We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time & Will Keep Going Back !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Winds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Winds
Save Saved
You added Carolina Winds to your Saves list
Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Third Time & Will Keep Going Back !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This October we stayed in 1008. Kitchen could have used a lil updating. But other than that it was a great stay. Missed out on the outdoor pool this time cause it was a bit chilly 3 out of the 4 days we were there. Did enjoy both hot tubs & indoor pool. Will be back again next October !

Room Tip: Higher the Better for Ocean Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    133
    51
    25
    27
See reviews for
293
97
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

we enjoyed our stay at Carolina Winds. it is centrally located to everything you can with for yet it is on the outskirts of the town centre which makes it a quiet relaxing place to stay. we will definately be back to the Carolina Winds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I went to Myrtle Beach for our four year anniversary. I used to go to Myrtle Beach every year as a kid and teenager with my family, but the last time was nearly 18 years ago. We always stayed at the Carolina Winds, and I figured I would give it a try as the price was right for the time of year we were going.

We got to the hotel earlier than expected. We figured our room wouldn't be ready yet, but we were pleasantly surprised that we were able to get into our room a full three hours before check in time. The gentleman working the front desk was friendly and helpful. He got us all set for our room, showed us how to use the discount card that comes with the reservation, told us where to park, and directed us to the elevators.

When we got to the room, the hotel was just as I remembered. Our room could probably have used a fresh coat of paint, but there was nothing broken or dirty at all about it. It just looked like it had been a few years since the paint had been updated. The bedroom was nice, with a brand new flat screen TV mounted to the wall, and the living area was even better. The couch and chair were nice, the table was nice, and the TV stand and TV were old, but worked. There were nice decorations in the room, and the kitchen area had all brand new appliances. The only thing bad I have to say about the room is that the bathroom seemed a bit small, but it was usable. Overall, the room was pleasing.

The rest of the hotel was even better. The indoor pool and hot tubs were clean and well maintained. The game room was just as I remembered it. The outdoor pool and hot tub are some of the best, and biggest, I've ever seen at a hotel that wasn't in a tropical location such as Hawai'i, Costa Rica, or Grand Cayman. The outdoor pool is heated, so even in the evenings with the temperatures down in the 60s, it was very pleasant to be in the pool. The lazy river and hot tub at the other building were also both well maintained and nice. I would say the majority of the time that I could, I was spending it in the pool.

The beach access is close and easy, and the beach in front of the property is great. The location of the hotel is also very nice. It's easy to find and right in the middle of the main attractions, which means that 10 minutes in either direction will get you to just about anything you could be looking for.

The restaurant was closed for the season during our visit, so I can't comment on that.

The staff, in it's entirety, was great. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and just plain nice. A really good group of people they've got working there.

I think the best thing I can say about the hotel is that it brought back great memories of growing up, and I will definitely be going back in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views, but if you are traveling with a group go for one of the three bedroom su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at unit 103. Sept 30th to Oct 10th. Great holiday again, but some little things starting to show time for an update. The wallpaper in the bathroom is peeling, screen door at master bedroom broken, asked to get fixed, never did. Screen door handle broken since last year out to patio. Dryer still extremely loud need of replacing, didn't break down this year. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend. Staff was courteous, friendly, knowledgeable. Our room was a little dated but spacious and very clean. Perfect view with large balcony to enjoy it. Very large pool with plenty of chairs. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've been coming to Myrtle Beach for over 20 years and stayed at different resorts in this vicinity. This is our first year at Carolina Winds and we had the most exceptional vacation since we've been visiting Myrtle Beach. Our room (#611) was cozy, clean and well decorated. Carolina Winds was in our favorite area, within walking distance to many of our favorite restaurants and the Lion King grocery store. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful, and the one time we needed maintenance for a light bulb, they responded before we were even unpacked, and then returned to make sure everything was OK. Even though the building is dated and not one of the newest resorts in the area, it was very clean and well maintained for the value it was one of the better places that we stayed in. We would recommend this to our friends or anyone visiting the area and will be looking to staying there again on future visits.

Room Tip: Room 611 was a very quiet end unit and had a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been staying at Carolina Winds since 1986. Have always been satisfied, and if we weren't satisfied with our accomodations, we were given a different unit. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Right on the beach. Pool and area very nice. Lazy River available. Close to the restaurants and shopping facilities. I have been recommending Carolina Winds to friends and families ever since I first stayed there. Love it.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed in the 3 bedroom units, But the 2 bedroom and executive suites are very well main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carolina Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Winds

Address: Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Winds is a Myrtle Beach resort that is located on the north end of town, at 76th Avenue North and Ocean Boulevard. This oceanfront resort is a fabulous destination for a beach vacation. All of the vacation rentals at Carolina Winds have ocean views from their private balconies. So bring the family to this retreat and bask in all that the Atlantic Ocean and white sandy beaches have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carolina Winds Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.