winds to your Saves list