We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time & Will Keep Going Back !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Winds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carolina Winds to your Saves list
Carolina Winds
Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer From $79/Night
Ranked #40 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Third Time & Will Keep Going Back !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This October we stayed in 1008. Kitchen could have used a lil updating. But other than that it was a great stay. Missed out on the outdoor pool this time cause it was a bit chilly 3 out of the 4 days we were there. Did enjoy both hot tubs & indoor pool. Will be back again next October !

Room Tip: Higher the Better for Ocean Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    151
    56
    26
    30
See reviews for
320
106
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

we enjoyed our stay at Carolina Winds. it is centrally located to everything you can with for yet it is on the outskirts of the town centre which makes it a quiet relaxing place to stay. we will definately be back to the Carolina Winds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I went to Myrtle Beach for our four year anniversary. I used to go to Myrtle Beach every year as a kid and teenager with my family, but the last time was nearly 18 years ago. We always stayed at the Carolina Winds, and I figured I would give it a try as the price was right for the time of year we were going.

We got to the hotel earlier than expected. We figured our room wouldn't be ready yet, but we were pleasantly surprised that we were able to get into our room a full three hours before check in time. The gentleman working the front desk was friendly and helpful. He got us all set for our room, showed us how to use the discount card that comes with the reservation, told us where to park, and directed us to the elevators.

When we got to the room, the hotel was just as I remembered. Our room could probably have used a fresh coat of paint, but there was nothing broken or dirty at all about it. It just looked like it had been a few years since the paint had been updated. The bedroom was nice, with a brand new flat screen TV mounted to the wall, and the living area was even better. The couch and chair were nice, the table was nice, and the TV stand and TV were old, but worked. There were nice decorations in the room, and the kitchen area had all brand new appliances. The only thing bad I have to say about the room is that the bathroom seemed a bit small, but it was usable. Overall, the room was pleasing.

The rest of the hotel was even better. The indoor pool and hot tubs were clean and well maintained. The game room was just as I remembered it. The outdoor pool and hot tub are some of the best, and biggest, I've ever seen at a hotel that wasn't in a tropical location such as Hawai'i, Costa Rica, or Grand Cayman. The outdoor pool is heated, so even in the evenings with the temperatures down in the 60s, it was very pleasant to be in the pool. The lazy river and hot tub at the other building were also both well maintained and nice. I would say the majority of the time that I could, I was spending it in the pool.

The beach access is close and easy, and the beach in front of the property is great. The location of the hotel is also very nice. It's easy to find and right in the middle of the main attractions, which means that 10 minutes in either direction will get you to just about anything you could be looking for.

The restaurant was closed for the season during our visit, so I can't comment on that.

The staff, in it's entirety, was great. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and just plain nice. A really good group of people they've got working there.

I think the best thing I can say about the hotel is that it brought back great memories of growing up, and I will definitely be going back in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views, but if you are traveling with a group go for one of the three bedroom su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at unit 103. Sept 30th to Oct 10th. Great holiday again, but some little things starting to show time for an update. The wallpaper in the bathroom is peeling, screen door at master bedroom broken, asked to get fixed, never did. Screen door handle broken since last year out to patio. Dryer still extremely loud need of replacing, didn't break down this year. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend. Staff was courteous, friendly, knowledgeable. Our room was a little dated but spacious and very clean. Perfect view with large balcony to enjoy it. Very large pool with plenty of chairs. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've been coming to Myrtle Beach for over 20 years and stayed at different resorts in this vicinity. This is our first year at Carolina Winds and we had the most exceptional vacation since we've been visiting Myrtle Beach. Our room (#611) was cozy, clean and well decorated. Carolina Winds was in our favorite area, within walking distance to many of our favorite restaurants and the Lion King grocery store. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful, and the one time we needed maintenance for a light bulb, they responded before we were even unpacked, and then returned to make sure everything was OK. Even though the building is dated and not one of the newest resorts in the area, it was very clean and well maintained for the value it was one of the better places that we stayed in. We would recommend this to our friends or anyone visiting the area and will be looking to staying there again on future visits.

Room Tip: Room 611 was a very quiet end unit and had a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been staying at Carolina Winds since 1986. Have always been satisfied, and if we weren't satisfied with our accomodations, we were given a different unit. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Right on the beach. Pool and area very nice. Lazy River available. Close to the restaurants and shopping facilities. I have been recommending Carolina Winds to friends and families ever since I first stayed there. Love it.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed in the 3 bedroom units, But the 2 bedroom and executive suites are very well main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carolina Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Winds

Address: Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#53 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Winds is a Myrtle Beach resort that is located on the north end of town, at 76th Avenue North and Ocean Boulevard. This oceanfront resort is a fabulous destination for a beach vacation. All of the vacation rentals at Carolina Winds have ocean views from their private balconies. So bring the family to this retreat and bask in all that the Atlantic Ocean and white sandy beaches have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Carolina Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Winds Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.