We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 'first trip to Myrtle Beach' experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Winds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Winds
Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful 'first trip to Myrtle Beach' experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We drove down from Ohio and we were really happy with 2 bedroom condo we reserved. I had read many of the previous reviews so was pleasantly surprised that 'dated' did not mean worn out or faded. Everything was clean. Some updates and some minor maintenance is due but not to the point where it affects the overall look of the place. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were a little too soft for our liking. The view from the balcony was amazing!
We did some grocery shopping so we would not have to eat out all the time.
There was no DVD player so we ended up buying one at the local Walmart.

Overall, we all had a great time and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    129
    46
    24
    27
See reviews for
279
97
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
LaFollette, TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was very good staying here with some of my family, if you think the price isn't worth it, think again. They have a lazy river, indoor/outdoor pool, balconies that overlook the beach, and huge bedrooms! I will come back soon for my next summer break! And close to many attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We recently stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo at the Carolina Winds over Spring Break. It was a fabulous choice!!!!

The condo we stayed in was #901. It is beachfront with a great view, and is also on the end. It had one bedroom with 2 twins, one bedroom with a queen bed. They shared a big bathroom. It also had a master bedroom, very spacious with a walk in closet and large en suite bathroom, complete with double sinks and a large soaking tub. The master opened up to a large balcony. The kitchen was small, but had a full sized fridge, oven, and dishwasher. The bathroom appliances were in great shape and the counters were granite or something similar. The sitting room had two couches, a flat screen TV, and also opened to the balcony. Everything was in great shape and nice - not dated at all. We were two couples staying here and didn't use the third bedroom, but it was nice to store our beach stuff. We just wanted two bathrooms and the value was good.

The resort was very quiet when we were there. Mostly older couples from Canada! I didn't see many kids. There is an indoor pool and two indoor jacuzzis, as well as an outdoor pool, kiddie pool and jacuzzi. You can walk right to the beach in a minute from the pool area. The outdoor pool was heated and very comfortable to swim in, even when it was a bit too chilly to sit in a bathing suit on the beach. We did get some of those moments too, but it was nice to swim in the pool when the ocean was too chilly. The hot tub was also awesome to hang out in.

Staff here were very friendly and happy to be there. Check in and out were a breeze, as were all other interactions we had. The location is great, with a 10 minute drive to Broadway at the Beach, Barefoot Landing, and the outlet malls. It's right by a Food Lion for easy food shopping.

I would definitely stay here again, and I will the next time I'm in Myrtle Beach!

Room Tip: Room 901 is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed for 10 days at the Carolina Winds and overall it was a very pleasant experience. The location is excellent right on the beach in a quiet neighbourhood. Indoor spa and pool and excellent outdoor pool and patio.

My one bedroom was fully equipped, spacious and a great view with a slightly retro look. The staff was very helpful and courteous (except for one very bored older fellow)...

The unit I was in is getting a little "tired and dated" and could do with a re-do...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

we have been to carolina winds for the past three years and plan on returning every year. the hotel is in a great location, sort of off the beaten path. it is quiet, yet close to the downtown area. i love the indoor pool, exercise room for when the weather isnt up to par. the beach is nice. love the ocean front condos and sitting on the balcony. housekeepers are wonderfully friendly. front desk staff is great, always a smile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had a "girls weekend" at Carolina Winds this time. I was put into one of the newly remodeled rooms. It was fantastic. It felt brand new. The front desk service was superior as it is most visits. It was a cold and rainy weekend, but it was a great beach getaway. I made reservations for Spring Break with my grandchildren in one of the 3 bedroom deluxe suites while there so I'll be heading back April 1st. I feel sure the trip will be just as nice as this one was. The new restaurant wasn't open for this visit, but it should be going strong when we return. I'm looking forward to having a restaurant in-house again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly remodeled rooms. They've been working on the "off season" an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed at Carolina Winds for over 15 years and find it to be one of the best values at Myrtle Beach. It has a great location, it is on the beach, and the condo units are well designed. However, over the last several years we have seen a decline in the attitudes of the staff, and, while they are effecient, the courtesy has diminished. Similarly, some of the furnishings in the units appear outdated or in need of repair, e.g., we had a revolving chair that would flip you out if you moved suddenly and a glass door that we could not latch. These are small things but indicative of a need for some TLC.

Having said that, the amenities are great-the indoor and outdoor pools are well maintained and the hot tub was kept hot! We also must complement the housekeeping staff-they did a great job.

All in all, the CW is one of the great deals in Myrtle Beach and we will be returning year after year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carolina Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Winds

Address: Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#48 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Winds is a Myrtle Beach resort that is located on the north end of town, at 76th Avenue North and Ocean Boulevard. This oceanfront resort is a fabulous destination for a beach vacation. All of the vacation rentals at Carolina Winds have ocean views from their private balconies. So bring the family to this retreat and bask in all that the Atlantic Ocean and white sandy beaches have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carolina Winds Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carolina Winds to your Saves list