We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly & convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Winds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Winds
Save
You added Carolina Winds to your Saves list
Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family-friendly & convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed our visit at Carolina Winds. We read many reviews. It is family-friendly but the staff were more than accommodating. Smiled and were very pleasant. If something wasn't right or needed attention, they were on it! We stayed in a family suite. Always had hot water; air conditioners worked well; enough towels every day; beach was not crowded outside the hotel; pool and bathrooms were always clean. Only suggestions would be: provide a list of area places: grocery store, bank, pizza/food delivery, etc.; additional place (besides shower) to dry towels and bathing suits as it is fairly windy on the balcony; pool hours extended for adults only after 11pm. thank you!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    142
    52
    25
    28
See reviews for
300
102
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was wonderful, we had a great room with great views! Nice and clean and loved the balcony! It's in a good spot to quickly and easily do things! Although I do not ever recommend having breakfast at the breakfast buffet, it was horrible! We made daily trips down the street to Akels! Being right on the beach makes it easy to get to and the outdoor pool area is beautiful and kept very nice and clean. I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Carolina Winds is very family oriented! I found out about Carolina Winds from a friend who has stayed at Carolina Winds every year for over 20 years. I felt if she kept going back it has to be good, plus all the great write ups on trip advisor. It was great, and you can't beat the rate! The hotel is very well maintained. The staff is by far one of the most friendliest staff I have ever seen. Everybody is so helpful and kind. The location of this hotel is great. Several restaurants, grocery store, and just about anything in walking distance. The beach location is great too!! It was quite, and clean. Certain rooms are nicer than others, so updating some would not hurt, but since rooms all have different owners I totally understand. Never a problem with parking either. We asked to look at a 2 and 3 bedroom to see how much more room you got. The 2 bedroom places are located across the street so not right ocean front, but can still see the ocean. And the 3 bedroom places a big full kitchen and facing right out to the ocean, and a ton of room. Again some can use updating, but all and all a wonderful resort! Keep doing what your doing, because it was a great stay!!! We will be booking for next year as well!!!!

Room Tip: Call and talk to one of there friendly staff members to get info about different rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Carolina Winds was recommended by friends who stay here all of the time. We were on the third floor in a one bedroom angle oceanfront. When we walked into the room it smelled very musty and damp. One of the air conditioners was not working - which was replaced immediately after we reported it. The air conditioner in the bedroom ran all of time even after turning the fan to auto. The room was very damp, we would dry out bathing suits and tees on the balcony and after bringing them inside they would get wet. The angled oceanfront room, although not oceanfront, was setup to be able to see the ocean very well. The only complaint we had was the room - it really needed some updating, and if I stayed here again I would definitely want to the see the room first.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the third floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesburg, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a great time! Carolina Winds is very family oriented and extremely well kept and clean. I'd def tell a friend or family member to stay there. The rooms are cleaned every day, the pools are very clean, the beach isn't crowded in front of the hotel, and the staff were all very friendly. This area of Myrtle Beach is clean, family friendly, and not as crowded. It is also located closer to attractions, but not right in the middle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekron
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in an angle view of the ocean. Beautiful view. The room was clean and well stocked. Troy and Stephanie were just the best. The pool is large and beautiful. We did not use the lazy river. It is actually located across the small street but no traffic to worry about. The restaurant food in the hotel was very good. FYI - the tennis courts are a mile away and you have to make reservations a day ahead of time. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. CW is close to everything but far enough away from the "young and restless" crowd near the boardwalk. Perfect for families. We had 3 teen girls and they had a blast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our family was scheduled to stay 4 nights but after being there just a day or two we decided to stay one more night. Very nice and friendly staff. Very clean and nice room. It was easy doing the online reservations. We had a great time and will be back! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carolina Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Winds

Address: Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#45 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Winds is a Myrtle Beach resort that is located on the north end of town, at 76th Avenue North and Ocean Boulevard. This oceanfront resort is a fabulous destination for a beach vacation. All of the vacation rentals at Carolina Winds have ocean views from their private balconies. So bring the family to this retreat and bask in all that the Atlantic Ocean and white sandy beaches have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carolina Winds Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.